Mangoes & Lemonade

Sounds like summer, hmm? As much as I love squash and the like, I’m going to be sad when summer’s fruits and vegetables are no longer.  Maybe I should pick up canning!

Sorry for disappearing yesterday… somehow the hours just got away from me.  It was a beautiful day, though, so I’m not going to complain about it.  What I will moan about a little, however, is that my camera is dying.  Crucial functions are no longer working, so the photo quality is pretty crummy.  Guess I’ll be picking up some more shifts at the restaurant…

For breakfast yesterday, I made breakfast cookies for me and Ari.

IMG_8269

Ari’s was made according to the usual method, but I experimented with mine a little bit.

IMG_8270

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 tbsp PB2
  • 2 T almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (I just bought a new kind, vanilla-flavored Designer Whey… not what I wanted, but it was on sale)
  • toppings: cinnamon, 1/2 peach

After fumbling around on the computer for an embarrassingly long time, I headed down to the gym.  I did 16 minutes on the stairs at level 10 (whew!), arms, 3 minutes of running at 6.5 and 9 minutes walking at 4.0 at a 4% incline, and abs.

Total time: 58:05 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 191 (96%)

Average heart rate: 155 (78%)

Calories burned: 551

On the way out of the gym, I snacked on an apple:

IMG_8272

I had some things to pick up chez maman et papa (read: magazines), so I brought my leftover stir-fry uptown and heated it up with a scoop of Thai red curry paste:

IMG_8273

To rehydrate the veggies and keep them from sticking the pan, I added a couple tablespoons of skim milk and the last of the bag of Trader Joe’s Multigrain Pilaf.

IMG_8274

I’ve been so thirsty lately, so I had about a gallon of water (with said reading material):

IMG_8276

For dessert, I had a mango with a little sea salt:

IMG_8280

A little later, I met up with my Greg at Starbucks.  I got a Grande Unsweetened Passion Tea Lemonade and sucked it down pretty fast on a stoop.

IMG_8281

I had a lot of reading to do and limited time, so after leaving Greg I went home to get some work done.  Midway through, I broke for a quick dinner: spinach with salsa, hummus, a Laughing Cow wedge, grapes, and a chik’n patty.  Is it weird that fake chicken is one of my favorite things to eat?

IMG_8284

For dessert, I had dried fruit, dark chocolate, and almond butter.  One day I’ll change, but that day is not today.

IMG_8285

We tried to watch a movie and go to bed early, but Ari’s having some wisdom teeth issues and I’m still an insomniac, so morning came waaaay too early.  I had every intention of getting up to run- and I even did get out of bed and put on my gym clothes- but my eyes were burning and I just couldn’t get myself out the door.  Tomorrow is another day.

We went to the diner for breakfast… A was looking pretty unhappy because of his teethies so I was nice and didn’t photograph him this time.

IMG_8288

Our omelets (egg whites with spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes and feta) took a while to come out, so I ate it in 5 minutes flat so I wouldn’t be late to work.  Oof.

IMG_8289

I also inhaled some buttery whole wheat toast on my way out the door.

IMG_8292

IMG_8298

IMG_8300

I stopped at a bakery on the way to work and picked up a seeded roll to eat the oysters with.

IMG_8302

A while ago I won one of Erica‘s contests, and she sent me PeTA’s Vegan College Cookbook.  I vaguely remembered a pickle/chickpea salad (and I think Erin made something similar a while back), so I whipped up one of my own.  It was pretty good, although not the most aesthetically pleasing things:

IMG_8299

  • 6 oz plain Chobani Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 can chickpeas
  • 1 BIG garlic dill pickle
  • two shakes cumin
  • two shakes rice wine vinegar

I ended up only eating a few bites of oysters and half the roll, but I scarfed down the salad and apple.

IMG_8301

Later on, I snacked on a Chocolate Brownie PURE bar.

IMG_8293

IMG_8295

IMG_8296

IMG_8304

IMG_8306

Nutrition facts can be found here.

Pros: Dense dark chocolatey taste, with walnutty hunks.  Very fudgy, like a “real” brownie.

Cons: Like Larabars, it’s a little high in calories to use as an end-of-the-meal treat.

Would I buy this again? Yes, for a satisfying chocolate fix.  However, I’m still having a hard time tracking these down and have only found them in one Trader Joe’s.

After work, I met up with Caitlin for coffee.  We went to Third Rail, a coffee shop in the West Village that’s only been open for 11 days.  I got an iced coffee with skim milk and sugar in the raw:

IMG_8307

After a lot of window shopping (and sighing), we stopped at Caitlin’s for a pit stop, where she kindly fed me a banana.

IMG_8309

After leaving her house, I went to McNally Jackson Books for a reading from Heavy Roation, a collection of essays of authors reminiscnces of records that changed their lives.  Each story was accompanied by the song featured in it, the highlight of which was a cover of the Jackson 5’s “I Want You Back.” You’d be amazed how high the [male] singer could sing!

The reading didn’t end until 8:30, by which point I was beyond ravenous.  I raced home and grilled a wrap with spinach, pepper jack, hummus and a Morningstar Farms Mushroom Lovers Burger.

IMG_8310

I ate it with a side of more spinach dressed in rice wine vinegar and sesame oil.  I ate it all fast, standing over the sink, like Diane Lane in Must Love Dogs.  Yep.

IMG_8314

Dessert was the same as last night (scroll up), but I was really craving some Tasti D.  Maybe tomorrow.

Off to bed.  Hope you had a great Tuesday!

14 responses to “Mangoes & Lemonade

  1. I actually really like fake chicken- especially quorn products. I still eat regular chicken but the texture seems weird to me after so much quorn!

    RE Jay Robb: yeah, he’s actually not my kinda guy…but looking at what’s on the front of the freaky tub of powder I bought, he is HOT in comparison!

    Hear you on summer fruit/veggies- though I am looking forward to apple and pumpkin season!

  2. I loved how moist/chewy the PURE bar was!
    ohh and that rice stirfry looks amazing!

  3. I know! I’m going to be so sad when summer produce season is over, and we move back to root vegetables. Speaking of summer, your starbucks ice tea looks like it should be in a magazine photo spread on “summer in the city” or something.

    I hope Ari’s teeth feel better soon!

  4. gina (fitnessista)

    whoa so much good stuff in this post– especially those bfast cookies 😀
    that curry paste is AWESOME! so good with shrimp 🙂
    hope you have a wonderful day!

  5. Better fake chicken than real chicken, if you ask me. 😉

    My extreme sympathies for Ari’s wisdom teeth issues!!!

    ❤ ❤

  6. 16 minutes on the climber?! That’s 15 minutes longer than I would have lasted 😉 I hate that evil, evil machine!

    I was eagerly anticipating that toast picture! I love it!! Since I’m a mushroom lover do you think those mushroom burgers would be a good addition to my daily eats?

  7. All of your eats look great! I’m not a huge fan of the Pure Bars either, though I’ve only tried the Cherry one. We must have a Grom date soon!

  8. TOTALLY agree…Im gonna miss those summer fruits when summer is over. They are just one of my fave things about the summer!

  9. I love your dessert plates! Still have yet to try the breakfast cookie. One of these days…

  10. i don’t even know where to start – chock full o’ good stuff in this post. mango + sea salt? i will def have to try that!

  11. Starbuck’s Passion Fruit Tea is my fave! Your pilaf looks great, too 🙂

  12. Aw, I hope Ari recovers soon – I remember getting the wisdom teeth out all too well. I looked like a huge chipmunk for days! Couldn’t open my mouth much either. Blah.

  13. Too much good food in this post! I always love your dessert plates, have you found a dark chocolate that is your absolute FAVORITE!? In my opinion, newman’s orange dark chocolate is the best!

    And nooo, you are not alone….i’m in LOVE with fake meat! hahaha…. 🙂

  14. “I Want You Back” is one of my most favorite songs ever. Ever! I should write that essay… 🙂

Leave a Reply

