When Bubby Comes to Town

First and foremost, thank you all so much for your positive comments on Ari‘s “Wanderlust” music video.  (He’s also updated his Tour Belly page… check it out!) I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of changes come August 25, the date of their record’s release, and I’m excited you’ll all be able to experience it, too 🙂

Breakfast yesterday was weird, but very tasty:

IMG_8476

Daisy Brand 2% cottage cheese with 1 plum, a few strawberries, 1/2 banana and 1 T PB2.

IMG_8477

I haven’t had time to get to the gym much this week, as you may have noticed, so I’ve been running more often than usual.  I went for a 2 mile jog yesterday, stopping to walk a couple times for 20-30 second breaks on the way back.  When the end is in sight, I often peter out and get more tired.  Does anyone else have this problem? I think I need a running buddy! When I ran in Michigan with Judy, I did 3-4 miles easily.

When I got back from the run, I did Level 3 of 8-minute Abs.  I forgot to turn my HRM off, so these stats aren’t 100% accurate:

Total time: 42:42 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 191 (96%)

Average heart rate: 136 (68%)

Calories burned: 318

On the way into the city for my haircut, I snacked on an apple:

IMG_8478

My hairdresser (whom I hadn’t seen for 15 years; he used to cut my hair when I was little and pretty much gave me the exact same haircut I had when I was 2… I love it! I’ll have to find you an old photo) was in Caitlin‘s neck of the woods, so we met up for lunch at Bouley Bakery.

I’ve been wanting to try out David Bouley’s new place for so long, and this did not disappoint.  It has everything! Fresh organic meat and fish:

IMG_8479

A hot bar:

IMG_8481

Cold salads:

IMG_8482

They even have sushi!

IMG_8484

We both decided to build killer salads.

IMG_8487

Mine had:

  • spinach
  • arugula
  • tomatoes
  • feta
  • whole wheat pasta shells with walnuts
  • beet salad with walnuts
  • marinated Chinese mushrooms & tofu
  • asparagus
  • lobster/bean salad

IMG_8488

I dressed it with a little oil and vinegar.

IMG_8486

I wanted some bread, so I got a whole wheat roll with sesame seeds.

IMG_8490

Our tummies were pleased.

IMG_8491

After lunch, we wanderd over to Moomah, a coffee shop that, we agreed, is like Alice’s Teacup for toddlers.

IMG_8492

The design is whimsical and artistic, like stepping inside a children’s book.

IMG_8496

Yes, I’m that creeper who takes pictures of the bathrooms…

IMG_8493

… but even that is beautiful!

IMG_8494

They sell handmade toys and gorgeous dresses (that, rumor has it, Caitlin’s mom is trying to get them to sell for “big girls” like us).

IMG_8495

Everything is perfect, down to the plastic to-go coffee cups.  I was low on cash and pushing my 3 PM-coffee-cutoff (which I think I’ll be adjusting to 5 PM on days that I work), so I just admired Caitlin‘s iced latte.

IMG_8497

Then, just as the rain was starting to come down, we scurried underground and took the subway to MoMA.  The exhibit was absolutely beautiful.  So many colors!

I especially liked Paul Signac’s Portrait of Félix Fénéon:

IMG_8504

We started to get a little tired and needed a Smarties pick-me-up.  C and I first discovered our love for Smarties on a camp trip to Quebec in 2002; when I saw these in Berlin I had to snag her a box.  They’re like M&Ms, but with a harder shell and better chocolate.

IMG_8512

After we looked at a few more exhibits, we parted ways and went home.  Dodging raindrops (who needs an umbrella?), I ran from the subway to the house to be there in time for Ari’s Bubby and aunt’s visit.  After catching up with them a little, we all went to Sac‘s for dinner.  There aren’t any kosher restaurants within walking distance, so we decided on Italian instead.

I had 1 piece of tomato focaccia:

IMG_8513

I was a bad girlfriend and ordered spinach fettuccine with shrimp in garlic & oil (shellfish is not kosher).

IMG_8514

I ate all the shrimp and half the pasta.  The bottom of the bowl was filled with about 1/2 inch of oil; it’s odd that I ordered this considering I work in an Italian restaurant and can get it for free any night, but I was in the mood.

After saying goodbye, we left to go pick up the rest of Ari’s family from the airport.  There were all kinds of complications with their flight (baggage claim, missed connections, customs, etc.) and we ended up spending three hours at the airport.  No matter, because on the way home, we stopped at… Coldstone!

I went all out and ordered a “Like It” cup of Sinless Sweet Cream w/ 1 Reese’s PB cup, peanut butter, and hot fudge.  Coldstone is no Oink‘s, but I still savored every bite.

IMG_8516

We were pretty exhausted by the time we got home (Ari’s sister had been up for 24+ hours) and went right to bed.  It was a good day 🙂

Hope you have a great Friday! I’ll be working, but I have a good feeling that this week will be much better than last. What are you up to this weekend?

16 responses to “When Bubby Comes to Town

  1. I LOVE the pictures of Moomah… but I love all of these whimsical places that play off of childhood themes. 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  2. looks like SO MUCH FUN. italian + ice cream + coffee + bakery goodness….yummmm!

  3. Looks great! The bakery and Moomah sound fab 😀

    I am Jewish but didn’t find out until I was 16 that shrimp weren’t Kosher 😛

  4. Looks like you had a great time. The ice cream look great! We do no really have any good ice cream shops around here, so Im always jealous when other people get good icecream! haha.

    Congrats to Ari on the album release…can’t wait to hear it!

  5. Smarties! Those are good. I loved Ari’s video, btw. So neat! Can’t wait to hear the CD when’s it’s released.

  6. Oh my god. I haven’t commented forev but I did want to mention:
    I love Ari’s posts
    I love Ari’s wanderlust vid – hilar, fab, love.
    I LOVE your hair
    And…I love that you spend so much time outdoors and take pictures of bathrooms 🙂

  7. Smarties!! Haha – those bring back LOTS of memories!

    Coldstone + Foccacia + Amazing salad bar = YUM!

  8. Love you, my dear!

  9. I’m totally the opposite when I run; when I know the end is near, I get a huge energy boost!

    I totally reverted the haircut of my early youth in the past year! I didn’t do it on purpose; I realized it over Christmas looking at old family pics. Funny!

  10. I’m the same way with running, I can run for much longer distances with a running buddy:)
    I love Smarties as well, why does Europe have much better candy???
    Have a great weekend with Ari’s family!

  11. shrimpies! hot bar! salad bar! ice cream!!

    you eat so good Katie! soo good! (not well!) lol GOOD.

    have a wonderrrrful weekend beautiful!

  12. Moomah looks so fun! 😀

    Enjoy your weekend!

  13. I want to take the girls to Moomah! I think I just like the name Moomah. Moomah.

    If someone said Moomah to me though, I might cry.

    Tell Ari I felt so bad ass getting a comment from a real rock star.

  14. Murgle. I miss you. I want to go on these adventures with you. Visit fun bathrooms with you. Be your running buddy. (We were once so good about working out together!) Mostly, I want to eat peanut butter ice cream treats with you (and Ari!)!

    Weekend? We’re going to Hell’s Kitchen! Yay!

  15. Oh wow! You sure are having fun fun fun in NY!
    Hey, I just sent you an email to your blog email regarding a meet-up…please check it out! 🙂

  16. I love Bouley so I’ll have to try the Bakery! Moomah looks fun too!

Leave a Reply

