No sleep til…

Good evening! I hope you’re all enjoying your weekends.  Mine has been really nice so far! Unfortunately I’m having an iPhoto problem on Ari’s laptop, so I’ll only be able to blog my meals through lunch.  The problem will be fixed tomorrow when I go home to pick up my laptop… I’m sure you’ll be able to live without knowing what I ate for dinner 🙂

Last night I stayed up late (for me) and had a bowl of Puffins, 1/2 banana and skim.

IMG_7233

I also had one of Anna‘s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies… at that point I’d lost count on the number of cookies I ate throughout the night!

IMG_7234

For some reason, even though I went to bed close to 2, I woke up at 4 AM and didn’t go back to sleep. At all. As of now I haven’t even napped, and I have no idea how I’m still going strong! I finally got out of bed at 5:30 and had an apple and some Earl Gray tea.

IMG_7236

A couple hours later I had breakfast.  I spotted fresh apricots at the grocery store yesterday and snapped a couple up.  Apricots are the spring version of clementines for me… I can literally eat a dozen at a time.

IMG_7237

I diced two up and served them on top of two Kashi waffles with cinnamon and Fage 0%.  One of the apricots was riper than the other, so I microwaved the harder one for about 30 seconds.  This softened it up, and made a nice little syrup.  Can you tell which is which? (The waffle on the left has the nuked apricots.)

IMG_7238

I had another cup of tea and heated up a little maple syrup to dip my waffles into.

IMG_7240

By 9:30, since I’d been up for so long, I was getting pretty hungry.  I grabbed a banana to hold me over while I worked the soup kitchen.

IMG_7241

When I got home, I snacked on some fresh chickpea hummus from Hummus Place that my mom and I picked up yesterday.

IMG_7242

I ate a big scoop with some whole wheat pita (also from Hummus Place) and the cilantro hot sauce that came with it.  Delicious! Can’t wait to make a crack wrap out of this stuff.

IMG_7244

After unpacking a little, I ate a salad I picked up from the grocery store yesterday: romaine, soba noodles, tofu, carrots, onions, green beans, and tomatoes with a spicy mint pesto dressing.  This dressing was great! I didn’t use it all up, so it’ll be a nice treat for later (maybe on said crack wrap?).

IMG_7245

Anyway, Ari and I just got back from dinner (which will be posted yesterday).  We’re having a very nice time watching King of the Hill doing mature things.  He also hasn’t been sleeping much recently… he just got back from a 6 week tour! Just last night my friend Jenny saw him in Colombus.

4154_561629458120_21906253_34374792_2825160_n

My fatigue is starting to catch up with me so I’m going to sign off before my sentences get even more incoherent than usual.  But so I’m not totally lame, check out Gliding Calm‘s blog! She’s giving away one of Mara‘s funky charms.

See you tomorrow! Night 🙂

13 responses to “No sleep til…

  1. Not sleeping sucks donkeyballs. There’s no other way to put it.

    That hummus looks insanely good. And brillz with the apricot on the waffles.

  2. Oh no! I’m sorry about your insomnia. I’M RIGHT THERE WITH YOU Ugh!
    I hope you sleep in on Sunday 🙂

  3. The apricots on the waffles are genius and looks very yummy!

    I bet you are soo glad that Ari is back from that tour. 6 months is such a long time!

    Hope your weekend went well dear

  4. Those cookies at SO freakin’ addicting, I don’t blame ya! I made some for my parent’s Memorial Day party tonight and I keep catching my Dad with his hand in the container…

    Sorry about the insommnia, that really blows. Maybe it’s something to do with re-settling at home? The school-to-home and home-to-school transition ALWAYS throws me off.

  5. I thought that was a chocolate ball in the middle of the apricot – hah!

    You, Erin, and I need to make the insomniacs club! Between the three of us I’ll bet we got the normal amount of sleep one person gets!

  6. apricots on waffles. BRILLIANT. love it. need it. haha what a great combo!

    ALSO love that hummus/pita action, it looks unreal! yum yum.

    ick sorry about the sleeping issues, that will randomly happen to me for a week straight and then i eventually get back on track, hope that happens to you too! have a great sunday!

  7. Another insomniac here…driving me crazy at the moment!

    Microwaving apricots sounds great- I never find them soft enough 9and never have the patience to let them ripen! Lol)

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  8. SO glad that ari is back with you!

  9. I don’t think I’ve ever had apricots in non-dried form!! Something I need to try for sure.

    ENjoy the beuatiful day!

  10. I hateee sleepless nights! I’m so sorry you woke up so early and just had to lay there…..at least it seems like your day is going well and you haven’t been too tired or anything!

    That hummus looks AMAZINGGG…i’m making a crack wrap (modified) for lunch too! 🙂

  11. i think theres an insomnia spell going around the blog community!

    HUMMUS PLACE!!! sawwweeeeeeet!

  12. I can’t say I relate with the sleepless nights…I feel like I can’t get enough sleep lately! My hubbie sometimes has a hard time sleeping and it helps him to listen to this speaker we downloaded on itunes about calming down and falling asleep. Kind of dorky but whatever works!

  13. Pingback: Pita Crack « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

