Manic Monday At Home

It has been a long, long Monday.  I hope you’ve had a great start to your week… it should be a short one, no? Any exciting Fourth of July plans?

Last night, I was shocked when Ari took me up on my offer to make him a breakfast cookie. Brace yourself for some majuh cheez: I made His & Hers cookies and coffee (I used almond milk in mine, on the left… for some reason it doesn’t turn the coffee as creamy).

IMG_8011

As I mentioned last night, I had a LOT of reading to do today, so I packed myself up and headed into the city to work in a quieter spot.  When I got there, I was starting to get hungry again, and dug into the leftover rhubarb from over a week ago. It may have even been better today!

IMG_8012

I worked for a little while before breaking for lunch.  My parents have both been away and I didn’t know how stocked the house would be, so I brought my own food with me.  I had a can of Trader Joe’s Low Sodium Minestrone Soup:

IMG_8013

I also brought some fresh blubes with me:

IMG_8014

And a container of TJ’s Organic Greek Style Nonfat honey-flavored yogurt.

IMG_8016

Product Review: Trader Joe’s Organic Greek Style Nonfat Yogurt, Honey flavor

Nutrition facts, found here:

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 1 container (150g)


Amount per Serving

Calories 130 Calories from Fat 0

% Daily Value *
Total Fat 0g 0%
Saturated Fat  0g 0%
Cholesterol 5mg 2%
Sodium 45mg 2%
Potassium 215mg 6%
Total Carbohydrate 18g 6%
Dietary Fiber  0g 0%
Sugars  17g
Protein 13g 26%

Calcium 15%
Iron 4%

Est. Percent of Calories from:

Fat 0.0%     Carbs 55.4%
Protein 40.0%

Pros: The honey flavor was subtle and not overpowering, perfectly blended. The $1.19 price tag is pretty seductive, and it felt so good to go Greek again.

Cons: While it was creamy and thick, it wasn’t nearly as thick as Fage/ Chobani/ Oikos.

Would I buy this again? Yes. Again, the price is much better than the aforementioned Greeks.  Honey was the only flavor of this they had, but I’m curious to try the others. Overall, I’d give it a B+.

I ate topped the yogurt with blueberries, and ate the rest of the carton throughout the afternoon.  (My parents also had half a carton in the fridge, while I gobbled up, too… I don’t know what it is with me and finger-fruits, but once I pop I just can’t stop!)

IMG_8018

Product Review: Trader Joe’s Low Sodium Minestrone Soup

IMG_8019

Nutrition Facts (found here):
Serving Size: 1 can (10.75 oz)


Amount per Serving

Calories 200 Calories from Fat 35

% Daily Value *
Total Fat 4g 6%
Saturated Fat  0.5g 2%
Monounsaturated Fat  0g
Polyunsaturated Fat  0g
Trans Fat  0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 140mg 6%
Potassium 0mg 0%
Total Carbohydrate 37g 12%
Dietary Fiber  5g 20%
Sugars  6g
Protein 7 14%

Vitamin A 50%
Vitamin C 30%
Calcium 6%
Iron 15%

Est. Percent of Calories from:

Fat 18.0%     Carbs 74.0%
Protein 14.0%

Pros: I always have a hard time just eating half the can, so I liked how small this was.  It was hearty but not too filling, thick but still had enough flavor for me to taste each ingredient.

Cons: I ended up having to add salt and sriracha sauce to it, defeating the “low sodium” purpose.

Would I buy this again? Yes! It’s handy and portable, and didn’t weigh down my purse like a regular-sized (15-16 oz) can.

I spent the rest of the afternoon reading on the couch with Charley, who looks more like a mop than a poodle right now.  But ain’t he cute?

IMG_8020

I don’t know who perked up more when UPS dropped this package outside, but Charley and I made it to the door at the same time.  My PB2 arrived!

IMG_8022

I can’t wait to try this out.  Knowing I’d be carrying these in my bag tonight, I didn’t want to open the packages. I used some of our Co-Op crunchy peanut butter when I made my toasted PB&J snack instead.

IMG_8023

After working some more, I did something totally un-food related. I used Smooth Away! There have been ads all over for this recently so I figured I’d try it out.  It’s marketed as a “pain free” hair removal kit suitable for men and women alike.

IMG_8021

Product Review: Smooth Away

Each kit comes with:

  • 1 large applicator
  • 1 small applicator
  • 5 large replacement strips
  • 5 small replacement strips
  • travel case

Pros: You don’t have to get in the shower to use this (although you are supposed to wet your legs and then dry them first), so if you only have to shave your legs you don’t have to don’t have to go through with the whole shebang.  I’m also the person who still, after 10 years of shaving, nicks myself almost every time I use a razer. No risk of that with this!  Smooth Away also exfoliates dead skin cells; I have really dry legs which cause additional problems when I shave. After “smoothing,” my legs were smooth without any dry skin.

Cons: You can’t do this if you only have 10 minutes, because it takes a LONG time. You have to Smooth in patches, so it takes a while to make your way through each leg.

Would I buy this again? Yes, but I’ll probably keep a razor on hand anyway for when I’m in a rush.

When my parents got home from work, we went to Sura for dinner.  I started with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc:

IMG_8025

My dad got a tall glass of fresh lychee lemonade, which tasted like the cocktails in Berlin. So refreshing! I’m getting this next time.

IMG_8027

We ordered the appetizer sampler to share: Boston Lettuce Wraps with young ginger, shallot, roasted peanuts and toasted coconut; Coconut-Crusted Prawns with mixed greens and sweet chili sauce; and Virgin Summer Rolls with marinated tofu, carrot, jicama, glass noodles, sweet basil and horseradish peanut plum sauce.

IMG_8026

We split two entrées three ways- Jumbo prawns in rice vermicelli noodles with scallions and mushrooms:

IMG_8029

And a classic: Pad Thai with shrimp and tofu.  I haven’t had “real” Pad Thai in so long… it was worth it!

IMG_8030

I had a little of each dish…

IMG_8032

… and went back for another shrimp and a few Pad Thai noodles.

IMG_8033

For dessert, I had a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich at home.  It tasted like the freezer, but it was still good!

IMG_8034

My dad was nice enough to drive me home (for some reason I always end up with extra bags filled with stuff whenever I go home), and a little while after I got there, Ari’s sister brought over the newest member of our household:

IMG_8035

Yes, we now have a Slap Chop.  Prepare yourselves.

Tomorrow’s going to be a long day… I’m going to try to squeeze in a workout before my internship, but I have a feeling the Snooze button will get the better of me.  Thanks for all your input on sleep… as my mom pointed out, it seems like a lot of you get to bed early! Kudos, and I hope to join you in that schedule soon!

Bonne nuit 🙂

21 responses to “Manic Monday At Home

  1. What the nut is a Slap Chop?!? That sounds dangerous to me.

    Loved the His&Hers breakfast cookies. You’re such a cutie.

  2. Okay, I have NEVER heard of a Slap Chop either! That’s strange… Aw, tbis post makes me wish I had a Trader Joe’s. We’re moving though, so it won’t be long till I do. 🙂

  3. I saw the Slap Chop on You Tube. I’m sold.
    Vince promised that the Slap Chop will make life more exciting!!!!! Eeee!
    (And also said, “you’re gonna love my nuts.” lol and a half. …I’m 12.)

  4. ah, PB2! Mine is on the way! can’t wait to experiment (though currently leaning towards mixing it into milk and heating…a la hot PB!)

    your dad’s drink sounds delicious 🙂

    It’s 7:30am here…so 2:30am in NY- hope you are asleep!

  5. so many photos! love how you document so thoroughly!

  6. I want a slap chop!

    The $1.19 price is even better because it’s organic and the others are not – except oikos. Maybe if you toss the PB2 in there it will thicken up?

  7. OMG the slap chop!!! I love it! 🙂 I expect it’ll make future blog appearances!

    I have the same problem with almond milk in my coffee. The only milk that doesn’t seem to look “flakey” like that is soy (sometimes) and I’ve heard hemp milk is nice and creamy too.

    I love the ‘his’ and ‘hers’ breakfast cookies 🙂

  8. great TJs reviews! i always end up adding stuff to the low sodium varieties of soup too haha 🙂

    SO jealous of the PB2, i reeeeally need to try that — maybe after i kill the 6 jars of PB/almond butter in my kitchen right now! also loving all that delish thai food!

    hope you fit everything into your busy tuesday! have a good one 🙂

  9. The 4th is my birthday!!! 😀

    I agree 100% with your TJs Greek review! It wasn’t nearly as creamy at all! Hooray for the PB2! I hope you like it!!

    That dinner looks amazing and I hope you like the slap chop! We used to have one but I don’t know what happened to it!

  10. I think I really must get myself some PB2. :p

    I have something like the Slap Chop… but as is the case with many of my cool appliances / gadgets, I don’t use it that much because I hate washing it!!

    ❤ ❤

  11. Ooo I’ve wanted to try Sura now for awhile (it’s pretty close to my school). After seeing your dishes I will definitely be trying it soon!

  12. gina (fitnessista)

    hey! thanks for the link love my friend- the his and hers bfast cookies are so cute!
    i love skinny cow ice cream sandwiches, but you’re totally right…they absorb the taste of the freezer!
    thanks for the reviews 😀
    have a great day!

  13. Great product reviews, I have seen the info-mercials on that shaving thing and thought there was no way it would work! haha.

    Looks like you had a great dinner. And that is awesome that you got Ari to try the breakfast cookie, he was so missing out before.

  14. my sister bought smooth away and I laughed at her for it. then, when she wasn’t looking I half-ass tried it—I just sort of rubbed it in a circle on my leg once, nothing happened, and I gave up and declared it BS. I guess I probably should have actually read the directions and done it longer. Oh well, live and learn, right?

    Those cookies are too cute. As is Charley.

    Fun 4th of July plans? Ummm DUH, New York Citayyyyyyy. Can’t freaking wait!

  15. For some reason TJ’s greek yogurt is never as thick/creamy as chobani or fage. oh well.

    fourth of july plans = d.c with my dad and watching fireworks on the roof of his hotel. WOOOT!

  16. so jealous of all the TJs goodies! we don’t have one here, so I live vicariously through all these bloggers 🙂

    I love that you decorated the bfast cookies!

  17. I’ve had the same issue with non-dairy milks in my coffee – they don’t get it creamy enough. But I recently tried hemp milk and I think I’ve found the solution. Only drawback is that it settles so re-stirring every few minutes is necessary. I like it a lot, though, and it’s not SOOOO expensive if you only allow yourself to use it in coffee, nowhere else! 😉

  18. Thanks for the product reviews!

  19. Yay 4th of July! I’ve got 4th of july family traditions up the wazoo, which should make for an interesting post in the coming week.

    Love the his and hers cookies! I have yet to make anyone in my life a breakfast cookie, but maybe I shoudl try and convert them.

    Mad jealous of your PB2.

  20. does smooth away last just as long? or longer than shaving?

  21. homegirlcaneat

    I need to get me some pb2… everyone in the blog world has it and I WANT IT! Espesh the chocolate one.

    And I haven’t made a bfast cookie before…what am I doing with my life?!?!

    Oh ya, drinking too much brew. Haaaay

Leave a Reply

