The best part of waking up…

Good morning and happy Thursday! It’s going to be a great day… I have some fabulous breakfast plans (with someone you know and love), and tomorrow I’m leaving for vacation! I’m going to be spending a week in Michigan with my family and friends… it’s seriously one of the best parts of the year, so stay tuned!

Yesterday I had a big bowl of Greek yogurt with 2 tbsp PB2, 1 tbsp wheat germ, and TJ’s Mangolicious.

IMG_8051

All blended and creamy, with some coffee:

IMG_8053

I  went into the city to go to the gym before meeting Greg for lunch. I did 10 minutes on the stairs, arms, and 1.3 miles on the treadmill.  I was going to do abs, but the mats were all taken up and the one ab machine was in use. Boo!

I met Greg for lunch at Metro Diner.  I got a veggie burger… it’s one of the best I’ve ever had. It’s a mixture of lentils, veggies and spices, and is seriously the biggest patty you’ve ever seen.  This picture doesn’t really show it, it’s about an inch thick!

IMG_8058

The fries were a mistake with my order… I’m not a huge fry fan (and they’re an extra $2.95… I’m poor!) so I left them.  The only way to eat the burger is with a fork, and by the time I was done I realized I’d only eaten 1/4 of the bun. These burgers are so filling but so good.

After lunch, I went to sleep at my/my parents’ house for an hour.  Sad, but I was that tired.  Good thing I was there, because this box of Late July cookies was waiting for me on my doorstep when I awoke!

IMG_8059

On my way to work, I picked up a big tub of fruit salad.  You can get pretty good quality fruit on the street for a great price! This was .75 lbs for $2.50.

IMG_8060

At work, I snacked on a Full Bar (product review to come ASAP).

IMG_8054

At work, I also had an iced skim latté and a cup of strawberry kiwi non-dairy, fat-free yogurt from 16 Handles that my friend Howard brought me.  It was pretty, but I couldn’t take a photo so you’ll have to use your imagination!

For dinner, I had mixed greens with shrimp.  I guess Ramon is getting bold… these were right out in the open!

IMG_8061

I was still hungry, so I had the last half of my PB Cookie Luna bar on the cab ride home.

IMG_8062

This morning, I woke up early for a run. Before I left, I had a flattened banana w/ almond butter. Best. Combo. Ever.

IMG_8063

My HRM didn’t work AT ALL, but I probably went about 2 miles.  I love starting the day with a run… it doesn’t take up time during my day, I don’t have to lug my gym bag around, and it leaves me feeling so energized.

Anyway, off to that breakfast date! Have a great day 🙂

16 responses to “The best part of waking up…

  1. I loooove mangolicious! that looks like a great combo!

  2. LOVE the Greek yog/PB2 combo! It’s so tasty 🙂 Cookies on your doorstep? That’s a nice delivery!

    YAY you’re coming to your hippie town in BFE, MI!!

  3. oh my goodness that veggie burg! so thick and delish! that sounded questionable but you know what i mean =)

    when i lived in NYC last summer i was OBSESSED with 16 handles!!!! so jealous right now!

    have a faaab time in michigan, cant wait to hear all about it!

  4. …isn’t it the Folger’s in your cup?! ;p

    ❤ ❤

  5. Flattened banana?! Neat. Leave it to TJ’s to come up with awesome stuff like that.
    I love mondo veggie burgers! That one looks great.
    I hope you have fun in Michigan!

  6. Metro Diner make mean burgers- Gigi’s veggie burger is also surprisingly good! I LOVE TJ’s bananas 🙂

    Enjoy your breakfast date (diner with Ari?!) and have a great vacation!

  7. gotta love a thick juicy veggie burger right?! it’s gotta be a little crispy on the outside for me too!

    sorry bout your hrm not working. bummerrrr 😦

    gosh, i wish I could afford greek yogurt!! parents say my veggies are already too much moolah!!!

    excited for your Full bar review.

    Love you KATIE! come visit ________(my city) soon. You will fall in love!

  8. Starting the day with a run is the best! Always makes my day.

    Those flattened bananas looked kinda rad. They aren’t sweetened, are they?

    Have a fun vacation!

  9. the best p[art of waking up…is starbucks in your cup. now im gonna have that folgers commercial in my head all day! haha.

    nice AM gymage my love. ive never heard of metro diner! eek! i feel so out of the loop bc that veggie burger looks soopah good! mmm lentils and veggies and spices oh my!

    flattened nanners with nutbutter!!! WOWZA!

  10. Look at all those samples! I am so jealous.

    and…
    GREG!!!! I mees him.

  11. That veggie burger looks delish! Metro Diner is so awesome, I love their waffle topped with yogurt.

  12. Oh man, I’m going to have to investigate this Metro Diner – I’m so picky about veggie burgers when I’m in a restaurant, because I don’t want to pay someone else to broil up any old Gardenburger! I looooove the really good handmade ones, but sadly they’re pretty rare. Yours looked perfect!

    Have so much fun on your trip. 🙂 I’m going away next week too – yes!

  13. Kinda jealous of your collection of Late Julys!

  14. homegirlcaneat

    Jealousy errupts over that veggie burger. And your pb2 stash. Homegirl needs both!

  15. Ok, so if you love those tj’s flattened bananas….then I need to try them!! And rolled up with almond butter??!! Mmmmm..sounds delish.

    And that veggie burger sounds amazingggg, i just LOVE dense, chewy burgers! Sometimes the bun takes away from all it’s goodness, don’t ya agree!? 😉

  16. Pingback: Are you there, bandwidth? It’s me, Katie. « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

