C’est la Vie

(I was actually looking for the Spice Girls version of this song, but maybe you’ll respect me a little more this way.)

I’m so sorry for disappearing for so long.  My schedule has been pretty strange recently, and these are the first minutes I’ve had to myself in days!  I’ve missed you 🙂

Wednesday night, after my dessert plate and toothbrush, I was up late finishing my book and got hungry again.  I had some dried fruit (cherries, apricots, prune) and almonds:

IMG_8335

After another fitful night of sleep, I woke up and went with Ari to the deli for breakfast.  I wasn’t really in breakfast mode yet, so I just got a tower of fruit salad.

IMG_8336

Ari went the bagel way.

IMG_8337

A little later, I dragged myself out the door for a run.  I really wasn’t in the mood: my body was heavy, my feet felt clunky, and my brain just wasn’t there.  I ended up turning around and only running about 1 mile.

When I got back, I had a big bowl of Puffins with crushed walnuts and almond milk:

IMG_8338

When I got into the city, I went to the Whole Foods salad bar for lunch, which I haven’t treated myself to in a long time.

IMG_8340

  • mixed greens
  • jicama mango salad
  • broccoli
  • baked tofu
  • minted tomatoes
  • seaweed salad
  • mandarin orange tofu salad

It was a winning combination.  There were five or six items in the bar that contained mint, which is an herb I rarely use.  I really should! It’s so summery, and adds a festive feel to food and drinks (read: mojitos!). I’ll work on this.

I finally had one of the Monster Cookies that Sarah has been raving about all this time.  It’s sort of like a Super-Charge Me Cookie: peanut butter, dark chocolate, coconut… mmm.  It was supposed to be a “Get excited for your work week!” cookie, and it worked pretty well.

IMG_8343

During work, I snacked on an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna bar:

IMG_8344

Ramon made me one of the night’s special salads for dinner: mixed greens with avocado, apple, tomatoes, walnuts, and goat cheese, mixed with a light lemon vinaigrette.  Seriously yummy.

IMG_8345

Work was bad.  Luckily I work with a lot of really great people, but the customers were just… weird.  There were several “altercations” at the restaurant and near tears (not mine), but my friend Howard made up for it by bringing by some pastries from  Black Hound Bakery .  Mine was a fruit tart  filled with lemon custard and topped with blackberries, raspberries and blueberries.  I was planning on digging into it on the cab ride home (which I justified by staying an extra 20 minutes at work to make the fare), but the car ended up getting stuck in traffic for 30 minutes and then BREAKING DOWN, and by the time I’d taken cab #2 home, I was too stressed out about having spent $30 on transportation that I wasn’t really in the mood.  Next time I’ll just take the subway.  Life happens.

My camera went missing (and my heart skipped a beat or two) so I used my computer to take this beautiful morning PJs photo.  I had an Ezekiel English muffin with almond butter and 1/2 banana:

Photo 26

In another attempt to rally myself for the long day ahead, I cut myself about 1/6 of Howard’s fruit tart for breakfast dessert.

Photo 26

After breakfast, I got all packed up for work and ready for the gym.  However, I ended up running some errands with Ari and only made it to the gym to shower.  This seems to be happening more and more frequently, but… life happens.

Ari and raced against the ticking parking meter and scarfed down lunch at Benny’s Burritos. I ordered the fish tacos, which came two tacos, lettuce, guacamole, and a side of rice and beans.  I knew they wouldn’t be quite as good as the fish tacos at Bonita, but I was curious.

The photo was taken on Ari’s phone… sorry for the blurriness!

IMG00034

I ate some of one taco (and all of the fish) and scooped out the insides of the other, ate half the guac, and half the rice and beans.  All in under 10 minutes. Oof! They were good, but next time I think I’ll get a burrito from the place with “burrito” in their name.

IMG_8346

The undocumented: iced coffee, mozzerrella &  tomato slices with balsamic, probably 20 orange wedges from the bar tray…

Ari picked me up from work and we hotfooted it to 16 Handles, which was closing in five minutes. I got a mixture of Pomegranate tart, Margarita tart, Peanut Butter and Cheesecake, topped with strawberries, chocolate chips, and one chocolate-covered pretzel.

IMG_8348

It must have been just what the doctor ordered, because all it took was that fro-yo and one episode of In Treatment to send me off to Dreamland. Woohoo!  And it gets better: as I’ve been typing this, I found out that I do NOT have to work a double shift today… it’s pretty slow, so I’m only going in at 4 for the night shift.  Good things happen, too, sometimes.

Have a great day!

11 responses to “C’est la Vie

  1. The cab situation seems like a nightmare!! Ahh!

  2. Ughh I hate bad cab experiences, SO stressful! All of your Whole Food salad bar items look delicious, and I absolutely love Black Hound bakery because they always have great samples:)
    I frequently pass by 16 Handles but I have never entered it. I cannot wait to try it, it looks great!

  3. ack, sounds like a stressful couple of days! The cookie looks awesome though… I think cookies have magical powers to heal all ails.

    Hope you find your camera and have some chillin’ time this weekend…rock it out to the Spice Girls, maybe?

  4. haha i love the Spice Girls!!
    wow your Whole Foods salad looks divine! and of course the Puffins are just fabulous!

  5. Whole foods! fro yo! Mexican! fruit cups!!! weeeeeeeeeee

    haha i love bar orange wedges. I’m always asking for extra limes too!

  6. I would never, ever be able to work in an industry in which I have to actually interact with other people on a regular and frequent basis. Bad idea all-around. Sorry you’ve had a stressful couple of days!!

    If my camera disappeared, I would freak out! It’s like my baby. I hope you found yours!

    ❤ ❤

  7. Oh, Howard. I love his treats.
    Keep your head up! Sorry there’s been so much stress recently. We gotsta chitchat soon, ‘k?

  8. I feel you on the crazy schedule. Everything eventually evens out though, in my experience 🙂

    Hope your weekend has been good! Your eats look awesome as usual!

  9. Hope you’ve been sleeping better! 16 Handles looks like a must-try for sure. Fro-yo is so seductive. 🙂

  10. breadandwithit

    No one’s classier than Frank. Except perhaps Ella.

  11. i’m so glad that you finally found the love-of-my-life cookie! sooooo good, right? mmm. Also, stop tempting me with 16 handles. I had it when I was there and am now obsessed and semi-seriously considering moving to NYC just so that I can have it on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

