Off the wagon

Good afternoon and happy Tuesday! If I hadn’t had an early interview, I wouldn’t have even know what day it was.  Oh, summer.

I started the day off with a breakfast cookie:

IMG_7297

This one was made with:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1-1/2 tsp peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp skim milk

I also grabbed a small handful of trail mix on the way out the door:

IMG_7298

Luckily, I arrived at the interview early so I had some time to get a large iced coffee with skim milk and sugar.  Boy did I need this!

IMG_7299

My interviewer had a big bag of dark chocolate peanut M&Ms… I declined the first two times she offered, but finally gave in.  FYI, they melt in your mouth and your hands.

Ari was already in Brooklyn, so he picked me up and we somehow found ourselves at Bonita. Yep, off the wagon we fell… but it was a pretty sweet ride.

IMG00016

I ordered what I always do: fish tacos.  They’re absolutely perfect… even Bon Appétit thinks so! The fish, although fried, is light, flaky, and very tender.  With a little squirt of lime and some salsa verde, I could easily eat this every night.

IMG00017

Lunch wiped me out so I caught up on my Zs with a monster nap.  Three hours later, we ran some errands and I snacked on an orange.

IMG_7301

We made up for our lunch out by having a really simple dinner in.  Crack, meet the gourmet mushroom medley.

IMG_7304

Our grocery store doesn’t carry Flatouts, so I just picked up some low-carb multi-grain tortillas.  They’re soft, so I’m happy.  I grilled up a delicious combo with Sabra, munster cheese and mushrooms.

IMG_7305

I also had a small salad with romaine, steamed carrots and steamed broccoli, with a mustard/balsamic/sesame oil dressing.

IMG_7306

And, of course, carrot/broc water… it’s been a while!

IMG_7307

For dessert, I had a caramel Skinny Dipper… this was the perfect amount and only has 80 calories.  Pretty sweet, hmm?

IMG_7308

We’re having a Heroes marathon now and then it’s off to bed.  Hope your day was lovely.  See you tomorrow! And check out Hangry’s Element Bars giveaway before you nod off, too. Night 🙂

10 responses to “Off the wagon

  1. A crack wrap with mushrooms sounds SOOO good!! I tried a modified crack wrap a few days ago and it just wasn’t as good, but I have a feeling the mushrooms would be a perfect addition!

    And i’m glad you and Ari lasted half a day w/o eating out! hahaha..you two are just enjoying yourself and trying new foods! It’s all good! 😉

  2. homegirlcaneat

    Fish tacos are looking bombtastic! Tacos AND fish are just so fabular!

    I really need to make a breakfast cookie. It would be the right thang to do.

    Hope your interview turns out great my friend!

  3. Hey, time is all relative. 😉

    Hope your interview went well!!

    ❤ ❤

  4. i gotta try dem skinny dippers! fish tacos sound so good too! you got all the summer foods going on!!! minus the breakfast cold smoothie……..but the iced coff makes up for that!! i guess you didn’t grill…..but crack wrap is just GOOD. okay so maybe just a couple things were summer-y. crap. i need to wake up before i type these comments.

  5. As one who is addicted to the shrooms – that wrap looks incredible. Hope your interview went swimmingly 😀

  6. mushrooms take everything to a whole new level! have you tried the Damascus bakery roll-ups? They are the best wraps I have had and similar stats/shape to flat-outs (Food Emporium and Fairway sell them)

    How did the interview go?..

  7. Well, if you’re going to fall off the wagon you might as well do it well, and it certainly looks like you did!

    I love the idea of mushrooms in that wrap. I love ’em.

    Hope the interview went well!

  8. Finally someone else who shares my love of the fungus among us! I put shrooms in everything I can, including my wraps. You are also the only other person I’ve noticed that used Munster cheese, which I use to make a perfect sandwich of Ezekial bread lightly toasted, hummus, the cheese, shrooms and spinach.

    Deliciousness…long live the mushroom.

  9. yoyoyooooo. is that a trail mix from gary nulls whole foods? not sure if you are a UWS shopper, but that store is my mecca. especially the bin section. A-DORE it!

  10. Pingback: C’est la Vie « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

