Do you soba?

Good evening, bloggies! I hope your week is off to a fantastic start.  The days have just been flying by lately, good day or bad… how is it already almost August?! If I was going back to school, I’d probably be starting to panic, but now I’m a little bit sad that I won’t be going shopping for school supplies.

I started the day yesterday with an Ezekiel English muffin with almond butter; half had honey and half had blueberry jam.

IMG_8369

As is becoming the tradition for Mondays, I went to my parents’ house to get some work done.  When I got there, I found a big box of Daisy Brand cottage cheese waiting for me:

IMG_8370

Daisy Brand generously sent me a huge supply of cottage cheese.  I’ll give you a full review soon… Thanks, Daisy!

IMG_8371

After getting a little reading done, I headed to Starbucks to do the rest.  We didn’t have any food in the fridge, so I got Starbucks’ Classic Salad with romaine, cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, cheese and hard-boiled eggs with a balsamic dressing.  I didn’t eat the yolks… I don’t like the texture when they’re so well done.

IMG_8373

With my salad, I got a coupon for a $2 grande iced drink if I ordered it after 2.

IMG_8374

Come 2:00, I’d finished my reading and was ready for a little pick-me-up.  I got a grande caramel light Frappuccino with sugar-free syrup. I love these! I drink them so quickly, though.

IMG_8375

After leaving Starbucks, I got some groceries for dinner and then headed home for a run.  I ran about 3 miles in Riverside Park, and the time just flew by thanks to a new Jillian Michaels podcast.  It’s official: I’m addicted to these!

When I got back, I started doing a Core Yoga session, but after 10 minutes my arms were giving out and I had to stop.  Sometimes it’s just not in the cards. Instead, I had a snack: a Daisy Brand 2% cottage cheese parfait with blueberries and strawberries.

IMG_8377

It was missing a little something: cinnamon.  It’s hard to find a food that isn’t improved by this spice…

IMG_8381

Then I took a long, hot bath, read a magazine, and just relaxed.  Perfect.

A few weeks ago, I noticed one of Heidi‘s recipes that looked particularly delicious: Almond Soba Noodles.  The key: a sauce made with almond butter and red curry paste. Mmm.

IMG_8382

A soba lesson

I think this was my first time cooking soba noodles.

IMG_8384

A Soba Lesson:

[Source]

Soba is a type of thin Japanese noodle made from buckwheat flour. It is served either chilled with a dipping sauce, or in hot broth as a noodle soup.

Soba is traditionally eaten on New Years Eve in most areas of Japan, a tradition that survives to this day: Toshikoshi soba. In the Tokyo area, there is also a tradition of giving out soba to new neighbours after a house move (Hikkoshi soba), although this practice is now rare.

100 grams of soba yields 344 kcal of energy. In terms of essential amino acids, soba scores higher than pasta or bread. Soba includes a lot of lycine, and therefore a good balance of amino acids.

Soba contains a type of polysaccharide that is easily digested and assimilated. Soba noodles also contain rutin an antioxidation ingredient, one of the flavonoids, and choline. Rutin helps to prevent high blood pressure so it reduces risk of heart disease. Soba has other antioxidation ingredients beside rutin, notably quercitin, proto catechu aldehyde. Choline is needed to make acetylcholine, which is used in the brain and affects memory and intelligence. Soba also contains many water-soluble vitamins like thiamine (about twice that of polished rice) and riboflavin.

IMG_8385

Here’s a quirk: whenever I make tofu, I have to eat a piece with salt & pepper. Every time. Isn’t that odd? Do you have any weird habits like this?

IMG_8383

Instead of pea shoots, which I couldn’t find, I used broccoli florets.

IMG_8387

I snacked on most of this apple (or, what was on the plate before I ate it all 😉 ):

IMG_8386

Return of the broccoli water!

IMG_8390

I had a few sips of milk, but I filled up before I could finish it.

IMG_8393

I had the noodles with cucumber salad (oil, vinegar, salt & pepper), carrots, and radishes.

IMG_8392

My only complaint with this recipe was that it required quite a bit of salt for seasoning.  Otherwise, though, I really enjoyed it, and I would make it again.

For dessert, we all went to Tasti D The Lite Choice.  (The Lite Choice apparently bought Tasti, and now there is a Tasti opening up right across the street from TLC.) I got a small cup with half peanut butter, half banana, and chocolate chips.

IMG_8396

I can’t wait to tell you about the dinner I just had… stay tuned!

Bonne nuit 🙂

16 responses to “Do you soba?

  1. No salted tofu sorts of things, but here’s something I never do: I can’t stand to hold metal silverware in my mouth (like, if both my hands were full, I couldn’t just hold a fork between my lips), and I generally hate to have it go in my mouth while I’m eating. I don’t have this problem with plastic utensils. Weird, huh?

  2. P.S. Daisy makes my favorite-tasting (lite) sour cream. Enjoy the cottage cheese 😀

  3. haha omgosh! i save my veggie water too! makes a great veg broth 🙂 hee hee
    your dinner look saweeet! yummilicious!

  4. LOVE love Jillian’s podcasts! I listen to them at work and they make the days fly! I haven’t tried daisy’s cottage cheese but I would really like to! Keep the reviews and recipes/uses coming! Have a good one

  5. Yea I’m sort of in denial about the fact that July is coming to a close… let’s not talk about it.

    I’ve never cooked soba noodles, but I think they’re beautiful! They look like art to me.

  6. I AM going back to school at the end of August, and I AM starting to freak out. Ahhh!!

    Soba noodles are another thing on my list of things to try one day… it’s getting to be such a long list that I won’t possibly be able to finish it before I turn fifty!

    ❤ ❤

  7. Yum those soba noodles look great! For a while the Whole Foods in Columbus Circle was making soba noodle sushi (where they used the noodles to replace the rice) but now they stopped making it:( The whole Lite Choice versus Tasti thing is so bizarre! I can’t believe that Tasti is opening right across the street on 95th!!!

  8. A box full of CC?! I’m not going to lie, I’m preeeeeeety jealous! So glad you added the cinnamon 😉

    I’ve never tried soba noodles – thanks for the lesson!

  9. wow those soba noodles look fantastic! I just saw some at my health food store and will have to pick them up 🙂

    Love all of the cottage cheese!

  10. Your soba noodles looks awesome! I’m always looking for new ways to use them (I had my first experience with them about 2 months ago) so thanks for the inspiration!

  11. mmm I just love cottage cheese and that parfait looks de-lish!

    Isnt it the weirdest feeling ever knowing that you are not going back to school and don’t have to worry about school supplies and all that. I have to admit it made me kinda sad when that happened to me.

    Hope your week is going great! ❤

  12. I haven’t had soba in forever! Peanut sauce is pretty obvious; almond never occured to me. Sounds like a good combo!

    I have plenty of weird habits. I try to think of them as idiosyncrasies, as opposed to, say, mad compulsions. 🙂

  13. MMM yes soba is fabulous – my parents live in Japan so I make sure to get some every time I visit! Not that that’s especially often. 😦

    I’m addicted to the JM podcasts myself. It took me a long time to catch up on them once I discovered her show, but now I have and am disgruntled that I haven’t found this week’s updated in my google reader yet!

  14. Yay Riverside Park! 🙂 That’s my ‘patch’!

    I very nearly got soba noodles the other day when I got the spring roll wrappers- that recipe sounds fab!

    My weirdest havit is probably serving up food then putting away leftovers and washing the dishes before I can sit down and eat!

  15. Pingback: Dinner in NYSea « Lilveggiepatch

  16. (1) I love soba noodles. Yum.

    (2) Jillian Podcasts – I don’t want to alarm you, but yesterday I went to listen to the new one from Sunday and there was a little note on the site from Jillian saying she was taking a radio break. Luckily, there are old episodes, but how sad!

Leave a Reply

