Dinner in NYSea

[This is my second time typing this up.  Just as I was about to hit “Publish,” the entire thing wiped clear, and the draft that was saved was a blank page with 0 words. Boo hiss.]

Happy Humpday, everyone! This is actually a pretty good Wednesday for me… I have a day off, and have gotten a run in, a doctor’s appointment out of the way, and stocked up on groceries.  I hope you’re having a great day, too!

Ari and I both ate Jim for breakfast yesterday.

IMG_8400

This wiped out the last of my PB… is there anything more satisfying than finishing a jar of this? Probably, but this is up there.

IMG_8397

I ended up using half PB2 for the cookies, half regular peanut butter… the result was a thicker, creamier cookie.

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 TBSP almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 TBSP PB2
  • toppings: cinnamon, dried fig (1 each per cookie, sliced), raisins

I brought my lunch to work and on my break, went to Starbucks to get out of the torrential downpour.  I had leftovers:

Almond soba noodles:

IMG_8402

Crudité (radishes, yellow pepper, tomatoes, carrots):

IMG_8404

Sweet white cherries, courtesy of Daddy-o:

IMG_8403

I ordered a Grande Skim Misto:

IMG_8405

I ended up saving the coffee and bringing it to work and heating it up in the microwave around 3:30 (breaking my new no-caffeine-after-3 rule), when my eyes were drooping.

IMG_8406

At 4:45, I snacked on an apple to hold me through the workout I was getting ready for.

IMG_8407

I had more time than usual, so I took things slow and enjoyed not feeling rushed.  I did 35 easy minutes on the bike (30 + 5 minute cooldown),  10 minutes on the treadmill at 4.0 mph with a 4.5% incline, arms, and legs.  I’ve been having some lower-back pain recently (probably from standing up all the time) so I didn’t want to be too hard on my arms; I only did 3 machines.

Total time: 1 hour 4 minutes
Maximum heart rate: 160 (80%)

Average heart rate: 122 (61%)

Calories burned: 384

After showering, I hustled to Rockefellar Center to meet my parents and Ari for dinner at the Sea Grill.  This place holds a special place in my memory; my parents and I used to go almost every year on Christmas Eve for lunch, watching Santa skate on the ice. We were thrilled and jumped on the chance to eat here again when we (er, Daddy-O) saw that they were offering a Restaurant Week menu.

IMG_8409

We ordered a bottle of Alsatian Pino Blanc for the table.  This was scrumptious… I haven’t had wine (or any alcohol, for that matter) since I was in Michigan.

IMG_8412

The bread plate was lovely:

IMG_8411

I chose the chunkiest, grainiest piece of bread on the platter.

IMG_8413

The amuse boûche was a creamy smoked fish.

IMG_8408

My parents and I all started with the East Coast Oysters with Cabernet-Pink Peppercorn Mignonette; Ari ordered the Tomato Gazpacho with Thai Basil (and the boy claims he’s from Maryland!):

IMG_8414

Ari and I split two fish- Brodetto de Long Island Bluefish with Cockle Clams, in a lovely lobster broth:

IMG_8417

Grilled Arctic Char with Corn Succotash:

IMG_8418

Both fish were delicious; it’s too hard to pick a favorite! I wasn’t able to finish all of mine… this was a lot of food! I didn’t get to try any of the corn succotash, so I guess I need to make some of this soon! Shouldn’t be a problem 😉

Ari and I split both dessert options- Chocolate Brownie Sundae with Vanilla Ice Cream & Sprinkles (we held the whipped cream… too “white and creamy” for A):

IMG_8424

Dulce de Leche-banana filled crêpes with Chocolate Malt Ice Cream. This was really the star dessert… the sundae was good, but the crêpes were really something special.

IMG_8427

With the check came some more goodies.  I was beyond stuffed, but I had a bite of the dark chocolate ball, which was stuffed with hazelnuts, and the white chocolate truffle, which was filled with PB&J. Genius.

IMG_8428

It was a great meal.  I’m so happy we got to eat at the Sea Grill again, and even happier we experienced Restaurant Week! It’s continuing on through next week, so there’s a small (small) chance we’ll be able to go again.  A girl can dream!

16 responses to “Dinner in NYSea

  1. first comment – woohoo
    i HATE when that happens to my posts…boo technology 😦

    i wish pure were participating in restaurant week, but the sea grill looks good, too.

  2. Oh my, that dulce de leche dessert would UNDOUBTEDLY be the star – holy yum!!

    None of my top favorite restaurant picks are participating in restaurant week – boo.

  3. Restaurant weeks are so fun! You get to try all sorts of neat stuff.

    Your breakfast cookies are always so photogenic. They make mine look like the sad, plain sister to your glamorous, dressed up ones. ha.

  4. You know I appreciate the “white and creamy” comment! I miss you!

  5. Jim is a may-jah cutie, I could just eat him up 😉

    White chocolate truffle filled with PB&J? That is genius. That whole meal looks delicious!! I wish Dtown had restaurant weeks!

  6. I love your breakfast cookies because they always have faces… so cute! 🙂

    The sundae looks so pretty with the “marbleized” effect near the bottom of the glass.

    ❤ ❤

  7. Those crepes do look like a star! 🙂 I love restaurant week!

  8. Those crepes look wicked!

  9. It’s LOVIN. You guys better be asleep by now.

  10. Sounds like a pretty nice day! I think no caffine after three is a pretty good rule but with my lack of sleep lately…I’ve been breaking it often as well 😉 Grande skim misto is my drink of choice too hehe. The Sea Grill looks like a fabulous restaurant. I would def go for the Char with Corn Succotash- it sounds tasty yet simple!

  11. I went to the Sea Grill for my birthday last year and it was a blast! It’s so fun to watch the ice skaters go by and crash into things haha.

  12. Those crepes sound incredible! Have you ever tried banoffee pie? It’s a British thing I think (graham cracker crust, dulce de leche, sliced banana and whipped cream). Hmm. I think I might have to go there for the PBJ truffle alone!

    I am pretty sure that TJ’s sell a frozen succotash mix 😀

  13. PB+J truffles?!? My eyes just rolled into the back of my head. I’ve gotta tell the folks at Just Truffles this one….

  14. homegirlcaneat

    OmG all that fish looks insane! I love going out and getting phish just because I neva cook it at home!

    CREPES are incredible. Smothered in nutella..even betta.

    🙂 for a fab dinner and for your cookays

  15. So I still need to put Jim on my to-do list….hahahhaha, KATIE!…get your mind outta the gutter! 😉

    But in all seriousness, I still haven’t made a breakfast cookie!!! What is wronggg with me!? Maybe…..if you send me your so far fave concoction, I may have to whip one up! 😀

  16. Pingback: Ready For Life To Start « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

