Cuban in the Village

Good morning, lovelies! What have you got planned for your humpdays? Today feels like Thursday for me, because I’m going to Utah for a wedding on Friday morning! I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go there, and to other Western states like Washington and Oregon, so I’m really excited.  I already have a list of places I want to go (including the Downtown Farmer’s Market , a gourmet ice cream shop, and a unique pastry shop !).

AND… drumroll… I no longer have to work at the restaurant on weekends! My official schedule is now Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday… I can have a life again!

Yesterday, I fueled up for my internship with a bigger breakfast than usual.  I had a slice of whole wheat toast with blueberry preserves and almond butter:

IMG_8571

I also had a big bowl of Daisy Brand 2% cottage cheese with grapes, an apricot, and strawberries. I sprinkled it with a generous amount of cinnamon, of course!

IMG_8572

It was the perfect amount of food, made all the more satisfying because there were so many different tastes and textures.

IMG_8573

I didn’t have time to make coffee, so I stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts on my walk from the subway to the office and got a medium iced coffee with skim milk.

IMG_8574

My boss sent me to Fed Ex/Kinko’s to have some manuscripts bound and sent off.  He offered to get me a cab, but I wanted to spend some time outside so I walked instead.  On the way back to the office, I snacked on an energy ball.

IMG_8575

My mom works near the office, so we were able to meet for lunch today.  She brought me some of my mail, including a box of Larabars! I’m so excited to have more of the PB&J bars, and I can’t wait to try the German Chocolate Cake Jocalat bar. Thanks, Larabar!

IMG_8577

We went to lunch at Havana Alma de Cuba, a restaurant that opened right when my mom moved to New York after she graduated from college. We both ordered the Ensalada Matanzas with watercress, baby arugula, frissé, avocado, cherry tomatoes, roasted red peppers and spiced shrimp in a balsamic vinaigrette.  It was delicious: light and refreshing, the perfect summer meal.

IMG_8579

My mom ordered a mango bostada (I think that’s what it’s called).  I had a sip… it tasted just like a mango lassi!

IMG_8582

I had a slice of grilled, buttered bread, which was excellent with the vinaigrette.

IMG_8583

About an hour after I got back to work, I started falling asleep.  I pulled out my Chocolate Chip Z bar, which I ate less because of hunger and more to wake me up.  It worked!

IMG_8584

After work, I got my booty to the gym.  I hadn’t been since last Tuesday, and hadn’t had time to work out at all since Friday.  Unfortunately, I was exhausted, so I just did 30 easy peasy minutes on the bike (while reading my book) and some arm work.  Better than nothing!

I was on my own for dinner, so I just heated up the rest of my coconut soup from Sunday night.  I added in tofu and sprinkles of cinnamon, ginger, and curry powder.  It was even better two days later!

IMG_8585

I also had some steamed broccoli and a Golden Delicious apple:

IMG_8586

Washed it all down with some broc wat:

IMG_8588

For dessert, I had my favorite comfort sweets: dried fruit, almond butter, and dark chocolate.

IMG_8598

Well, I’m off to go for a quick run before meeting a lovely girl for lunch, and then work tonight.  Have a great day!

14 responses to “Cuban in the Village

  1. Oh wow… I didn’t even realize it was Wednesday. Yikes.

    Enjoy the Larabars!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  2. omg what an awesome day of eats! The larabars look amazing!

    And I have to check out that cuban place, my fav has been cafe habana, but that looks awesome.

    Excited to hear about the ice cream shop!

  3. Can’t wait to see you!! 😀

  4. oh yum yum yum! ALL of your eats look SO SO GOOD!! That coconut soup, expecially!! YUM

  5. What a wonderful day you had…salad with mom- fun!
    I am so happy to hear you no longer have to work weekends…doesn’t it feel like a weight has been lifted off your shoulders!? I have been there in the work situation before 🙂
    So excited about your wedding adventure this weekend…the pastry shop sounds divine! Eat some yummies for me, love!

  6. Oooo I ca’t wait to try the new laras ! That salad looks so summery and perfect. I want. Have fun in Utah! I’ve actually never spent any time out West.

  7. breadandwithit

    I think it’s a “batida”, but I’m not sure. You can make them with milk or water.

  8. Wow, busy day! Have a great time in Utah….I love traveling for weddings (when I can afford it).

  9. Woohoo for Utah AND having a life on the weekend – 2 BIG pluses in my book 🙂

    I hope you love the Laras! You luck girl!! Enjoy lunch with a lovely girl (is it who I think it is?!)!

  10. The new Laras rock 😀 Enjoy!

    Yay for getting a life back and your weekend in Utah! Are you enjoying your internship?

  11. I’m so glad you don’t have to work weekends anymore, that must significantly reduce any stress you currently experience!

    That’s exciting that you are going to Utah, I hope you have a great trip:)

  12. homegirlcaneat

    I need to try the new laras!!! PB&J be calling my name!

    Did you really drink broc water?

  13. to be completely honest, I NEVER imagined that Utah would be cause of such excitement in a food blogger! I didn’t know it was such a foodie town!

  14. I hear dunkin donuts iced coffee is way better than any other coffee out there, including starbucks! I have yet to try it though

Leave a Reply

