Bite Into A Legend!

Good evening and happy Friday! I hope you’ve had a spectacular few days.  I’m sorry I’ve been so absent, but I really needed this vacation! I’ve put together a little montage of some of the yummy eats and treats I’ve gotten into, so I hope you enjoy!

A few nights ago, our “cooking crew” was responsible for feeding 35-55 hungry mouths (people come and go a lot, so the number isn’t consistent).  Jenny and I were in charge of making this beet and walnut salad:

IMG_8197

I don’t have the exact recipe, but we marinated the beets in herbs and olive oil, stuffed them in endive leaves, and topped each piece with feta, roasted walnuts and chives.

We also had a Caprese salad with mozzarella, tomato, basil and balsamic vinegar:

IMG_8196

In keeping with the night’s Southern theme, we served Tennessee Tea (Jack Daniels, lemonade & iced tea).

IMG_8199

The main event was shrimp & grits.

5255_934961003559_6820916_52293730_5041142_n

I had a special batch of vegetarian grits, salad and bread.

IMG_8200

Jenny and I were also in charge of dessert, so we made a quick and easy peach crumble:

IMG_8190

We also made two strawberry blueberry crumbles.

IMG_8193

For each pie, mix:

  • 4 bags frozen fruit
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

For topping:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Combine ingredients for pie filling and toss.  Pour into baking pan. For topping, melt butter and stir in oats, sugar and cinnamon. With a spoon or fingers, sprinkle evenly across pie filling.  Bake at 350 40-50 minutes.

Serves 15-20. (For a normal size pie, halve the ingredients.)

I enjoyed a small scoop of each with some Stonyfield Farms Nonfat Vanilla Fudge Swirl frozen yogurt.

IMG_8201

Another tasty appetizer we’ve enjoyed this week was this grilled Caprese pizzaTo save time, we used store-bought dough, brushed it with olive oil and topped that with tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. If you have access to a grill, I really suggest trying this out… grilling makes for a great smokey flavor!

IMG_8219

We also had a fantastic homemade olive tapenade:

IMG_8221

Jenny’s brother came out for the day, so we gathered a crew and headed over to Redamak’s, a burger joint we all have to go to at least once a trip.

IMG_8205

The menu is pretty meat-heavy, and items listed under “The Lighter Side” were things like Eggplant Parmesan…

IMG_8202

They didn’t have wheat bread, tomatoes, or lettuce, so I just got a grilled Swiss cheese sandwich.  The fries were nothing to write home about, so I only had a couple of those. It’s a pretty bare-bones place, but it’s kind of an institution around here so I couldn’t turn it down.

IMG_8204

For the belly-bomber dessert, we went out for ice cream.  I’ve now gone to Oink’s three times… I notice new trinkets each time.

IMG_8207

This afternoon after Jenny and I hit up the outlet malls (I got some swanky jeans marked down from $115 to $7… I’m pretty sure I can smell bargains from miles away) my dad took us to Froehlich’s for lunch.

IMG_8227

Every morning, my dad drives to Three Oaks, a town a few miles away, for fresh Peasant Bread.  It hardly has time to get cold… this bread is so good! Froehlich’s sells a lot of cute dishes, cooking trinkets and amazing homemade jams.  (I restrained myself, somehow, and only left with a tin of smoked oysters.)

IMG_8226

I had a salad with peppers, tomatoes, carrots, cheddar, and hummus (which I probably ate half of).

IMG_8228

They also make amazing Rosemary Flat Bread, which I just can’t get enough of.

IMG_8229

Other fun things…

I was excited to try these 64-calorie MGDs… alas, they taste like seltzer.

IMG_8209

The white cherries are amazing. I’ve eaten a lot of those…

IMG_8213

I’ve gotten foot rubs from my cousin… do you know any other 12-year old boy who would do that?

IMG_8210

Gone out for a deli-style tuna salad lunch…

IMG_8215

At said deli, we found Three Thieves wine, in a handy and portable juice-box size.  Jenny got Sangria; I got Pinot Grigio.  Not bad! Just remember to chill it first :

IMG_8218

My friend Daniel and I walked into a corner store today, and the owner was so taken with Daniel that he gave him a free bacon bun.

IMG_8232

“The first one is on on me, but after that you have to get your own!”

IMG_8233

Yummy yummy.

IMG_8234

I guess he liked the bun.

I’m going home tomorrow, so regular blogging will continue after the weekend.  In the meantime, thank you for your continued understanding… I’ll be a good friend again in a couple days, I promise!

8 responses to “Bite Into A Legend!

  1. Looks like fun! Ah, you have your 12 year old cousin well trained 😉 lol. Hmm- southern tea sounds more appealing right now than my English breakfast 😛

  2. It looks like you have been having a great trip! Have a safe trip home 🙂

  3. OMG! My mom and stepdad take a trip up to the boundary waters every year, and no matter where they’re starting their canoe trip, they make sure to hit up Redamax! How funny!

  4. Haha this, “They didn’t have wheat bread, tomatoes, or lettuce” made me go, “YEP! That’s MI :D”

    Your camping foods look so much more decadent than what I’m used to! YUM!! Have a safe trip home – I hope you enjoyed your time in the Mitt!

  5. Mmmm everything looks AMAZING! Your salads are totally gorgeous. Send me exactly what you did with those beets, because lord knows I will soon be eating a lot of them! Hope vacay was fun–sure looks it… Happy trails!

  6. wow that is one huge glob of hummus! looks delicious 🙂 so does the caprese salad!

  7. That beet & walnut salad sounds amazing Katie!! It looks like you’ve been eaten some good stuff for having fewer options!!!! You know I love that salad with the glob of hummus on top too! And don’t apologize for enjoying your summer, you are still givin’ us recaps every few days so it’s alllll good! 😀

  8. Glad you’re having a good vacation!! 🙂 Foot rubs included. 😉

    ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

