Joe Turner may have come and gone, but it’s never too late to get ready for summer

joeturnerprod460

Evening! Thanks so much for your kind comments earlier about my less-than-stellar meals of late.  One of the reasons I started the blog was to encourage myself to come up with new and interesting recipes that can be made quickly, healthily and cheaply, to adhere to the student’s budget and schedule.  While this mentality is more than applicable to my broke, post-graduate self, I can tell it’s going to be a lot more difficult because I’m living with several other people and I don’t have as much time.  This will be a challenge, but I know it can be done!

This morning (well, more like afternoon… we’re all friends here so I can be honest :-D) I headed to the gym to complete Day 2 of Gina’s Summer Shape-Up.  I’m a few weeks behind, but it’s better late than never! Today’s session was elliptical-heavy, but she split it up so it never got boring.  I’m excited for Day 3! Unfortunately, my HRM was ONCE AGAIN off it’s cork. I’m going to call Polar tomorrow if I have time… it’s so frustrating! I probably burned about 400-500 calories; this may be a good thing for me, since it’s forcing me to think more about how each exercise makes my body feel rather than how many calories I’m torching.

I was ravenous when I got home, so I whipped up some egg whites with mixed mushrooms, tomato, and a Laughing Cow Light cheese:

IMG_7328

I also had some rebel carrots and two huge pickles.

IMG_7329

Axelrod Mixed Berry yogurt:

IMG_7330

Everything (sans le yaourt) got smothered with hot salsa.

IMG_7331

A few hours later, I met my mama at Lincoln Center for a Q&A session with the cast of the current production of August Wilson’s Joe Turner’s Come And Gone.  It was really interesting to hear the actors discuss the play right before seeing it and having just read it. The panel was also right across the street from Josephina, another restaurant in the Josie’s/Citrus group.

Like Josie’s, Josephina’s bread selection is fabulous.  My mom and I decided we needed to taste each one; from the left we have raisin, olive, cheese and multi-grain. Also like Josie’s, we were brought a vegetable spread (I think it was either red pepper or sundried tomato) instead of butter.

IMG_7332

I pinched off about 1/4 of each.  I think the cheese was my favorite, but they were all mighty fine.

IMG_7333

For my entrée, I ordered the Natural Choice Grilled Scottish Salmon.  It’s antibiotic and hormone- free, and comes with a lima bean-corn-orka succotash & green pea coulis.

IMG_7336

The salmon was perfectly tender and juicy, and the succotash was delicious! It was, however, an enormous piece of fish.  I ate about 2/3 and brought the rest home to eat for lunch tomorrow.

IMG_7337

I dragged my mom to Pinkberry on the way to the subway.  I got a small Original yogurt with raspberries and chocolate chips. Hit the spot!

IMG_7339

If you’re in the NYC area and like theater, I highly reccommend seeing Joe Turner’s Come and Gone. The acting is superb, and the story is brilliantly haunting.  If you’re not here to see it in person, read the play! That’s an order.

When I got home I was starting to get hungry again so I snacked on an orange (minus a section or two, which will be featured in tomorrow’s breakfast).

IMG_7340

Well, that’s it for me.  I’m still figuring out my weekend plans, but I’m excited for Friday no matter what I’m doing! What’s going on in your neck of the woods for the last days of May?

To get ready for your jazzy weekend, head over to Mara‘s blog and enter her cute foodie charm giveaway!

Night!

9 responses to “Joe Turner may have come and gone, but it’s never too late to get ready for summer

  1. homegirlcaneat

    I never knew Scotland produced such beautiful salmon. I am so proud of my heritage!

    Pinkberry is quite fabulous!! I haven’t had it for like a year since I don’t live in socal but…I get a fatty large one with a bitchload of toppings because it ain’t right without a little mochi on it!

  2. Hooray for Scottish salmon! I love Josie’s- have you been to Isabella’s? Also part of the same group and also great (best white bean dip ever!)

    Definitely a challenge to come up with budget friendly/fast meals- am in the same boat and finding so far that having a rough plan ahead of time helps a lot…

    I can’t believe it’s almost JUNE?! Where is this year going?!

  3. ^ that should say “Josephina’s”

  4. I totally understand what your saying about not knowing how many calories you have burned and it being a good thing because you concentrate more on how you feel. I think something when I work out all I am looking for is that magic number of calories burned, and I forget that that’s not why I work out, its to feel better…not kill myself!

    Hope your Friday is off to a good start!

  5. That bread and veggie spread looks ridiculously delicious! Sorry the HRM is giving you a tough time – do you want me to kick it’s butt for you? 😉

  6. that bread selection is FAB — my favorite part of the meal 😉

  7. I LOVE raspberries and chocolate mixed with fro yo…mmm pink berry! You should try carob chips & strawberries it next time….it’s even better! 🙂

    I’m so jealous of all the restaurants you’ve been able to go to. In my suburbs-y/beach-y hometown….there are only a select few that aren’t just another basic, chain place! And I love, lovee olive bread! I’d be all over that at Josephina’s!

  8. Sounds like a neat show. And I need to get myself to pinkberry or a similar froyo place… I’ve never tried it! Regular froyo, yes, but not that tart Cali-style kind.

  9. Pingback: Wynken, Blynken & Nod return « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

