The Lunchtime Workout

Good afternoon and happy Friday! I hope you had a great Thursday night (Em, this means you!) and are gearing up for a fabulous weekend.  The rain let up yesterday and it was absolutely beautiful… unfortunately, it’s sprinkling outside again now.  It seems to be raining all over the world!

The AC was on full blast when I woke up yesterday, so I wanted a hot breakfast and made a big bowl of oatmeal.

IMG_7937

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 each: date, fig, apricot
  • 1 tsp PB
  • cinnamon

I stopped at the Starbucks near the office and used my gift card (which I bought for myself… we all need presents) and got a grande skim latte with a generous sprinkle of cinnamon.

IMG_7938

I’d planned to save my snack for work, but I got hungry and dug into it while doing some data entry (remember the Rolodex?). My trail mix baggie had stale Puffins (going with GoLean next time to avoid that problem), dates, figs, apricots, almonds, and raisins.

IMG_7940

I used my lunch hour to take advantage of the gym next door.  Unfortunately, I only had about 20 minutes of active time, so I just did 10 minutes on the stairs and ran a mile.  I have to take showering, dressing and prettifying into consideration, so time is really limited.  I would have preferred to do some strength training as well, but it didn’t work out today. For the working women of the world: what do your lunchtime workouts look like?

I waited until I left my internship at 3:30 to have lunch, thinking it would hold me over better before my 11:00 dinner during my wait shift. I had my leftover salmon salad and topped it with Gena‘s guacamole.  It ended up exploding in the bag I carried it in, making a huge greasy mess, so I decided to keep the cover on the take-out container and not gross you out.

IMG_7941

I also slammed an orange in hyper-speed on the way to work:

IMG_7942

Work last night was fine.  My parents and some friends came by to have dinner, which was nice.  I made decent $ so I got to leave at 11:30 and still have enjoy part of an evening, which is the best of both worlds.  Even better, though, was that Ari, with instructions to be ready starting at 7:50, got me a ticket to the Healthy Living Summit! Did any of you get tickets? I’m so excited to meet you guys!

For dinner, I had another salad surprise! The chef listened to my pleas and grilled the shrimp this time… so delicious.

IMG_7943

I also had two slices of this pizza.  I tried to get a photo that shows the size of it, but it didn’t come out.  Each slice is about half the length of a knife.

IMG_7945

I didn’t want to eat the second piece, but the chef who makes the pizza thought I should taste one pice with mozzarella, and one with bufala cheese.  Excuses, excuses.

I went out last night and got a little too party hardy (and played a game I never thought I would), and I am more than feeling it this morning.  We went to the diner to do some damage control, but I ended up eating way too much for the way I was feeling and it made it worse.  Oh well! You live, you learn (or so you’d think…).

IMG_7946

I got an egg white omelet with tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms and feta (my standard)… the ketchup got a little out of control, but it kind of resembles the way my eyes feel right now!

IMG_7947

I had 1-1/2 pieces of dry toast (3 triangles).  We ended up sitting and talking for a while with Ari’s sister and friend Charles, who is visiting from the West Coast for a couple weeks.

IMG_7948

I’m starting to feel a little more like a human now, but I’m going to be taking it easy tonight.  I have a fabulously exciting dinner tonight, and then I’m going to a Swine Flu-themed party, but I hope I can hit the hay at a decent hour!

And now, let’s have a moment of silence for Michael Jackson, Farah Fawcett and Ed McMann. Funny how bad things always happen in 3s, isn’t it?

On a happier note, head over to Rosey Rebecca’s blog for an Oikos giveaway!

Have a lovely Friday 🙂

8 responses to “The Lunchtime Workout

  1. oh mannn, i feel ya on being a waste the day after drinking — hope you feel better and im glad you had a good night out regardless! i am loving the ketchup art on that omelette!

    have a fabulous friday =)

  2. A Swine-Flu themed party?? Sounds… interesting. How does that work??

    As a “working woman of the world,” I don’t do lunchtime workout because by the time I got to the gym I’d have to turn around and go back to work! … I wake up at an insanely early hour to go before work instead. Lovely. ;p

    Have a great weekend!

    ❤ ❤

  3. Yes yes yes I got a ticket to the summit too! Can’t wait to meet you!

  4. what does a swine-flu theme party involve?! Lol. That’s so cool you got the ticket- I really wanted to go but there was no way with my flights booked for October!

    I never managed to get a work-out in on my lunch-break- it was too much of a rush and I either was late back, not ‘primped’ enough (lol) or didn’t have a decent work-out. Going after work worked better for me to work out the stress of the day 😛

    have a great weekend- sending sunshine your way!

  5. Swine flu party?! Hm. I’m open to any excuse for a party, really 🙂

    Dates, figs, apricots and almonds are all in top 12 favorite foods! Maybe even top 10.

    Have a great weekend! Hope you’re feeling better!

  6. Swine flu party?! You crazy NY-ers 😉

    Where’s your PB2? It should be coming soon, no? I was waiting for the dry toast!! I am predicting that dry toast will be on my menu tomorrow, dun dun DUN!

  7. That’s SO weird that you mentioned how bad things tend to happen in “3’s.” My dad and I were just talking about MJ and Farah yesterday, and forgetting about Ed….when he said, “someone else is gonna go too since it seems that bad things always happen in 3’s!!” Ahhh, so bizarre.

    I’m lovin’ the trail mix action (you gotta mix some cereal pieces w/ carob!!), skim latte, omelet and pizza in this post!! And LUCKY DUCKKK, so jealous that you’re going to the Healthy Living Summit! Have fun tonight at the party!

  8. i am sooo jealous that you get to go to the summit! i wanted to so much, but i just didn’t know whether or not i will be in russland then…

Leave a Reply

