Afternoon Delight

Today was a treat in every sense of the word.  Just… perfect.  There’s only one thing that could have made it better, and it will be delivered tomorrow (so to speak)… more on that later.

I woke up before my alarm and had a hot bowl of oatmeal.  The apartment was pretty humid, but I haven’t gone grocery shopping yet so I had to make do.  It was pretty delicious, so I’m not complaining!

IMG_7215

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 small apple
  • 2 dried apricots
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar
  • 1 T chunky peanut butter

IMG_7216

Then I went back to sleep for a few hours.  Guess it’s time to get that coffee maker working!

I met some very special ladies for lunch at Caravan of Dreams, on the Lower East Side.  Melissa, Ashley, Megan, Gina, Gena, Brooke, Megan and I had a lovely afternoon.  We were also joined by Megan and Gina’s pilots, who seem to enjoy their fair share of vegan cuisine as well! (Nicole, you were missed!)

IMG_7220

I ordered the Miso Deluxe ( organic chickpea miso soup served with mixed vegetables, wakame, grilled tofu, scallions, red peppers and celery. Served with sprouted-grain toast.)

IMG_7218

It was very good; a lot sweeter than the miso soups I’ve had before and didn’t taste like it was loaded with two days’ worth of sodium.  I’ll definitely be going back in the near future; I would have been happy with any item on the menu.

Since my lunch was light and I was right near the gym, I didn’t need to wait before working out.  I did 20 minutes on the stairs, 25 minutes on the bike, abs and a few arm machines.

Total time: 1 hour 11 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 174 (87%)

Average heart rate: 132 (66%)

Calories burned: 489

I didn’t have any problems with my heart rate monitor today, thankfully.  For those of you who asked, I use the Polar Running HRM.

After my [sweaty] workout, I snacked on the Banana Bread Larabar that Erica sent me.

IMG_7222

On the way uptown, I got hit with a big wave of fatigue and had to sit in the park and stare into space for awhile.  I think I’ve mentioned my low energy problems before; I started taking iron supplements a few months ago and with a semi-regular sleep schedule, healthy diet and regular exercise, it’s gotten a lot better.  However, since I packed my vitamins up with the rest of my house when I left school, I went about a week without taking them.  I’m hoping that’s what caused the problem, and not something else.

I chugged an iced coffee with skim milk and sugar to give me a jump:

IMG_7223

Treat #2 was dinner out with my mom! I’ve been so spoiled lately and have eaten at a restaurant for pretty much every meal since last Thursday.  (I’ll cook soon, I promise.) We went to Citrus Bar & Grill, which is the sister restaurant of my beloved Josie’s.

IMG_7224

We let loose and ordered Mojitos! I usually stick to wine or vodka sodas if I order anything alcoholic, but we were celebrating Friday.

IMG_7226

I ordered the Citrus Chopped Salad (romaine, sweet potatoes, pumpkin seeds, chayote, avocado, jicama, manchego cheese & sherry-hibiscus vinaigrette on the side):

IMG_7227

They also had a special gazpacho, which screamed “summer!” to me.  It was garnished with an avocado corn salsa.

IMG_7228

As if the day wasn’t already fabulous, I came home to find a wonderful package from Anna on my doorstep.

IMG_7229

Anna was a total sweetheart and baked me up some “Big Gigantoid Crunchy Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Cookies” from Vegan With a Vengeance as a graduation gift.  She customized them and added chocolate and peanut butter chips making them, quite easily, the sexiest cookie on earth.  Thank you, Anna!!! I’m glad you’re giving your fabulous new kitchen a workout 🙂

IMG_7231

I had one… and then one more.  I might even throw caution to the wind and have another because I’m feeling sassy.  They were perfectly soft and chewy, and somehow the chocolate chips still tasted melty!  These may not last long enough for Ari to try, although he’s the only person I know who enjoys chocolate + peanut butter as much as I do.  He’s coming home tomorrow, and I’ll spare you the mushy gushing, but it’s been over two months sinc I’ve seen him and I’m very excited.

Well, ladies and gents, I’ve got the apartment to myself tonight so I’m going to sleep on a KING-sized bed, stay up until the wee hours of the morning and fall asleep watching TCM. This girl really knows how to party! It’s the first night I’ve had totally to myself, and will probably be the last for awhile.

Finally, Zesty is giving away a blog makeover!  Very exciting… LVP could use a little touching up.

Hope you’re enjoying your Friday 🙂

13 responses to “Afternoon Delight

  1. oh yay, im so jealous of your day! So fun! AND HOORAY FOR ARI COMING HOME, I’m happy and excited for you!

  2. I wish I could have made it, but I had to work in NJ. Hopefully at some point this summer we can meet up!

  3. Oh I’m so happy you and your love are about to be reunited. I can see you smiling from here!

  4. have a great time with ari!

  5. Looks like a pretty sweeet Friday! Hope the rest of your weekend goes just as well

  6. AWESOME day. The meet-up looks like so much fun! And I’m glad you enjoyed the cookies, they are my absolute favorite recipe.

    That low-energy issue sounds like it really sucks… I hope it’s just the vitamins like you said.

  7. Sounds like a great day! Enjoy your time with Ari!

    I’ve never been to Citrus, but kept meaning to go to Josie’s…next time I am in the city!

    Do you take B vitamins? My energy levels have improved since I started taking them along with my iron supplements.

  8. What a fun day!! I’m jealous of the blogger meet up!

    Us and our iron woes! I have to take them too but I’ve been a little lax and unfortunately I can tell 😦 Those cookies look awesome!

    Oh and mojito?! NIIIIIICE! That gets the big thumbs up!

  9. I am so bummed that I couldn’t get a ride to the station!!!! Boooo! It looks like a really fun meetup and I hope there is another one soon!

  10. Katie, don’t apologize for eating all these gourmet meals out at restaurants, I’m just super jealous that you’ve been eating so many new & different things this week! You and your mom are adorable, I LOVE mint mojitos….hellllooo swim-up bar in cancun last summer! 🙂

    And yay for reuniting with Ari tomorrow, have fun!

  11. Pingback: No sleep til… « Lilveggiepatch

  12. Pingback: Whaddya think, you’re on vacation or something? « Lilveggiepatch

  13. Pingback: Prep Kitchen « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

