Over the bridge we go

Hi there! How was your Thursday? Any big plans for Friday?  I had a very nice day today.  My friend Kalle and I had a great time catching up after a couple months, and I even got a little suntan! Hard to beat that, hmm?

As soon as I found a deli, I picked up my summer staple: iced coffee with skim milk and sugar in the raw.

IMG_7195

We went to Cosi to get lunch to go: I got the “duo,” with 1/2 tomato, basil, and mozzarella sandwich on whole grain with light vinaigrette:

IMG_7196

And 1/2 signature salad with light vinaigrette and cheese on the side:

IMG_7197

They forgot to put my baby carrots into the bag. Very sad 😦  It still felt glorious to be out in the sunshine on the grass… I thought it was going to storm today, but then I realized I was looking at St. Paul’s weather! HA.

IMG_7198

We popped into Barnes & Noble a little later and stumbled upon a cooking demonstration.

IMG_7200

This is the first I’ve ever heard of the Food & Finance High School, but I love the idea!  Here’s the mission they give on their website:

“Food and Finance High School offers an academically rigorous career and technical education that focuses on culinary arts and finance related to the industry where students will develop critical thinking skills. The school is designed to serve a diverse population who will meet academic and industry standards. The mission of the school is to enable all of our students to become self-directed life-long learners who use their minds well and are caring, reflective and thoughtful adults. We will use food and finance as the integrating force for teaching and learning for a sustainable future. Students are engaged in interdisciplinary project-based learning, portfolio development, internships and entrepreneurial ventures.”

IMG_7199

They were serving sweet and savory crêpes.  The savory had chicken in them, so I went for the sweet: chocolate and homemade whipped cream.

IMG_7202

Perfect size! It was a little messy, but thankfully I didn’t spill chocolate ooze all over my white shirt.

IMG_7203

I found some raspberries on the street at a really good price, and I still wanted something sweet so I snatched them up.

IMG_7204

I was shamefully creepy today and followed this woman down the street to take her photo.  I couldn’t help it- look at that shirt! I guess I have to go to Palm Beach.

t-shirt

My parents and I had dinner in Brooklyn with some friends who are visiting from Paris.

IMG_7208

We went to the Heights Café; it’s sort of a scene but it was fun and the food was good. I had a glass of Pinot Grigio, which I savored throughout the entire meal.  I’m getting good at this!

IMG_7210

My dad and I, still in “road trip mode,” decided to split two dishes: the Sesame Crusted Salmon and Tuna Salad (seared rare, marinated vegetables, alfalfa sprouts, mesclun greens & wasabi vinaigrette).  This was okay; it needed a little salt.

IMG_7211

And a tricolored linguini with asparagus, oyster mushrooms, and shrimp in a light tomato sauce.  Now you probably know how much I love Annie’s Mac & Cheese, but I haven’t had “real” pasta (read: not from a box) in a while.  This was fabulous: light, flavorful, and I didn’t feel overly full afterwards.

IMG_7212

I waited until I got home to have dessert, which I’ve been looking forward to all day! My dad found these great single-serving cups of Edy’s Slow-Churned ice cream.  They’re great for me, since ice cream (like cereal) is one of those things I always go back for seconds on.

IMG_7213

I turned it into a banana split by adding 1/2 banana, hot fudge, pecans and unsweetened coconut. Mm-mm good.

IMG_7214

Time for bed! I can sleep in a little bit tomorrow since I’m going to save my workout for the afternoon. I was lucky enough to receive a gym membership as a graduation gift, and I’m going to go get all registered tomorrow! This was really great news, since I was worried about not being able to exercise regularly.  I can’t wait to go to some classes!

Sleep well 🙂

15 responses to “Over the bridge we go

  1. homegirlcaneat

    That picture of NYC is beauuuutiful! It makes me want to go visit now! I sometimes just love to get pasta at restaurants because they make it so fancy and delicious. But sometimes overly so with cheese or sauces. But yaaaay for yours being light and fabby!

    I saw those little ice creams at the store! I should seriously invest since my 1/2 cup servings usually are more like 1 1/2 or 2 1/2 🙂

  2. I remember Lenny’s. They never took ATM cards.

  3. I am cracking up that you followed that lady to take a picture of her shirt. I totally would have done the same thing!

  4. congrats on the graduation gift! and i think it’s SO funny how you took a photo of that lady!

  5. That lady’s t-shirt is great! I laughed out loud at the thought of you snapping a random picture of her…hehe. Love the NY pics- makes me homesick!

    And no- you can’t beat real pasta!

  6. I’ve never seen those little ice cream containers. They’re so cute!

    When I want to feel better I compare the weather from where I’m from in Vermont to that in Pittsburgh where I am now. It never fails to cheer me up, and I’m sure comparing NY to Minnesotta is the same deal.

    Have a great weekend!

  7. I remember reading about that school in the NYT- so cool! And I love the shameless stalking of the woman… sometimes ya just gotta do it.

    Have a good Friday!

  8. ohhh that is just awesome about that ladies shirt. Did she notice you trying to snap the picture?! Maybe you could buy online? haha.

    Glad you have a fun day and got some tannin in. Your right, it just can’t be beat. I’m in love with summer.

  9. Veggie Patch Cafe?! This just means you have to travel to FL now! What a small world!

    Mmmm crepes! That place sounds really cool! Have fun at the gym 🙂

  10. I can’t come to the meet-up lunch today :(:(:( I’m sad! I couldn’t find a ride to the train station, and I’m back in Fairfield right now!

  11. My, but you’ve been busy!! 😉

    Those raspberries are beautiful… I’ve always wondered why those street vendors sell pineapples. It isn’t like most people walk around with knives in their pockets to cut / core fruit!

    ❤ ❤

  12. i luuuurve cosi bread, that honey wheaty flavor is mmm mmm mmmm tasty.

    haha, way to be a creeper and take a pic of the shirt. its too perfect! id totally do the same 🙂

  13. HAHA I loveee that you creeped up behind the lady w/ the veggie patch shirt!

    Your banana split looks sooooo good, you make eating desserts in a healthy way look so easy! 🙂

  14. a beuatiful article

  15. I love Lenny’s! Their #11 (Vegetarian Delight–non-vegan because of the honey mustard) is TO DIE! 😀

Leave a Reply

