The Wrath of Veggie

Good afternoon, friends! It always feels like it’s been so long since I’ve checked in, because I’m used to posting three times a day! I miss the routine, but… life happens.

Thanks to all of you who gave me mid-work snack suggestions! Here are some of your ideas:

  • Nutrition / granola bars
  • Veggie crudité with nut butter
  • String cheese
  • Kashi Go Lean w/ almonds & raisins
  • Trail mix
  • Oatmeal
  • Annie’s Mac & Cheese
  • Peanut butter crackers
  • Fruit leather
  • Applesauce
  • Sliced apple w/ extra sharp cheddar
  • 1/2 avocado w/ lemon wedge (I might try to keep this one in the fridge!)

I don’t have to work again until Sunday, so I have some time to get my snack’ums together. Thanks again for the tips!

Yesterday morning we slept late-ish (bed at 2 will do that to ya!) and went to the diner for breakfast.  Coffee abounded.

no boob

I got an egg white omelet with spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms and feta.  I held off on the potatoes.

IMG_7812

There was some funkiness going on with my toast.  I ordered it dry (a rarity!), but if you look closely, you can see that the bottom half (the top half, in the picture) has been chopped off! This half-toast business was a little half-cocked, eh?

IMG_7814

I modeled my new sweater over breakfast;  Ari’s mom made it for me as a graduation present.  You can’t really tell in this photo, but it’s made with beautiful multi-colored ribbon yarn.  Homemade gifts are so special, especially when they’re something I’ll actually wear!

IMG_7810

After I devoured finished my eggs in a lady-like fashion, I headed into the city to go to the gym.  The subway was all messed up and I ended up waiting for my train for almost half an hour.  I had to shorten my workout, so I pushed myself extra hard with the time I did have.  I used the speed training function on the Stairmaster and worked it out on a higher level than I usually do.  It was really hard, and there were a few minutes when I thought my heart might leap out of my chest, but I felt great after 20 minutes! I also did some arm machines (which might not be the best thing to do before an 8-hour wait shift…) and abs.

Total time: 47:22 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 201

Average heart rate: 160

Calories burned: 465

I realized once I’d already left the house that I’d forgotten to bring my corn soup 😦 . I went to Whole Foods and picked up a small bowl of cold cucumber mango soup and a hummus, sprout & cucumber “petite sandwich.”

IMG_7816

The soup was good… it was made with a lot of curry and would probably have been really good poured over veggies, rice and tofu.  The sandwich was eh… I couldn’t taste the hummus at all.  But… can’t beat the $1.99 price tag!

At work, I had a skim cappuccino (and no, I won’t be quitting my day job to pursue art):

IMG_7819

I got really lucky with dinner, and it was so pretty that I ran upstairs to grab my camera to take a picture for you.

IMG_7817

My favorite chef was working and made me my favorite salad: mixed greens with beets, tomatoes, oranges and candied walnuts in a balsamic vinaigrette.  We were serving a scallop special, so Ramon fried some up and plopped them on.  (I would prefer they not be fried, but beggars can’t be choosers.)

So here’s where the wrath starts.  Most people who know me, physically or virtually, will agree that I’m pretty nice, and am usually a very calm and rational person.  It takes a lot to “push my buttons,” or rather, it takes a lot for me to show that I’m upset about something. Well.  Last night, I went out with a friend after work for a quick drink.  As soon as we walked into the bar, one in a group of middle-aged men made a really nasty and degrading comment about me, and didn’t even attempt to saw it quietly.  Without thinking, I called him out on it, but because I did it calmly (and had the upper hand by being sober and articulate), I think I shamed him. I hope I did.  Ari wanted to go in and say something to them when he picked me up, but I just wanted to let it go… but 12 hours later, I’m still fuming! GRR.

This morning I was craving cereal carbs.  I made a big bowl of Basic 4 and topped it with a fresh nectarine (my first of the season) and skim milk. Parfait!

IMG_7818

It’s now time, at the late hour of 1:15, to start the day.  We’re going to try to go to Hot Power Fusion Yoga: A powerful blend of the healing postures of Hot Yoga with the strengthening flow of Heated Vinyasa. Each of the 26 postures in the Hot Power Fusion series is intended to prepare students for the next posture. This class balances the entire body by strengthening, opening and flushing all the anatomical systems. The set sequence is thoughtfully designed for all levels and with continued practice promises to become a moving meditation. The postures have no end nor does the perfect, ultimate posture exist. Hot Power Fusion is a yoga practice students can evolve and enjoy throughout their lifetime.

Sounds promising! Have a great day 🙂

20 responses to “The Wrath of Veggie

  1. have fun at yoga! your healthy meals are very inspiring. love the bright colors!

  2. I’m sorry about the drunken loser- don’t take it to heart. Be proud that you articulated yourself and I bet that he was left feeling pretty bad.

    Love the sweater- homemade gifts are so special Cut-off toast seems suss to me, lol.

    Glad you have a couple of days off- enjoy!

  3. that is strange about the toast 🙂

    sorry about the comment, but good for you for standing up for yourself and being the coherent one! I bet he was shamed, and he should be.

  4. im currently obsessed with nectarines. and i love the sweater—homemade gifts are always the best, theyre so thoughtful! I also love Ari’s hebrew coca-cola shirt. I have the same one!

  5. Some people are just RUDE!

    I think I always crave cereal carbs! 😉

    That saladd looks divine!

  6. Oh love the eats and the sweater I wish I can make something like that myself!

  7. 1. awesome sweater! homemade gifts are the best.
    2. hilarious drawing. wouldn’t it be funny to write a blog where you sketch all your food after the fact and then take a picture of it? ok maybe that’s just me, i have a weird sense of humor.
    3. ARGH i hate when creepy dudes have to ruin things. get a LIFE people! I’d be mad too, i hate that sort of thing.

  8. Maybe there was no bottom crust because they store the loaves on the floor and decided to cut it off in a nod to hygiene. 😉

    The sweater is beautiful — I can’t believe it’s homemade!!

    That guy is a creep. It is awesome that you called him out on it, I always wish I HAD but I never have the guts to actually DO it.

    ❤ ❤

  9. TOAST 😀 I love Jim and Jack’s evil cousin!

    What a cute sweater! That’s so nice!! Can’t taste the hummus?! That should be illegal!

    I’m not as cool tempered as you so….what a dick! Way to throw it back in his face, my darling!!

  10. homegirlcaneat

    WAY TO STICK IT TO THE D-BAG MAN! I hate nasty comments espesh when you can OBVIOUSLY hear them and they OBVIOUSLY are nasty!

    I never knew WF made sh!t for $1.99. God bless.

  11. I am so proud of you for standing up for yourself!

  12. I know exactly what you mean, I heard some pretty degrading comments last weekend and I didn’t hesitate to yell dégage! (which is basically f off)

  13. Ugh, sorry about the creep! Sounds like you know how to handle yourself though lady! 🙂

    And yum, you know I love your diner omeletes (with the ketchup smiley faces)!

  14. who the heck could ever say anything nasty about you?
    i think you should have let ari punch him in the nose.

  15. sorry about the degrading remark. the nerve of some people..
    love the omelette smily face 😀

  16. breadandwithit

    There are creeps in the world. You can recognize them, know that they’re losers, and put them in their place(s). sometimes it’s safe to call them out, and sometimes you just move on and thank the gods that Ari’s a great guy and that you don’t have to spend your life with morons.

    Love the smiling omlet.

  17. Ick. I hate when people feel like they just have to rude and make some sort of sly comment. I wouldnt worry about it too much though, at least you stood up for yourself and plus karmas a bitch 🙂

  18. cold cucumber mango soup sounds really really good!

  19. Pingback: Some Days Are Better Than Others « Lilveggiepatch

  20. Pingback: Fast, Easy, Fresca « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

