When I feel heavy metal!

That is one B-I-G WOOHOO!!! I’ve still got some edits to make on a poetry review for my independent study, but that will most likely continue into the summer, so… I can pretty much say I AM DONE with the academic part of my senior year!  Honestly, I didn’t think I’d make it.  I thought of transferring so many times, even of dropping out, but… I made it.  Whew! Anyway, I have a lot of pictures to share since yesterday (and a weird problem with WordPress, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to upload all of them), so here we go:

Last night I went out to dinner with my friends Megan and Max.

IMG_6876

We went to a Vietnamese place called Mai Village. There is a lot of inexpensive Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Thai in the Twin Cities, which I definitely didn’t take advantage of!

IMG_6875

I ordered a noodle salad with grilled shrimp.  Underneath the massive tangle of noodles was a lot of lettuce; the top was garnished with carrots, mint, and peanuts. It was so good, and even though it was an enormous portion, I ate almost all of it!

IMG_6879

After dinner, Megan and I went to Izzy’s for one last (well… probably not the “last,” let’s be honest) hurrah. I got the Dizzy Izzy in a Cup: 5 mini scoops of ice cream (Oreo, salted caramel, strawberry cheesecake, chocolate, and chai) with hot fudge. Mm-mm GOOD!

IMG_6890

Well, I didn’t end up staying up all night to write my paper yesterday… I went to bed at 10! At least I can say that I haven’t pulled an “all-nighter” (to do work, in any case) since sophmore year.

This morning I popped right up at 6 and decided to go on a run.  I had half of a brownie Z bar before I left:

IMG_6892

My heart rate monitor was being all kinds of crazy, so other than the time I don’t have accurate stats.

Total time: 30:31 minutes

Distance: 2.82 miles

Calories burned: 250-300?

Hopefully this problem will resolve itself soon…

IMG_6894

Eggwhites with ketchup and Tobasco:

IMG_6895

Honey Wheat English muffin, 3/4 with vegan marjarine, 1/4 with sunflower butter and 1/4 with cinnamon and sugar for old times (I used to eat this EVERY day).

IMG_6896

With coffee and the paper.  It’ll be so nice to have time to enjoy a luxurious breakfast again!

IMG_6898

Around 10 I snacked on an I-can’t-believe-I’m-the-only-one-in-the-library pear.

IMG_6899

I broke for lunch around 12:30 to eat in the cafeteria with some friends.  I got stewed tempeh and chickpeas (to which I added raisins and coconut):

IMG_6901

I also had a salad with spinach, peppers, carrots, peas, and lemon juice

IMG_6902

Ants on a fiery log:

IMG_6903

And my last (I hope) magic bar. 

IMG_6904

At 1:30, there was a special Champagne Toast and Sendoff Lecture for the seniors.  A glass of champagne was enjoyed, briefly… then back to the library it was! 

IMG_6905

I shared an orange with my friends Luke and Megan in the library… we probably made up 50% of the library’s business. 

IMG_6906

I celebrated finishing school with a trip to Whole Foods for fruit, yogurt, and apples.  I still had some Oikos coupons, so I only ended up spending $5! That has to be some kind of Whole Foods record. 

There were lots of delicious samples.  I had my first Dr. Kracker today! This was the sunflower cheddar flavor… it was really good.  It’s a hearty cracker, sort of like a Wasa or Ryvita. 

IMG_6907

A sample of Food Should Taste Good (more like a tortilla chip): 

IMG_6908

Cod filet: 

IMG_6909

“Robust” gouda:

IMG_6912

 

There’s a senior event at Stella’s Fish Café tonight.  There will be “light appetizers” and a cash bar, which could mean anything, so I just wanted a light snack. 

I steamed up some rebel carrots:

IMG_6913

I did something blasphemous: I didn’t drink the carrot water (or the Kool-Aid 😉 )! I figure I’m going to be consuming a fair amount of liquid tonight, and I don’t want to be bloated before I even get there! Lilveggiepatch will be back to her old self soon, I promise.

 

Have a lovely night!

8 responses to “When I feel heavy metal!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! You deserve to let loose – enjoy being done 🙂

  2. Way to go!
    And your whole foods has WAY better samples than mine!

  3. YAYYYYYY congrats on being done!

    I wish you could have been at the concert with me tonight—i have no voice left but it was totally worth it. I gave Ari a hug for you : )

  4. Wait wait wait wait…have I been living under a rock? You’re in the Twin Cities?!?! I can’t believe I did not know this! I am originally from Eden Prairie 🙂 I went to high school in St. Louis Park. We need to discuss this!

    I heard of Izzy’s, but I think they showed up after my parents had moved to Arizona, so I’ve never been! It looks so amazing.

    Congrats on being done!! Even though there were a few bumps, I bet it feels good to say you “made it” 🙂

  5. homegirlcaneat

    CONGRATS on finishing!! woopwoop!

    The noodle dish looks to die for! I am now craving chinese/asian FO REAL!

    AND THE ICE CREAM!! AHHHH the epitome of a good time in my stomach. HEYHEYHEY!

  6. chai ice cream?! whoa girl, I don’t think I have ever been lucky enough to see or taste such a thing….so i’m quite envious right now!

    i’m glad that you’re enjoying your last few days and hittin’ up all the classic places-including your cafeteria….still can’t get over all the tempeh it has! SO jeal.

    and i’m ALMOST mad that you didn’t drink the carrot water….should have sent it over to me to try….c’mon now katie! 🙂

  7. break out the champagne 🙂

  8. congrats on being done!!

Leave a Reply

