I’m On The Hunt I’m After You…

hawks6

[Image Source]

Duran Duran or vampire fans fans in the house? I guess “werewolves” would be more appropriate, but Sarah‘s been raving about True Blood recently, and I’ve been watching in spurts.  Good thing I don’t have schoolwork to be distracted from!

Yesterday we slept late, and by the time we got up and out, it was 1 PM.  We decided to go to Brick, a nice bistro in Astoria, for brunch.

Ari and I enjoyed quite a bit of coffee (and I’ll probably get in trouble for posting this and the next photo of him… he wasn’t so pleased with them):

IMG_8251

We split an order of bruschetta to start; I had one piece of toast and added a little olive tapenade (not pictured) to it.

IMG_8252

We each ordered the special omelet (subbed with egg whites): zucchini, tomato, and smoked mozzarella.  There was a little too much cheese for my liking, so I just pulled some of it out and ate the rest.

IMG_8253

After brunch, we happened upon a street fair.  We were full, but fresh watermelon sounded pretty tasty so we split a cup.

IMG_8254

We spent the rest of the afternoon exploring and wandered into Astoria Park.  I’m glad we went; it was a beautiful day and it’ll be a prime picnic spot in the future.  We ended up walking somewhere between 3 and 5 miles in high heat, so we definitely got our exercise in.

IMG_8256

On the way home, we happened upon a really cute coffee shop that serves interesting drinks (watermelon blended with chardonnay), has WiFi, and has live music at night.  I wish I’d taken down the name and address, but I’m sure we’ll be able to find it again.

I got an iced coffee with skim milk and one packet of Sugar In The Raw:

IMG_8258

After doing a little cleaning when we got home, I was starting to get hungry so I had a Granny Smith Apple with chocolate PB2.

IMG_8261

Then I did some work, caught up on some blog reading, and before I knew it I was so hungry I could have eaten every one in the house.  Luckily, no one was home, so I had a pickle instead.

IMG_8263

I was still starving, so I made a quick and easy stir-fry with ingredients we already had.  I used 1/2 block extra firm tofu, 1/2 bag “Asian blend” frozen veggies (green beans, mushrooms, water chestnuts & broccoli), garlic, ginger powder, sesame oil, light soy sauce, srirachi sauce and a little cooking spray.  I served it over Trader Joe’s Multigrain Pilaf (the TJ — cheaper— version of Kashi’s Moroccan Pilaf).

IMG_8264

I was also having The Vegetarian’s Dilemma (tofu or hummus? hummus or tofu?) so I had a glob of hum with some stale crackers on the side.

IMG_8267

For dessert, I had my Old Faithful: dried fruit (dates, prune, apricots) with almond butter and some dark chocolate (from Germany, pepper- flavored)

IMG_8271

I spent the evening watching To Have and Have Not, a film that I discovered is none other than one of our very own Veggie Girl’s (AKA Liz) favorites!  It was wonderful.

Well, I’m off to get my booty to the gym, try to socialize, and do some work.  Hope your week is off to a great start!

Around the blogs:

Gina is giving away a cookbook by Sarma Melngailis (the founder and co-founder of One Lucky Duck and Pure Food and Wine)!

An Apple A Day is giving away Crofter’s fruit spread!

17 responses to “I’m On The Hunt I’m After You…

  1. so you go from wanting to eat people in your house to a vegetarian debate? how does that work? 😛 Kidding 😉 I have only been to Queens once (!) but it’s on my list to explore next trip…Panera 😛

    Have a great Monday!

  2. holy smilie overload, batman!

  3. HOORAY!! Thank you for the shout-out, for loving that film, and for watching True Blood 😀

  4. Those used to be my FAVORITE pickles… I haven’t had a pickle in forever!

    ❤ ❤

  5. OMG street fairs in NYC are the best! I have gotten some of the funnest jewelry and snackies. Best way to spend a weekend!

  6. You should never have to choose between tofu and hummus – glad you had both 🙂

    You and Ari are looking cute! No surprise there!

  7. cutest couple everrrrr

  8. true blood! LOVE !!!!

    you guys are adorable.

    hummus vs tofu = debate of my LIFE!!! haha

  9. I would have picked the hummus too 🙂

    Love pickles! I don’t really get food cravings but every once in a while I just NEED a pickle. …hm, that sounds kinda funny…

    Have a great day!

  10. I love you both! So cute.

  11. Hummus has been my protein of choice this summer, although tofu has been making a bit of a comeback. I’ve recently remembered my old friend seitan too, so now I’ve got way more things to think about when it’s time to eat!

  12. I say get the best of both worlds and slap some of that hummus on some tofu!

    Looks like a gorgeous day. Let’s hear it for some East Coast sun. It’s about freakin’ time.

    Sign me up for a chardonnay-watermelon drink, si’l vous plait!

  13. I just love your dessert plate! It looks so delicious 🙂

  14. I just love that hot sauce from tj’s! It’s so great in stir-frys!

    You and Ari are so cute….loved the posed “couples” pic, and I love your traditional omelet breakfasts’ !! Sometimes an omelete is best without adding cheese but instead some feta cheese and/or avocado on top!

    And your dessert plate sounds delicious right now, I was CRAVING some serious chocolate tonight…but my mom had just finished off the last square of my newman’s stash!

  15. I love that song. Have you seen the video?! It is just sooo typically 80s and awesome!

    Looks like you guys had a great day and really did get that workout in!

  16. Pingback: Mangoes & Lemonade « Lilveggiepatch

  17. oh i just got sooooo nostalgic – my hubby and i used to go to brick when we lived in astoria for seven years; i remember when it was first opening up. and of course, we would walk our dog to the park almost every day….such fond memories…

Leave a Reply

