Somebody Call 911!

Oh yes, that fire was burning last night.  So to speak.  More on that later!

Good Saturday morning! I hope your weekend is off to a fabulous start.  It’s a beautiful day here, made all the more so because, instead of working a double shift, I don’t have to go in to the restaurant until 4! Life is good.

Yesterday, Ari and I had a splendid breakfast at the diner Monday through Friday my omelet meal only costs $5 (including toast, coffee & juice), and you know I love a deal.

IMG_8517

I got my usual egg whites with spinach, tomato, mushrooms and feta:

IMG_8518

Dry toast with lots of HFCS grape jelly, of which I ate every bite.

IMG_8519

After catching up with you lovely people, I went on a 2 mile run.  Heather told me Jillian’s going to be taking some time off from her radio show, so, to stretch out the back-episodes, I took a break and listened to some cheesy pop instead. (And by “cheesy” I mean Akon’s sweet, sweet tunes.) I ran faster overall, but took a few walk breaks (never for more than 30 seconds).

The HRM blinked 00 for a couple minutes mid-run, so these stats are a little off:

Total time: 21:45 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 188 (94%)

Average heart rate: 164 (82%)

Calories burned: 231

After my run, I had a little time to kill before work so I did some cleaning.  One of my house chores is to make sure there’s nothing that’s gone funk in the fridge, so, when I noticed half a can of chickpeas about to turn, I decided to use them for a recipe I saw in this month’s issue of SELF.

IMG_8521

In the article this was featured in, Zooey Deschanel (one of my favorites) listed a lot of her favorite easy recipes, most (if not all) of which are vegan.  I wanted to make her “Vegan Chocolate Dessert,” but the ingredients were really expensive at my local health food store.  These spiced chickpeas will be great as a snack, though!

IMG_8520

I went with Ari to the deli to get lunch, but I’m trying to save money so I just sat with him while he ate.  I didn’t realize how hungry I was, though, and I had to have some cherries so I wouldn’t eat my lunch before it was made! (That happens a lot.)

IMG_8522

Lunch was a big, I-Miss-You salad:

IMG_8523

  • romaine
  • arugula
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • TJ’s Meatless Meatballs (finally, Jess!)
  • hummus
  • goat cheese
  • Bragg’s liquid aminos (I can’t believe I’m just trying this! I LOVE IT.)

I also had a perfectly ripe peach and Trader Joe’s Nonfat Organic Greek Honey Yogurt (reviewed here).

IMG_8526

During work, I snacked on my new Peanut Butter & Jelly Larabar.  (Their website says there are three new flavors; I only have the PB&J and Tropical Fruit Tart… does anyone know what the other flavor is?)

IMG_8528

IMG_8529

IMG_8533

Verdict: Amazing.  It tastes just like a smooshed peanut butter & jelly sandwich, made with crunch peanut butter, that’s been sitting in your lunchbox all morning. Move over, Cinnamon Roll… this may be my new favorite flavor!

The undocumented snacks: iced coffee, fresh mozzarella.

At work, if you sell 10 specials, you get to have one for dinner.  I sold 9, but Ramon made me the special salad anyway! This is a jumbo shrimp and avocado salad with corn and tomatoes, served over mixed greens in a lemon-mint vinaigrette.

IMG_8534

YUM.

My friend Howard came by and surprised me with some fruit salad.  Although I shared it with the rest of the staff, I ate most of it myself! It must have been 2 lbs of fruit… oof!

IMG_8535

So… work was just fine until about midnight, when I was closing my last two tables and getting ready to go home.  There ended up being some more drama that lasted an hour, a visit from the cops, handcuffs, and, obviously, no tip.  Double oof.

Well, I’m going to get a little work for my internship done while I have the spare time.  I’ve done some kind of exercise for the last 5 days, so I’m going to give myself a day off.

I hope you’re up to something fun! Have a great Saturday 🙂

23 responses to “Somebody Call 911!

  1. Yep!! Larabar sent me all 3 flavors – the third one is German Chocolate Cake 🙂

    Yikes, sorry about the drama at work!!

  2. Ok I really need to get me some Lara bars if i can find some lol

  3. Hehehe in Hawaii they have a yearly Spam Jam festival! Its huge!

  4. Bragg’s is one of my favorite things ever! Liquid Aminos + raw apple cider vinegar + hot sauce = perfect salad dressing!

    I think there is a new german chocolate cake flavored jocalat bar? Maybe that’s the other new one?

  5. oops, Veggie Girl already mentioned that! 😛

  6. I read that issue of Self yesterday, cover to cover! Such a great magazine!

  7. Glad you don’t have to work all day!! Enjoy the nice weather:)
    P.S diner omelettes are the best!

  8. I am totally drooling over those larabar flavors!!!

  9. The PBJ Lara is so good! I didn’t like the tropical one anywhere near as much (can anything beat PBJ?!)

    Hope today is drama free!

  10. I need to get my hands on some of those new laras! Fo real.

    Man, work drama blows. Cops?!? Yikes.

    I would have totally bought your 10th salad special. That thing looks killer.

  11. I have got to run to Whole Foods to check for the new flavors…but New Orleans Whole Foods take a bit of time to get new products..hmm. I can just imagine what it tastes like though!!!
    Love the salad you had for lunch and dinner…love big salads with good toppings!
    Have a marvelous Saturday, sweets!

  12. I totally agree with you on the PBJ Larabar… just like a sandwich!

    ❤ ❤

  13. Can’t wait to try the new Laras! I love Zooey Deschenel, you have to see 500 Summers, it’s so good.

  14. Do you love the meatless meatballs?!! Now please, pleaseee make yourself a grilled meatless meatballs/cheese wrap (and dip that sh!t in ketchup)…..it’s AMAZING!

    And yay for bragg’s as well!! It’s great with sooo many different things, and works great as a type of soy sauce too! legit!

    Jealous of your spiced chickpeas and pb &j larabar experience! 😉

  15. Mmm…I just restocked my Bragg’s supply (I buy it in the liquid bulk section and keep it in a spritzer!).

    I miss you too!

  16. I love an omelette with ons of ketchup 🙂
    I really gotta find that larabar – everyone says it is one of the best larabar flavors!

  17. HEy dear! I hope you can make it to our meet-up! >.< So excited and hopeful!
    And oh my god…never a dull moment at work, is there?

  18. I wanna try that Larabar, but I can’t find it in these country stores 😦 Gotta get to the big city, I guess… (You’d think having “twin” cities would mean everything was twice as easy to find, but noooo.)

    Yikes, we had the police this weekend too! Talk about drama! There must be a psychic connection.

    Oh, and I bought the HK peanut butter since you said so…

  19. The third flavor is a chocolate flavor, and its GERMAN CHOCOLATE CAKE!!! yumm

  20. Pingback: The Art of Multi-Tasking « Lilveggiepatch

  21. I love making chickpeas like that. Interestingly, I think I learned about it from self like 5 years ago!

  22. Pingback: Cuban in the Village « Lilveggiepatch

  23. Pingback: End It With a POP! « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

