College Eating, Part 1

Hey there! I just had to look at my phone to see what day it was (they’re beginning to blend a bit), so… Happy Tuesday night! I hope your week is going splendidly so far.

I didn’t end up going to the picnic/bonfire; it started storming… and I was also really tired.  There are still more Senior Week events, and a lot of my friends didn’t even end up going to this one, so I don’t think I’ll kick myself for not going.

I snacked on a Lemon Bar Larabar around 5.  It’s too bad I didn’t think I liked Larabars when the company sent me a big box of them… They’re the most expensive bar I buy (except Hot ‘n Healthy, which I only get in New York) and I wish I hadn’t given them all away! Oh well.

IMG_6931

Dinner was lovely.  Sorry to repeat this meal all the time, but it’s my favorite!  I made some Gliding Calm tofu:

IMG_6932

Steamed broccoli and Kashi pilaf:

IMG_6936

Sweet potato with whipped butter, cinnamon and brown sugar:

IMG_6938

And broccoli water.

IMG_6939

This meal is like sushi for me: I think I could eat it every night for a week and not get sick of it.

IMG_6940

For dessert,  I had chocolate Gelati-da with warmed frozen berries, dark chocolate sauce, and two pecans.

IMG_6941

(There was also some dark chocolate bar nibbling, but it escaped the camera so I guess it didn’t happen!)

Eating healthfully in college is definitely a challenge, but it can be done and it doesn’t have to break the bank! In honor of my upcoming graduation, I’m going to do my best to share, over the next few days, what I’ve learned from the experience of being a foodie on campus.

Perfect Microwaved Sweet Potatoes

Thoroughly wash your sweet potato.  Stab it all over with a fork (the more holes the merrier! There’s almost no bigger bummer than wasting time cleaning orange mush from the microwave).  Put the potato on a microwave- safe plate and cover with a wet paper towel.  Microwave for four minutes on high; the potato should feel soft all over and have no hard parts.  If it’s not done, continue microwaving one minute at a time. Slice sweet potato horizontally; the flesh should be uniformly orange.  If there are any lighter areas, plop back into the microwave.

Favorite toppings: whipped butter/ Brummel & Brown with brown sugar, cottage cheese and black beans, cinnamon and honey

Have a great night! Bonne nuit 🙂

4 responses to “College Eating, Part 1

  1. Thanks for the sp tips. I am VERY impatient 😉

  2. what a great microwave sweet potato recipe 🙂

  3. I love microwaving sweet potatoes when I’m at school… I get weird looks, but whatev.

  4. I would have skipped out if there was rain too!! That dinner sounds fantastic! Thanks for the microwave tips 🙂

Leave a Reply

