Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it

Morning and happy Thursday! I love Thursdays, because even though I don’t have a “traditional” schedule anymore, Fridays are always exciting.  This weekend has a few surprises in store, so I’m excited! Now, to just get through today…

Yesterday I got up bright and early to do some work.  I had a big bowl of fruit: 1/2 banana, 1 plum, and cherries.

IMG_7924

I met my lovelies, Lyle and Lindsay, for lunch at Alice’s Tea Cup.  There was a little wait, so in true NYC-fashion we got some iced coffees (skim milk & Sugar In The Raw) and plopped down on a stoop for some quality chit.

IMG_7925

When we were finally seated, we ordered a plate of scones to share: it’s unfortunate the photo is so bad, because these were SO GOOD.  We split carmelized banana and chocolate almond.  Why have I never been a scone person before?! I love scones! (And I know the answer to that question, and it needs to change!)

IMG_7926

I got my usual: the “Light Fare” with a bowl of tomato basil soup and their amazing bread:

IMG_7928

And the warm endive, carmelized pear & onion, and stilton cheese salad.  Best tea party ever.

IMG_7929

After saying our goodbyes (sniff), I had some time to kill before work While I was moseying around, I happened upon a cart giving away free Popchips!

IMG_7930

You can find the nutrition information for Popchips here.  These are snack-sized bags (50 calorie servings), and I gobbled up a package of the original flavor as I dodged raindrops on the way to work.  They reminded me a lot of soy crisps; they’re very light and not greasy at all, but still flavorful.  Cons? Try to eat these holding an umbrella and two bags in a torrential downpour! Would I buy these? Yes, but I think they’d be pretty addicting and potentially dangerous to have around 🙂

At work, I had a small (2-inch slice) of pizza with olives.  I drew a gallery-worthy picture of it, but left it in my apron at work. Use your imaginations!

For dinner I got off the healthy chip train and had freshly-made tortilla chips! The man who makes the pizza saw me eating my salad and thought I needed some deep-fried taco and plopped them right into the fryer.  I guess I’ll be getting my fry on a lot!

IMG_7933

Now, this looks like a regular salad, right? Not so! Hidden under a thin layer of parmesan are little shrimpies! I love you, chef Ramon.

IMG_7932

This was made with a lot of garlic. Delicious, but sometimes you need to freshen yourself up, you know? So I pulled out my handy-dandy Eat Whatever mints.  Have you guys heard of these?

IMG_7935

After eating something gnarly (like said garlicky salad), swallow the two jelly capsules with a glass of water.  Then, suck on the white mint until it’s dissolved.  Results? “Kissible breath”!  It worked for me, which is a blessing to know considering I work in an Italian restaurant.  Even better? They’re 100% vegan and gluten-free.  I’ll have to keep my eye out for these!

Work thankfully ended without drama, and I grabbed a fruit cup on the way to the subway.

IMG_7936

Well, time to go get my pretty on and head to my internship.  I have to go to the restaurant after I’m through with that, so it’s going to be a long, long day, and I didn’t get to sleep until after 3 last night. Bah. No more complaints… have a happy Thursday! And please wish Heather a belated Happy Birthday!!!

16 responses to “Who needs sleep? Well, you’re never gonna get it

  1. I love Thursdays!! It’s always been my favorite day 🙂

    I need those mints!! I hate having garlic/onion breath and the WORST is the next day when you have an onion hangover – yuck!

    Those scones sound delicious!

  2. Sounds like you’re busy busy busy. Do you like working in a restaurant? I’ve never worked in food service but I think I would enjoy it.

    The infamous popchip! those have been ALL over the blogs but I’ve never tried them. Not much of a chip fan but they sound good!

  3. I love scones! Alice’s teacup always looks so great but I was never patient enough to wait for a table 😛 Have you been to Tea and Sympathy in the village?

    Good to know the mints WORK- my tic-tacs are no match for my garlic obsession…

    have a great Thursday!

  4. I love Thursdays too because it is my “going out” night. haha. Fridays are always so boring around no one does anything! Isnt that weird?!

    Hope you can get caught up on your sleep over the weekend! ❤

  5. ahhh good luck with the looong day, hoping it flies by for you!

    you find the best places in NYC — i’m going to need you to show me your favs sometime!!! alice’s teacup is right up my alley =)

  6. I LOVE Alice’s teacup, their scones are soooo yummy 🙂

  7. MMMMMMM warm, crispy tortilla chips will always have a place in my heart!

    And it seems like you’re getting hooked up at your work girl! They’ve been preparing some pretty legit dinners for you! 🙂

    I’m excited to hear about your exciting weekend plans! Have fun!

  8. homegirlcaneat

    Yummmmmm hot tortilla chips! I can eat buckets!

    Popchips seems so fabby since urryone on the blog eats them! GAY PRIDE WEEKEND in SF is actually sponsored by them so I am hoping they will be throwing them into da crowds so I can grab hundreds!

  9. I was confused for a minute there — I thought you were referring to TODAY, and for once it ISN’T raining!! ;p

    ❤ ❤

  10. Ha, I had a total Katie-style randomly fall asleep at a random time/place moment yesterday. Get your sleep, girlie, I know you need it!
    I totes have the from job #1 straight to job #2 thing going on this weekend, so I feel for ya.

  11. Ooh, I could use those mints, given my love for raw garlic.

    Hm, scones might be my next baking project. Love them!

  12. Wow! those eat whatever mints sound aweesome!

    Scones ROCK! 😀

  13. ahh scones are my favorite breakfast foods 🙂
    your fruit salad in the a.m looks amazing!

  14. Thanks for the shout out! eatwhatever really works – i’m so glad you like it!

  15. Pingback: Off-days with the ones I love « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

