Bits and Pieces

Good morning, friends! Sorry I’ve been a little MIA, but, as it was recently pointed out to me, I am on vacation, and the 2+ hours blogging has been taking me to recap my day is a little overwhelming.  So, from here on out, I’m going to give you a “Greatest Hits” version of some of my favorite things that we’ve done here in Berlin.

IMG_7667

As I’ve pointed out before, the ethnic food is excellent here.  We’ve had a couple Vietnamese meals, and this tofu noodle soup was superb.

IMG_7678

It came with the cutest little tofu-filled cabbage bundle!

IMG_7682

Ginger candy for dessert:

IMG_7684

I’m not much of a fruity-drink girl, but the cocktails have been amazing. This was a freshly-mashed strawberry (we saw the bartender muddling each individual drink), mint, litchi and passion fruit seed drink made with vodka.

IMG_7670

Left (Daddy-o’s): mango guava shake with fresh coconut milk and mint. Right (mine): Sticky-rice vodka, cane-sugar rum, fresh apple juice, fresh pineapple juice, and fresh hunks of ginger.

IMG_7692

A winning dessert: cherry banana quark with a fresh peach and a chocolate egg from the Guggenheim Berlin:

IMG_2591

It had a surprise gift inside!

IMG_2593

Modern food art:

IMG_7698

Our breakfasts at home look like this (I just started a new book!):

IMG_2609

While typical café breakfasts look more like this.

IMG_2561

I finally got some drool-worthy ice cream, but it wasn’t gelato.  (Hint: that will be remedied in approximately three hours!) I got 1/2 scoops each of Belgian chocolate ice cream and mango sorbet.

IMG_2578

Although it may not look like it, we do do things other than eat! We saw some great art at the Hamburg Museum.

IMG_2565

Kiss kiss!

IMG_2564

My mom joined Neptune’s harem.  Sorry, Dad.

IMG_7661

I’ve been hard at work properly documenting the trip for the folks at home:

IMG_2575

Well, that’s it for now.  I might be back later with a history lesson or two… enjoy your Friday!

13 responses to “Bits and Pieces

  1. I think a “greatest hits” when you get back would be sufficient, but I’m SO glad you’re still doing the blogging thing because I now feel I’m living vicariously. Such beautiful food!!

  2. LOVE the pictures… glad you’re having a good time!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  3. Love the pictures and glad you are going to pull in the reigns and enjoy your vacation while you can!

    is that a Kinder egg with the toy? they are so much fun…hehe, chocolate + games = winner! I don’t drink but your sticky rice vodka cocktail looks amazing!

  4. I totally agree- you’re on vacay, you have every right to take it easy! That being said, I’m loving your recaps… so much good Euro food. That vodka-pineapple drink looks totally killer.

  5. Ich leibe Europaer fruhstuck!! So simple but so delicious!

    You and your mom look so cute! Enjoy your vaca, don’t worry about blogging!!

  6. OMG I have not had pho in a year!!! They don’t have any in Ashland OR waaaaaa. Love the pics

  7. wow, so gorgeous, i love the eurp style bfast. ps I tagged you for a blogger chain thing

  8. le Petit Tomate

    drool worthy ha ha ha he he he

  9. Glad you’re enjoying your vacay! Beautiful pictures 🙂

  10. haha, love the pics. your mom+dad sound so cute 🙂 im so glad youre still blogging while on vacay, i can deal with the delay and clifs notes versions no prob 🙂

    btw, if you use google reader you have to change the subscription to http://www.hungryhungryhippie.com/feed
    for some reason…i have the same address, but the google reader is having issues? i dont wanna lose youuuuuuuu

  11. wow, that ice cream looks so good! enjoy the rest of your trip.

  12. Pingback: Hitting the streets with Operation Beautiful « Lilveggiepatch

  13. Pingback: Manic Monday At Home « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

