Hell On Wheels

Good evening, morning, whatever it is… it’s been a long day. I didn’t get to bed until after 2 and I had to get up at 7 to get my booty on the road! I loaded up the car, gave Betty Ford a farewell snuggle, and hit the road.

IMG_7094

Since reading Jane and Michael Stern’s review of Hell’s Kitchen in Gourmet last year, I’ve been dying to go.  There just wasn’t a way to justify leaving Minnesota without paying the restaurant a visit, so I met my dad and grandparents there bright and early this morning for one last hoorah. Now, I’m going to warn you, I’ll be committing food blog blashpemy by using two words that are pretty much forbidden in our little community.

IMG_7096

After much debate, I ordered a cup of Mohnomin pooridge (and here’s where the forbidden words come in): Served warm with roasted hazelnuts, dried blueberries, sweetened cranberries, heavy cream and pure maple syrup

IMG_7097

I asked the server if I could have it with skim milk instead of the heavy cream (I feel like I should be whispering that); she said it was possible but “the chef couldn’t guarantee the taste.” So I decided to go balls to the wall and live it up.  I’ve been looking forward to eating here for so long, I might as well enjoy the complete experience.

I also ordered a side of toasted baguette, which comes with their homemade ginger-berry preserves, orange marmelade, and…

IMG_7103

… their famous peanut butter!

IMG_7105

Here’s what the Sterns say about it: “[the chef]Omer starts by roasting his own unskinned Spanish peanuts. They are rugged-ground and then infused with clarified butter, salt, and touches of honey and brown sugar. The result is like no other peanut butter…”

IMG_7108

Like a good little food blogger, I also mixed it into my pooridge.

IMG_7109

I bought some of the peanut butter for home, and some of their Hot Damn Cocoa Mix… my dad had some with breakfast and it was delicious.  So, yes, I probably ate my daily caloric intake in one meal early in the day, but it was worth it and I really didn’t think twice.

IMG_7111

My grandparents said they’ll be returning soon to hear the live gospel music that’s performed at “the Kitchen.”

IMG_7100

My dad and I were finally ready to hit the road…

IMG_7113

Unfortunately, we hit it a little too hard and got caught in a speed trap.  Poor daddy.

IMG_7116

I ate about five pounds of grapes throughout the day:

IMG_7117

We ate fresh for lunch: 6-inch veggie sub with all the fixings, pepperjack cheese, and fat free honey mustard on honey wheat bread. I also got a diet coke (I know, I know) to keep me awake (it didn’t work) and a strawberry yogurt.

IMG_7118

I nibbled on some homemade trail mix in the car:

IMG_7119

We stopped at Mickey D’s for some vanilla soft-serve.  I swear we’re really driving and not just touring the fast-food chains…

IMG_7120

I wasn’t sure if I was hungry for dinner (since I pretty much ate my way across three state lines), but we stopped for dinner at Applebee’s around 9:30.  It’s one of the only chain restaurants where I can order something that’s remotely healthy; they’re pretty accommodating about substitutions.

My dad and I split two things: Spinach salad with grilled shrimp, no bacon, cherry tomatoes, avocado, hard-boiled eggs and olives on bibb lettuce with the dressing on the side (I ate it dry, it was really thick and creamy):

IMG_7121

And from the Weight Watchers menu, the Chili lime tilapia with black bean salsa, rice pilaf and broccoli.

IMG_7122

I all but licked my plate clean.  I guess I was hungry after all!

IMG_7123

We made it to Fort Wayne at 11:45; I’m going to get up early to see my cousins before they go to school but we have less of a drive tomorrow so I’ll probably go back to sleep.

Hope you’ve had a lovely day and your week is off to a great start. Bonne nuit 🙂

7 responses to “Hell On Wheels

  1. That Hell’s Kitchen place looks really cool.

    Your poor daddy getting a ticket. I know how that feels, and its not a good thing.

    Hope your drive wasn’t too bad and that you are having fun back at home!

  2. breadandwithit

    Get me a round trip ticket to Hell(‘s Kitchen).

  3. Hell’s Kitchen looks amazing! Eh…nothing wrong with a bit of heavy cream now and again 😀 (it’s common in Scotland to put salt or cream in orridge…not to mention, whisky!) Glad you made it home safe!

  4. dude, i applaud you for just going for it and enjoying every bit of the meal you were so looking forward to — thats awesome! it all looked fantastic.

    oh and to answer your question, i don’t know what’s next! i’m going back home to do a full-on job search…if anything ever opens up! what about you? also, are you talking about ft. wayne, NJ?! =)

    thanks for such a sweet comment too! have a great tuesday!

  5. You deserved every bite of that heavy cream, you just graduated after lots of hard work! Now see how long you can apply that excuse to other things… haha.

    That PB looks aMAZING.

    I’m sorry you got pulled over, that really blows.

  6. I wish my road trip back home was as exciting as yours!! You hit up the fro yo, HELL’S KITCHEN, subway, snacked on trail mix, spent time with the pops….so glad you had a nice, belly-pleasin’ day! And glad you didnt’ think twice about the creamilcious meal, it’s a rare occasion, so why not go for it! 🙂

  7. homegirlcaneat

    Hell’s Kitchen seems AMAAAZING! Dude, heavy cream once in awhile (or heck, why not everyday?!) is TOTZ worth it! And the peanut butta sounds soooo good!

    McDonalds ice cream = my life! But I like it on the cone! And I usually ask for a LARGE ice cream cone..cuz I get pissed when they downsize my $1.09 cone.

Leave a Reply

