Breakfast boredom

Morning! Sorry for bailing last night… I didn’t even get home that late, but all I wanted to do was sleep.  I’m going to backtrack to yesterday, but just a WARNING: my eats are BORING.  I’ve been failing as a chef recently, but I’m going away with my parents for the weekend so I can promise there will be some creative and tasty dishes then!

I went on a short run with Ari yesterday; my heart rate monitor was spewing all sorts of bull-hunky.  My stats are not even remotely accurate (72 after 20 minutes of running? I think not), so I’m not even going to post them. GRR.

Lunch was a jumbo salad:

IMG_7313

  • romaine
  • broccoli (including the stems, diced)
  • apple
  • tofu
  • hummus
  • HOT salsa

I also had an Axelrod Fat Free Peach yogurt.  I’ve only seen these in New York, but they’re my favorite because they’re a) the cheapest at about $.79, b) don’t have HFCS like other light yogurts, and c) they’re yummy!

IMG_7314

IMG_7316

A couple hours later, I split a Key Lime Pie Larabar with the boy.

IMG_7317

Ari wasn’t a fan.

IMG_7318

You’ve probably seen by now that I’m not a soda drinker at all, but these have been consumed around the house at a crazy rate in the last few days.  I’ll occasionally have a diet coke when I have pizza or something, but never the “real” version.  Ari loves the real thing and thinks these are awful, but to my palate, Coke Zero tastes just like Coca Cola Classic!

IMG_7319

After running a few errands in the city, I went to an art opening with my friend Howard (you should have seen some of this jewelry!) and dropped by my old restaurant to see some of my friends.  Then Ari picked me up and we went to a party in Williamsburg last night… I had two vodka sodas:

IMG_7326

While I didn’t break down and eat out, I did have a very naughty dinner.  On the way to Brooklyn, I snacked on a Berry Almond Luna:

IMG_7324

When I got home, I really didn’t feel like cooking so I just had a huge bowl of Basic 4 with a banana and skim.  Not the most nutritious dinner (hello, carbs!) but it did the job.

IMG_7323

This morning we went out to get some coffee.  Ari got a bagel but I wasn’t in the mood (yes, it’s rare for me “not to be in the mood” for a bagel, but they didn’t have my favorite oat & raisin flavor 😦 ).

IMG_7325

There wasn’t really anything I wanted for breakfast… I would have had cereal had I not eaten it for “dinner,” so I made a really boring bowl of oatmeal.  (I was kicking myself as I fell asleep last night for not making a breakfast cookie…)

IMG_7327

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • honey
  • peanut butter

Well, I’m off to the gym.  It’s a gray and rainy day so I’m going to use that as an excuse to get some strength training in.  Oh! Just a heads up- I’m going back to waiting tables, so posting may get a little funky starting next week. We have to wait until 11 to eat dinner and I’m not sure I’ll be able to snap the photo all the time, but I’ll do my best!

Hope you’re having a lovely day! This may help: check out An Apple A Day’s last May giveaway.

11 responses to “Breakfast boredom

  1. I love Ari’s anti-larabar face. Classic. How did you guys meet, by the way? I’ve been wondering that for awhile.

  2. my face would be identical to Ari’s at the taste of a lime lara…lol.

    sometimes ‘boring oats’ are the best start to the day! I like those yogurts too- never realised hey were only NY ones!

    Have a great day!

  3. breadandwithit

    Your food is healthy gourmet compared to the way most in this country eat. Sometimes, there’s nothing better than breakfast–even if it’s 3 times a day.

  4. maybe it’s just me……..but plain tofu, oatmeal, and hummus aint boring!!!

    and shoot Katie, don’t stress out if you want to SLEEP and not blog!! we will patiently wait for you to post tomorroW! no stress lady! i aint unsubscribing from lilveggiepatch in my google reader ANY time soon!

  5. You need to catch up on your zzzs my fellow insomniac! NO BAGEL!?!? That is bull-hunky.

    Hope you have a stupendous day! By the way, I got my baby shower gift today 😉 You are way too nice!

  6. Well, I’m glad Ari didn’t like that Larabar. It’s only the best flave so now you get the rest of it 🙂
    Time for some self-care lil veggie mama.

  7. Back to basics are good sometimes! 🙂

    I’m not a lime Lara fan either… it tastes like a coconut macaroon and I don’t like coconut!

    ❤ ❤

  8. homegirlcaneat

    Don’t be astressin’ over not blogging! I get that way over the weekends, then I realize that these peeps are my friends and I don’t think they will disown me if I don’t blog for a day or two (I hope not..)!

    I have SUCH AN ADDICTION to diet coke,it is just plain wrong! Coke zero is fabulous howeva!

  9. oh mannn, i get into food ruts and all indecisive all the time — happens to the best of us! everything looks yummy nonetheless!

    good luck with work, take all the time you need! xo

  10. Your eats aren’t boring girlie-what you have to keep in mind is what is the same ole’ thing to you is new to many of us. I have never seen the salad concoction and I am want to try it out. We love your blog and you’re doing a fantastic job!

  11. Your eats aren’t boring girlie-what you have to keep in mind is what is the same ole’ thing to you is new to many of us. I have never seen the salad concoction and I am wanting to try it out. We love your blog and you’re doing a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

