Up, up and away!

up-movie

Evening and happy Monday night! Well, somehow it’s now Tuesday morning… it’s been a pretty long day, but luckily I got my morning “nap” in. From your comments, it seems like you all understand the need to take breaks from blogging… thanks, as always, for your patience and support. I love you guys!

I got to the gym just in time for an hour-long Vinyasa yoga class.  I hadn’t been to an actual class (I’ve just been doing Yoga Downloads) in more than six months, so I was a little nervous.  It turns out I’m in better yogic shape than I thought, although there are still some things I can’t do (like Crow), but I really liked being back in a class setting with other students and a helpful instructor.  My schedule is a little inconsinstent right now, but hopefully I’ll be able to go at least once a week.  I’m going to be totally crazy and challenge myself: I will be able to do Crow Pose by the end of the summer!

I packed up leftovers from dinner last night: 1/2 Ahi tuna wrap with lettuce, tomatoes, onion, and ginger wasabi mayo. (In the future I’ll ask for it without the mayo… I really didn’t need it, and it just ended up making a big mess.) I also had an apple, which I ate before yoga.

Photo 26

I played with my Greg for a little after leaving the gym, and he kindly used his precious Starbucks card to buy me a Tall Caramel light Frappuccino (only 130 calories!).  I still didn’t have my camera charged at this point, but rest assured that I sucked down every last sweet drop.

I was still feeling snacky when I got home, so I had an apple.  I couldn’t decide which kind of nut butter I wanted, so why choose? I had cashew, almond, and peanut butters smeared on top. Mmm!

IMG_7384

Ari decided he wanted to go to Panera Bread before going to see Up.  I’d never been to Panera before, but I was impressed with the lighter vegetarian options that were offered (a rarity, as I’m sure you’re aware, for chain restaurants).

I got the soup/sandwich combo, so I had a cup of chandelier garden vegetable soup:

IMG_7385

Veggie sandwich with feta and cilantro hummus on sundried tomato bread.  The bread made this sandwich… it was so thick and fluffy!

IMG_7386

Ari’s turkey sandwich had mayo all over it (a banned “white and creamy” food) so I gave him my apple.  I’d already had two for the day, so it wasn’t much of a sacrifice.

IMG_7388

I was craving chocolate, and we were in the no-man’s land around the movie theater.  There were no delis, but there was a Starbucks! Lucky for me, because not only did I find my dark chocolate, but they were giving away samples of lemon pound cake! Who can turn that down?

IMG_7389

Up was one of the best movies I’ve seen in the last few years.  It was smart, funny, and surprisingly dark! (Have you noticed that “kids” movies seem to be made more for adults recently? Maybe they’ve always been like that and I’m just now picking up on it.) See it!

Time to get in bed and watch Heroes.  Hope you had a nice day! Bonne nuit 🙂

15 responses to “Up, up and away!

  1. Chris and I want to see UP! I’m pretty sure Gracie and Livy could care less 😉

  2. I can’t wait to see UP! Everyone is giving it great reviews!

    Is there a Panera in NY?

  3. I’m going to see UP today! I cannot wait 🙂

  4. Glad you enjoyed the yoga! Loving the apple with the samplings of different nut butters- great snacky. I’ve heard fabulous things about UP!

  5. Everything is dark, if you only know to look for it. Even fairy tales are actually quite… adult in nature!

    ❤ ❤

  6. yay for yoga! i too cannot do crow for the life of me — maybe i’ll make that a summer goal too =)

    you got my FAVORITE things at panera! they also have great vegetarian black bean soup if you go back again.

    hope you have a fabulous tuesday!

  7. Panera!! That’s the best combo in the world! Yum 🙂 Thanks for making me crave it!!

    Woohoo for yoga! You’ll be like stretch armstrong in no time!

  8. gina (fitnessista)

    ohhh good to know- i wanted to see that but haven’t heard any reviews yet.
    you’ll be able to do cros in no time- i finally mastered it recently and i was so excited 😀
    have a great day!

  9. Yoga can be tough! I really want to start getting into it more too, but my schedule is pretty tight and I don’t really have the money to dish out for classes at a real studio or at a gym. Any ideas? Good places on the internet for some good (free) videos?

    Kids movies can be pretty dark! It’s crazy! It may be good for us older generation, so the animated movies are a little more entertaining, but as a kid I remember the sweet and innocent Little Mermaid, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, and Bambi… although all of those had their darkness too…

    So I’ve never been to Panera… I think it’s about time I tried!

  10. I’ll have to check out “Up”!

    ahi tuna droooooooool

    loving your trio nut buttahs too! YOU KNOW HOW WE DO!!

    HAPPY TUESDAY LOVE BUG!!!

  11. I’d been a little skeptical about UP!, but you’re not the first person who has raved about it. It sounds like I’ll be taking a trip to an air-conditioned theater sometime in the near future.

  12. omgosh i SO want to see Up!

    pearl @ http://inanoyster.blogspot.com

  13. I’ve heard such good things about UP! It’s on my to-see list.

    And yes, you WILL be able to do crow by the end of the summer! Any maybe even a side crow! Which is actually a LOT easier than it looks, in my opinion. Plus it looks cool and impresses people.

  14. thanks for the lingerie tip. I could never do crow until I took Sadie Nardini’s class, and i did it the first time. Definitely check out her class at the fierce club if you get a chance, the first is free!

  15. I haven’t seen UP yet, but I LOVE kiddie movies!:D

Leave a Reply

