A fair in the street and a fight in the sky

star-trek

Good evening! I hope everyone enjoyed their day off to the fullest.  I don’t have a full-time job (yet, cross your fingers!) but this was my first Monday back home, which is certainly something to celebrate.

I started the “morning” (read: noon) with a bowl of oatmeal:

IMG_7267

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar
  • 1 T Hell’s Kitchen peanut butter

(Ari had his own, man-sized bowl.  Sadly, he has not been convinced that oatmeal is best when at least 4 toppings are added.)

We met up with Ilana, Ari’s sister.  She pointed us in the direction of a street fair that was very close to our house.  Street fairs are ubiquitous in New York when the weather is warm and the sky is clear.  And with street fairs come street fair food; Ilana and I made a bee-line for the grilled corn-on-the-cob.

IMG_7271

We got ours with lime juice, salt, and spices.  The corn was pretty hot (in all senses of the word).

corn

I hadn’t had lunch and the salad place I wanted to go to was closed for Memorial Day.  Somehow, I found myself over at a crêpe stand, and in honor of the many 2 AM trips I made to the one crêperie that was opened in Paris near the Centre Pompidou, I ordered one with cheese, mushroom and spinach.

IMG_7288

Talk about a crack wrap: this bad boy had a HANDFUL of cheese (which had already been plopped onto the griddle before I could protest).  So bad, but so good. (My tummy was a little angry with me for a few hours afterwards.)

It was really hot out, so we decided to cool off at the movies.  We wanted to see Star Trek; we had a couple hours to kill so we sat outside at a shady table and had drinks.

I had an unsweetened iced tea… I recently re-discovered it as something I never knew I liked!

IMG_7289

The movie was great. I hadn’t seen too many of the old episodes, but the story was really fun and I was excited to see Sylar.

I snacked on a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar before the movie started:

IMG_7290

After the movie, we did a major grocery shop (there are four people living in the house) which should provide enough meals for a little while.

We did, however, have one last dinner out.  I know.

We went to Linn; I had one glass of cold sake.

IMG_7291

I ordered a small salad with mixed greens, dried fruit, nuts, and tuna sashimi.

IMG_7293

I also got a California roll.

IMG_7294

I came home and had an apple while I made breakfast for tomorrow… it’s going to be a pretty early morning so I figured I’d save some time.

IMG_7296

This weekend was extravagant, to say the least.  On our walk home, we decided that we’re going to eat in from now on, unless we’re meeting someone else for dinner or it’s a special occasion.  We’re going to cook, economize, and be smart about money.  This weekend was exceptional; it was both of our first weekends back after a long time away, and it’s always nice to have a treat. But we’ll find ways to make eating at home fun; I love to cook and try out new recipes.  When I was at school, I almost always had all three meals at home and cooked every night.  Totally doable.  It’s hard in New York, as Brooke pointed out, but it’s doable.

Anyway, time to watch a little telly and get to bed.  Have a great night!

10 responses to “A fair in the street and a fight in the sky

  1. Ahh I loveee corn on the cob! And your yellow dress is so cute.
    I’m glad you’ve been enjoying all the new meals out, but I’m also excited to see some new creations and recipes cooked up in the kitch….meaning I can also re-create them since i’m home now too! yayy 🙂

  2. Mmmmm, the corn on the cob has got me droooling.

  3. Girl, you livin’ the life. I know what you mean about wanting to get back to home-cooked meals, though.

    I love the corn picture! So cute.

  4. What a fun day!! 🙂 I love the pictures, they’re all so cute! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  5. I always prefer cooking at home to eating out! Glad you had a fun weekend.

  6. Love NY street fairs and their corn on the cob…the crepe looks/sounds divine! Have you ever been to the French crepe restaurant on (I think) 53rd between 6th and 7th? ( that may be the wrong address- it’s somewhere between Columbus Circle and 50th St!)

    I love eating out but always end up missing home cooked meals…

  7. Yum! I don’t know what I want more – that crepe or the corn! Both sound incredibly awesome!!

    I’ve got my fingers, toes, arms, legs, everything crossed for a job for you 🙂 Good luck!!

  8. Oh by the way, your comment about the Mojo – I DIED! Hahaha!!

  9. CORN! SUSHI! love it all — i’m so jealous of all your fun NYC finds! i cant wait to live there again myself some day (hopefully sooner rather than later!)

    i feel ya on eating out versus cooking in — i’m sure youll come up with manyyy equally delicious things! =)

  10. what a fun weekend! i agree, its hard to balance wanting to go out and enjoy all the many amazing restaurants in nyc, with cooking for yourself and saving $$…a never ending struggle. but now that its summer time, im all about it! i can stay indoors and cook for myself all winter, for now helllloooo sunshine!

Leave a Reply

