A Day Between Tarts

This was supposed to go up this morning, but WordPress was being finicky and I had to go to work.  One day we’ll be current!

Good morning, ducklings! The alarm rang bright and early this morning and I stumbled out, eyes-a-burnin’, to make this bowl of oats.

IMG_8349

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • TJ’s mangolicious blend
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tsp almond butter

Lunch dessert was more tart:

IMG_8350

Then I snacked on some leftover steak:

IMG_8351

Juuuuuuust kidding.

Since I had an unexpectedly long and luxurious morning, I headed into the city to go to the gym and do something other than just shower.  On the way over, I read about David Willet, the editor of Runner’s World, and his overpronating feet.

IMG_8353

It seems that a lot of us overpronate, and I’m here to tell you that that’s just fine! There’s still hope, and you can run again, injury-free.  Jus please, please, PLEASE get yourself fitted for the proper shoe.  I haven’t had any problems with my legs or feet while running since I got a pair of Asics Gel Kayanos, which are stability shoes for people who turn inward when they run.  Shoes, the way you tie your laces, the way your foot strikes the pavement… these are all so important in not only making your run a pleasant one, but making it pain-free.

I only had about half an hour to spend at the gym (but at least I got there!) so I did a hard 30 minutes on the stairs, arms, and one ab machine.

After my workout, I hustled to Maoz Vegetarian, a falafel chain that I once heard described as “the McDonald’s of Jerusalem” (even though, upon researching the franchise, I’ve noted that it began in Holland).  I’ve been meaning to try this place for some time now, but haven’t had the time.  It’s close to my gym and job, though, so it was bound to happen sometime!

I ordered a whole wheat pita with falafel and hummus.  After the staff prepared that behind the counter, I moved on to the filling station, where there were all kinds of salads and toppings like carrots, beets, roasted cauliflower and broccoli, spicy sauces, pickles, etc.

IMG_8354

I loaded mine to the brim, but I wanted to try everything!

IMG_8355

It was amazing.  Next time, I’m going to get the “falafel salad box” so that I have enough room to try all of these amazing things.

It was a good thing I had a happy lunch, because work. was. so. bad.  I can’t even tell you (and you won’t want me to complain for hours on end, as I already have), but suffice it to say that the police had to be called, there were tears and screaming, and it was just… bad.

The undocumented: one piece of lobster ravioli in saffron cream sauce, orange wedges, iced coffee.

Because of all of the drama at the restaurant, I ended up taking my salad to go and eating it, standing over the sink, at 1:15 AM.  I had a mixed green salad with imported Italian tuna, olives, and tomatoes, and topped that with a big glob of hummus.  It was pretty good… I think that I liked the tuna/hummus combo, but I inhaled it so fast it was a little hard to tell.

IMG_8356

I couldn’t decide between chocolate or more fruit tart for dessert, but I went with the tart.  Sugar really does make me feel better, and it probably isn’t the right response for stress or anxiety, but it hit the spot ;-).

IMG_8357

Needless to say, it wasn’t a great night for sleeping.

Sorry to complain so much… today will be a better day. It’s just becoming increasingly clear that I have to find myself a “real” job and get myself out of this situation.

Off to work the brunch shift.  Have a great Sunday!

12 responses to “A Day Between Tarts

  1. mmmm falafel! when i eat sugar i sleep like a baby…

  2. Do you feel like the sneakers really help? I’ve worn them a couple times now and I can’t tell. I hope so! I was pretty bad. 😀

  3. Yikes…hope the day went a little more smoothly 😦

    I love felafel! That place sounds great- I’ve seen it before but never been. Next trip!

  4. Lordy, Katie, you always have restaurant stories. I hope the rest of your weekend (and always) worked out a little better.

    Carlye and I talked about how much we miss you today. Come back?

  5. Ouch! That day sounds terrible:( I hope your work situation improves!

    Maoz recently opened near my house and it’s so good. I really like their Indian spiced carrots in the salad bar.

  6. Sorry you had such a stressful day!!

    At first glance I thought that you put “TJ’s mangolicious bread” in your oats… I was trying to figure out how on earth one would incorporate bread into oats! Duh.

    Hope your day is better today!

    ❤ ❤

  7. AGH I’m so sorry about the drama at work. Police?! That is REAL drama. And I MUST to go that falafel and hummus place! It looks like heaven.

  8. 😦 😦 😦 I’m so sorry work was bad – come to MI and you can coach with me! Hope next shift is better! You deserve a GOOD work day for a change!

    That tart looks incredible! I love pastry crusts!!

  9. Yikes, sorry about your bad day! If you like Maoz, though (did you go in Union Square?), you should try Rainbow Falafel across the park on 17th. Better AND cheaper, IMO, though without so many fixins. 😀

  10. Oh my gosh- that a falafel chain sounds and looks incredible! I want a place like that!!!! It is amazing what a difference a good pair of sneakers can make.

  11. that pita looks amazing!! soo cool! i love me some good toppings!!!

  12. have a much better day dearie!

    i’m lovin that maoz vegetarian – their web site may be the coolest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

