Some Days Are Better Than Others

Good morning, girls and boys! I hope you’ve all had lovely weekends and Father’s Days, and are starting your Mondays feeling refreshed and ready to begin the week.  Yesterday (Sunday) was, frankly, a really bad day.  Work was just awful. I don’t want to dwell on it, and I hate “bringing my work home with me,” so suffice it to say that I cannot wait for the day when I don’t have to wait tables to support myself. What a dream.  Saturday, however, was perfect, so let’s start there instead.

Saturday’s breakfast was strange: sweet, sour & nutty oats.

IMG_7847

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup waters
  • 1 banana
  • 1 plum
  • 1 scoop PB
  • cinnamon

Somehow, the sweetness of the banana and the tart, fleshiness of the plum worked really well.  I didn’t even remember that I hadn’t put any brown sugar or honey in to sweeten it!

After I ate breakfast and Ari had lunch (I’ve been getting up a lot earlier than he has and had breakfast so I can keep myself on a remotely normal schedule), we headed into the city to see The Hangover.  It was a lot funnier than I expected it to be,  but very foul, so if you get offended by college potty humor, I’d think twice before seeing it.

At the theater, we split a bag of Haribo gummies that I brought back from the Duty Free Shop at the airport in Berlin for precisely this reason.  Yeah, that’s a lot of gummies.  I also had a sip of Ari’s Coke Zero, but mostly stuck to slamming gummies 🙂

IMG_7848

We had a late lunch at a make-your-own salad place nearby. Unfortunately, despite the many promising ingredients, it was one of the worst salads I’ve ever had.

IMG_7849

In the bowl, went:

  • mixed greens
  • grilled shrimp (about 20)
  • blue cheese (“a little” ended up looking more like 1/2 cup)
  • walnuts (another 1/2 cup)
  • roasted red peppers
  • corn
  • fat free honey mustard dressing

I ended up picking out a lot of the nuts and cheese, and a couple shrimp.  I was so upset I didn’t ask for the dressing on the side, because there was an inch-deep pool of it at the bottom and everything was dripping. Yuck!

IMG_7850

But, Tasty D Lite (sorry, The Lite Choice) made it all better.

IMG_7851

I got a small cup of hazelnut fudge topped with chocolate chips.  (I knocked a lot of the chips into the trash… there were so many that I couldn’t taste the ice cream!)

IMG_7854

After satisfying our sweet teeth, we went home to make a nice dinner for my mom. While shopping for groceries, we saw some copy cats:

IMG_7855

I was really excited about this dinner.  Ever since I saw Jenna‘s take on grouper, I knew I had to try it!  The seafood department at my grocery store didn’t have grouper, so I got some halibut (“This is a fancy fish,” my mom said) instead.

I followed Jenna‘s instructions and marinated four filets in a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, and fresh rosemary and oregano.

IMG_7859

Instead of traditional basil pesto, I went with Cibo NaturalsCilantro Lime Pesto.  I’ve used this brand before… they have a lot of interesting pestos and spreads. I smeared a dollop of this onto each filet:

IMG_7860

Then I topped each piece with chopped sundried tomatoes, mixed olives, and a smidgen of feta.  (For Ari, who doesn’t like things that are “white and creamy,” I used mozzarella, as per his request.  His filet is the white monster second from the top.)

IMG_7863

I baked the fish at 375 for about 15 minutes, or until a knife can be easily inserted into the center. What a pretty fish!

IMG_7872

IMG_7867

I also sautéed some mushrooms up for Ari (cooking spray, salt & pepper) and made a simple romaine/tomato salad with a dressing of white garlic basil vinegar, lemon-infused olive oil, grey poupon mustard, Newman’s Own limeade, and a pinch of ginger powder.

IMG_7875

A nice dinner is not complete without nice bread; I had a hunk of toasted baguette and dipped it in a little Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

IMG_7876

To drink, we had some Kauri Bay Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc that my friend Howard gave me.  It was very light and fresh, but a little spicy at the same time. It complemented the meal perfectly!

IMG_7857

My mom picked up a delicious chocolate cake from Citarella’s for dessert.

IMG_7881

We almost didn’t cut it in time…

IMG_7879

It was made with three kinds of chocolate. Nomnomnom.

IMG_7882

After dinner, I fell asleep while we all watched O Brother, Where Art Thou?. The concert that emerged from this movie was one of the first ones I ever saw!  We stayed the night with my mommy, too, which was very nice.

And then Sunday started. I woke up 45 minutes late, fifteen minutes before I was supposed to leave to work the brunch shift at work.  I still managed to make myself look halfway- decent, and whip up a good breakfast before racing out the door.

I’d made some rhubarb the night before, which I’d planned to use as a side dish but decided at the last minute to use it for breakfast instead.  I used a 12-oz bag of frozen ‘barb and cooked it in 2/3 cup water, juice of 1/2 lemon, 1 garlic clove, and 1 tsp of sugar.   The garlic was quite a kick at 8:30 in the morning!

IMG_7884

Into the breakfast bowl went:

  • 1 container Fage 0%
  • blueberries
  • rhubarb
  • pecans
  • honey

At work, I had one of my snack baggies I prepared, thanks to your suggestions. Each has a handful of Puffins, diced dried apricots, prunes and figs, raisins and almonds.

IMG_7858

I also had a small slice of of French toast made with baguette (not pictured), and an egg white omelet with veggies.  I had a couple potatoes, but ended up having to stay an hour later than normal so the rest of them got cold.

IMG_7885

As I said, work was not so great… it happens.  I’m just lucky the restaurant is only a couple blocks away from my gym, because I really, really needed to burn off steam, and if it had been any further away I would have just gone home and stewed instead.

My workout was great, and was just what the doctor ordered.  I warmed up with 20 minutes on the stairs, then did some arm work, 35 minutes on the bike, and one ab machine afterwards.

Total time: 1 hour 13 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 185

Average heart rate: 149

Calories burned: 647

My body was still really sore from “HPF” on Friday, and this pushed me over the edge. But, I get to be very demanding in terms of getting back massages!

When I went home, I made the most comforting meal I know: Gliding Calm tofu, a sweet potato with honey and cinnamon, and brown rice.  For some reason, the tofu was a little dryer than usual, so I dipped it in Annie’s Lite Gingerly Vinaigrette. Perfect! (And if you’re wondering what’s on that little cracker, you’ll have to read on…)

IMG_7891

I also snacked on a red bell pepper while getting dinner ready…

IMG_7886

…and making some of Gena‘s favorite guacamole!

IMG_7887

Lunch is going to be pretty damn fine!

IMG_7894

Last night ended up making up for a not-so-great day.  Ari and I had some wine and watched The Wrestler, which we both liked a lot.

IMG_7892

I’m a big believer that starting the morning right will help shape your day into a great one.  Last night, I stuck this guy into the fridge in hopes of besting yesterday’s ickiness.

IMG_7893

Jim was made up of:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 T skim milk
  • 1.5 t peanut butter
  • cinnamon
  • apricot eyes, pecan nose, blueberry smile

The forecast looks good: today is going to be a good day.  I have to do some reading for my internship, but I like doing that.

Have a great day!

9 responses to “Some Days Are Better Than Others

  1. Great looking topping for the fish!

  2. Whoa – those are some interesting flavor combos. While I would never have thought of them, they look really good!

    That cake definitely takes the cake – nothing like a leaning tower of chocolate!

  3. sorry to hear that work was horrible :\ atleast you got amazing frozen yogurt!! haha

    the fish looks great too!

  4. That is a tall cake!!

    I hate it when there’s so much dressing in the salad… I used to ask for “a little bit,” but apparently that was too vague, so I started to specify “half a scoop,” but I guess we use different measurements, because I always ended up with a puddle! It was not worth my mental health and sanity, so I just stopped asking for any at all.

    Hope today goes better for you!

    ❤ ❤

  5. sorry about the sucky parts of your weekend 😦 though the good thing about having a really bad day at work is that the following ones are almost certain to be better 😀

    I didn’t know halibut was a ‘fancy’ fish- maybe it’s caught around the UK because it’s pretty common/cheap here! random, but does mozzarella not count as white and creamy? 😛

    I love the idea of the tossed salad places but they are never as good in theory…haribo, on the other hand- can’t go wrong with them (or Citarella cake!) They sell Haribo in Fairway (74th and Broadway) if you need them before you are next flying internationally 😀

  6. Was that The Lite Choice on 72nd street? I go there all the time! I LOVE Citarella’s cakes, they are divine. Their Mediterranean salad and their fish are also good.

  7. Sorry work isn’t going so well right now! Maybe in your work snack baggies you should toss in some jello shots or mini bottles of wine 😉 Hope things turn around for you, I don’t like an upset Veggie Patch!

  8. I loved The Hangover! 🙂 Silly movies are my favorite.

    Your fish looks incredible! Too bad that salad turned out to be such crap!

    Hope work gets better for you!

  9. Pingback: Manic Monday At Home « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

