Bloodsuckers

Good morning, boys and girls! I hope your holiday weekends were relaxing and fun (if those two things go together in your life :-).  My week is going wonderfully so far… with the small exception that the mesquitoes are out of control this year!  I have bug bites in places that never see the sun, bug bites on my ear, in my hair… it stinks!  But, it’s a small price to pay for a week on the beach.

The last two days have been a lot of fun: we’ve been catching up with people (there are between 40 and 60 here each day) we haven’t seen in a year, lounging, cooking… The way we do things here is each night, one “cooking crew” makes dinner for the rest of us.  It takes a lot of work, obviously, to plan, cook, and feed for so many people, but we always have delicious, restaurant-quality food.

The first night is more of a pot-luck, so we had a Middle Eastern platter with hummus, pita, tabouleh, baba ganoush, pita, etc.

IMG_8119

I also had a mixed greens salad and an orzo salad with cheese, tomatoes and olives.  This is so good!

IMG_8122

Desserts abounded, including my Aunt Mary’s famous chocolate chip cookies:

IMG_8123

Brownies, chocolate chip blondies, and lemon squares:

IMG_8124

There are also some 7-layer / Magic bars floating around here, but if they didn’t get caught on camera…

We found bottom-shelf vodka to make cocktails to bring to the beach to watch the fireworks:

IMG_8121

Jenny + Marina:

IMG_8126

We sat on the beach watching the fireworks for hours… unfortunately my camera isn’t sophisticated enough to show you how beautiful it was.

IMG_8127

For breakfast yesterday, I had a bowl of Wheaties + Honey Nut Cheerios with 1/2 a banana and skim milk.

IMG_8130

We went upstairs to have lunch and cool off: leftover orzo (this will be the death of me, I swear!) and tuna salad.  I ate them “wrap style” by rolling the salads up in tomato slices and lettuce weaves.

IMG_8134

I had fresh grapes and blubes from the farmers market for dessert.

IMG_8137

My dad got quite the haul at the Market… he brought this Super Charge Me-style oatmeal cookie for our cabin.  I only had a nibble, but it was pretty delicious! I see its future as “oatmeal future” in the near future…

IMG_8138

In the afternoon, Judy and I went for a nice run to look at the houses.  We did about 2.5 miles (my HRM was out of it’s mind, AGAIN… Polar, expect a call from me today), and although it was pretty hot outside we ran in the shade and it was just perfect.  I cranked out some 8 minute abs when I came back, then had a nice Red, White & Blue Parfait with Oikos nonfat Greek  yogurt, blueberries, raspberries and a touch of brown sugar.

IMG_8142

After showering and making myself presentable, I stumbled upon Bere, my 12 year old cousin, cleaning a Corona bottle.  Bere took over Jenny and my job of saving all the bottles and cans and collecting them for deposit (we go through quite a few of these over the week…), but I might have to convince him that we need the money more than he does!

IMG_8143

During the cocktail hour, I had a cheese plate with Manchego (my favorite!), Havarti, Blue, and Brie. I also had a piece of bread, a couple crackers and olives.

IMG_8146

I also had a Shiner beer, which was very yeasty.  It’s partly my fault for not following the directions and pouring half the beer out into a glass, swirling the rest in the bottle, and pouring it into the glass… but who wants to do that when they’re just trying to chillax with a brew? Hmpf.

IMG_8147

George was the cooking crew leader last night and prepared a Mexican meal of Roasted Chicken, Red & Black Beans, Rice, and Tomato Salad.  He was nice enough to make me a pot of vegetarian black beans, so I ate them with rice and about 20 tomatoes.

IMG_8150

For dessert, we had vanilla ice cream and blueberries.

IMG_8155

As I’ve said, I’m not going to be documenting everything here… I want to be able to enjoy my vacation, obviously, but I’ll also be finding a healthy balance by continuing to blog and maintain my exercise regime.

IMG_8156

Today, July 6, is Mama Veggie Patch (MVP)’s birthday, so some festivities will ensue.

Enjoy your weeks!

13 responses to “Bloodsuckers

  1. Happy birthday Mama Veggie Patch!

    Looks like a lot of fun- glad you are enjoying yourself! Your cousin is too cute cleaning the beer bottle (you sure he wasn’t drinking it and pretended to clean when you walked in? 😉 )

  2. Happy Birthday, Susan!!!

  3. Happy birthday to your mom!

    Sounds like you’re having a good time; minus the mosquitoes! Those things LOVE me. Obviously, the feeling isn’t mutual. But in case you were wondering, expired Benadryl cream is remarkably effective. 😉

    I love the red-white-and-blue parfait — so pretty! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  4. makingmymove

    what an awesome vacation so far! looks like you’re taking it all in and eating it all up, i love it! and ew i feel ya on the mosquitos, i’m scratching like mad right now too.

    happy birthday to your momma and enjoy the rest of your time there! 🙂 and YES to a shopping date in the city upon your return!

  5. I hope you had a great time with your Popov’s and plenty of red, white, and blue eats!

    Enjoy your vacation and don’t stress about blogging. Have fun – you deserve it!

  6. Katie! I’m drooooling over that middle eastern-themed plate!! Tabouli is probably my favorite thing, ever!! Luckily, my dad always has some stocked from Whole Food’s!

    It looks like you’re having a great time, and I hope you can relax and just enjoy the company! Don’t worry about blogging, just give us a primeeee hummus or peanut butter shot and we’ll be happy! 😉

  7. Oh God, Popov….that stuff is tough!! I’m having flashbacks to high school 😉 Shiner reminds me of Shock Top – I grabbed a bottle of it and when I saw it had directions on how to drink it, I was like ‘eff this!

    If my camping foods looked like that, I think I’d go camping all the time! YUM!! You guys have to have some MI sweet corn – it’s great right now 🙂

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAMA VEGGIE PATCH!!!

  8. That sounds like a pretty great weekend!

    Thanks for sharing the eats and pics!

  9. That vacation looks like a blast so far! Happy birthday to your Madre:)

  10. happy birthday 🙂

    sounds like a great vacation so far! love the eats!

  11. Ohhhhhh funnnnn. It looks like you all are having a great time! Will they let you be leader of the cooking crew? I can’t wait to see what LVP stirs up!

    Happy Birthday, Mama! Really–say hi for me!

  12. Looks/sounds like such a fun vacation so far!

    Happy birthday MVP 🙂

  13. happy bday momz.

    is that really what youre supposed to do with that beer?! hmph indeed!

Leave a Reply

