Seaweed Adventures

Good evening! I hope you’ve had wonderful weekends full of trips to the beach, outdoor activities, or whatever makes you happiest.  Mine was lovely, even though I had to work today, so I can’t complain 🙂

This morning was the usual breakfast cookie, coffee (I didn’t have time to brew a pot, so Folger’s Instant it was) and vitamin cocktail.

IMG_7994

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 scoop peanut butter
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 tbsp skim milk
  • cinnamon
  • 1 orange for garnish

Work was fine.  We had a couple hours where things were a little crazy, but the rush ended early and things weren’t too stressful for long.

For lunch (at 3:30), I ordered an egg white omelet with veggies and salad.  I grated parmesan on the eggs and covered them with a sprinkling of parmesan and pepper flakes, and a lot of ketchup and hot sauce (not pictured).

IMG_7995

I joined the clean plate club with this one.  That’s what spending 8 hours on your feet without eating (unless you count the orange slices from the bar try 😉 ) will do! The only problem with these omelets is they’re cooked in a lot of oil, but I don’t want to irritate the chefs too much so I just let it go.

The gym was a-calling (it’s been a while), so I went straight from work.  I did 20 minutes on the stairs, a lot of strength, and started with the bike but realized I was just too tired.  I didn’t let myself succumb to feeling guilty for not having a 1 hour + workout… I’m really trying to get rid of this “all or nothing” mentality I have about exercise once and for all.  Anyway, I hopped off the bike after about two minutes and just moved on to abs.  No guilt!

Total time: 52:04 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 181 (91%)

Average heart rate: 139 (70%)

Calories burned: 398

After the gym, I went to Trader Joe’s for some groceries.  I’m going away on Friday, but I need enough to get me through the week, so I just got some staples.  The line was unbelievably long (about a 45-minute wait), but the prices couldn’t be beat!

IMG_7997

  • blueberries
  • canned chunk light tuna in water
  • low sodium minestrone soup
  • nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • organic blueberry fruit spread
  • extra firm tofu
  • spinach
  • dark chocolate truffle bar
  • flattened banana strips
  • frozen mango/berries
  • organic cucumbers
  • PURE bars (finally!!! I jumped out of the line when I spotted these)
  • clover honey
  • Puffins cereal
  • Mediterranean hummus (I’d originally picked a different flavor, but the guy in front of me in line convinced me to get this instead)
  • Organic Greek yogurt, honey flavored
  • organic carrots
  • bananas
  • Almond Breeze
  • Multigrain pilaf
  • roasted unsalted almond butter, creamy

I didn’t have time to go to the samples booth and I was STARVING on my subway ride home, so I had half of a Peanut Butter Cookie Luna Bar.

IMG_7996

Even after my Luna bar snack, I was still pretty hungry so I snacked on some rebel carrots while getting dinner ready.

IMG_8001

For the past few weeks, Miss Gliding Calm has been making the most beautiful creations with seaweed and other Japanese ingredients.  A couple nights ago, in the wee hours of the morning, I found a magical bodega (the same bodega that sold the $2.99 medjools) that had them on display in the front of the store, so I knew it was a sign.

IMG_8000

Inspired by Gina and Erin‘s jicama rice, I made some of my own out of daikon.  I don’t have my own food processor, so I just diced about 1/4 of the root as finely as I had the patience for.

IMG_8002

I laid out the ingredients for my cucumber avocado roll:

IMG_8003

I only used half of the length of this sheet of seaweed to make the roll, and used the rest to make little “wraps” with the leftover cucumbers and avocado.

IMG_8004

They turned out pretty well! With the rest of the avocado half, I made wrap with a Morningstar Farms Chik’n Patty and a Laughing Cow wedge.

IMG_8005

I doused the sandwich in mustard and (daintily, of course)  dipped my sushi in soy sauce.

IMG_8007

The daikon was a great addition! I didn’t miss the rice one bit.  Now, if only I had that food processor…

Now that I’ve finally stocked up on almond butter again (I haven’t bought a jar in almost two months!), I can enjoy my favorite dessert again! I had a dried date, fig, apricot and prune with a scoop of AB and some TJ’s truffle dark chocolate.

IMG_8009

I missed this.  Peanut butter is good on everything, but nothing beats an AB-stuffed medjool. Just how it is.

There’s a mindblowing amount of work to get done tomorrow, and I’m trying to get back on a semi-normal schedule, so I’m hoping to be sleeping by midnight.  Too much of a pipe dream?  What time do you go to bed and get up? How many hours of sleep do you usually get and if you take naps throughout the day, how long are they?

Bonne nuit 🙂

19 responses to “Seaweed Adventures

  1. Hey lovely lady!!!

    First of all, I want to say how guilty I have been feeling that my commenting department has been slacking in the blogworld. Just know I adore your blog and I will ALWAYS think of you as my pumpkin & tofu lover!!

    2nd of all, thank you so much for the shout out!!! Your nori rolls look SOO good, and I def. want to try daikon rice soon! or jicama! And i do have a food processor now that I’m back home, so I hope I can make something tasty!!

    glad you had a nice weekend and grocery shop!!

    so much love for lilveggiepatch always!!!!!!!

    take care Katie!!!
    ~GC

  2. love the nori rolls! the lines in TJ’s are always so long- I love the prices though and the employees are so cool 😀

    I go to bed around 10:30 and am up by 5 each day…no naps because I would end up staying up later and still wake up at 5 😦

  3. I loved GC’s post on seaweed and will definitely need to experiment, too!

    TJ’s truffle chocolate sounds delicious, I will have to check that out.

  4. Oh i love the nori wraps! I’ve got to remember to pick some up!

  5. Hey girlie. Mmmm egg white omelet – I haven’t had one in so long! Delicious. Glad you had such a nice weekend! I ❤ Tjs!!!!! I wish we lived near one (or actually I just wish they'd open one near where I live haha). I don't get enough sleep…I'm SO bad about it. There are weeks where I try and focus on it and I do well/feel better, but I can never stick to it! Durring the week I usually go to bed around 11 and I get up at 5. Weekends I usually get more like 7 hours/night. I just would like to push and get 7 hours at least every night…its just too hard!

  6. Trader Joe’s has crazy lines… which is why I hate going there. :p Have you really had a hard time finding PURE bars?? I see them everywhere.

    I haven’t made sushi in FOREVER… you’re making me want to do it again! 😉

    Officially, I go to bed at 10.30, because I get up at 5.00 and it takes me a while to fall asleep!! But I never seem to even get to bed before 11.00. Sad. I would LOVE to take naps, but then I’d really never fall asleep at night!

    Oh, BTW, if you happen to find yourself in the area, check out the window display at W Cafe on 5th and W. 36th. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  7. The Clean Plate Club!! My grandmother always used to say that.

    Awesome TJ’s haul. Ain’t nothing better.
    Hot sushi.

    I’m an 7.5-8.5 hours per night kind of girl, partly because naps and I REALLY don’t get along. These days, I’m usually sleeping from 11-7:30, which is pretty much perfect. I love going to bed early and getting up early.

  8. i usually sleep around 6-7 hours per day, but one time, i took benadryl around 11 in the morning (after waking up) and then slept again until 5 PM. it was crazy!

  9. Love the raw sushi! I recently made some with cauliflower rice and it was awesome!

  10. Glad you listened to your body and gave yourself a break!!

    Hooray for AB being back! A girl shouldn’t go that long without it!

    What time do you go to bed and get up? Fall asleep between 10 and 12 (usually around 11) and get up at 8
    How many hours of sleep do you usually get and if you take naps throughout the day, how long are they? No naps and about 7-9 hours of sleep

    That’s when insomnia is nonexistent of course 😉

  11. your dinner looks like it turned out fab! making your own sushi (-ish rolls!) is always so much fun.
    and i’m def with you on nut butter, it does go with everything!!!
    i dont think it is possible to leave trader joes without puffins/nut butter/dried fruit!!! at least i cant! :]

  12. Your sushi looks beautiful!!

    I usually get only about 6 hours of sleep, but I’m desperately trying to improve that. I find that I’m writing in the evenings and then I want to do stuff like watch movies, make dinner, watch baseball with my husband and, before I know it, it’s 11:30 and I still have to prep my food for the next day and get ready for bed!

    I think I need a personal organizer to keep me on track 🙂

  13. woah. Impressive sushi skillz girl, I have always thought that sushi was sooo intimidating to try to make!

    My sleep schedule lately has been all to hell! I am usually not tired enough to sleep until about 1 or 2 A.M. and then wake up around 9 or 10. But that is typical summer hours I guess.

    Hope your having a great day hun! ❤

  14. 45 minute wait at TJ’s? For reals? Good for you waiting it out – I woulda walked right out!

  15. theres like 75 things i identify with on this post. namely the “all or none” gym issue. im the same way…since when is 20 minutes of cardio a failure? i, too, want to work on that.

    im going to have to try that jicima rice soon.

  16. Your sushi looks great! I just bought a food processor and it was TOTALLY worth it. They have a cute mini cuisinart one at the Bed Bath and Beyond on 66th St that was only like 29 dollars. It is very small and would fit in any kitchen. BEST purchase of the year for me 🙂

  17. You, my love, have taught me that naps are a-okay. I usually don’t take them, but when I do I set the alarm for 20-30 minutes, which turns into an hour, at least 🙂 Whoopsies! Otherwise, I am naturally a late-to-bed, late-to-rise type of girl, and always have been.

  18. Love the grocery haul Katie!! I just picked up some tj’s med. hummus too, and I like it! It’s pretty much like sabra roasted garlic, but cheaper. 🙂

    And I usually get to bed between 12 and 2, wake up between 8 and 9:30!

  19. Pingback: Old Friends and Bloggers Unite at the Upwelling Record Release Show! « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

