Breakfast Break-in & Bonobo’s

Good morning, lovelies! I hope your week is starting to wind down and you have a fabulous weekend planned to celebrate August. As I said, I’m going to a wedding near Salt Lake City, Utah, for the weekend, so I’ll be blogging from the West Coast!

Yesterday started out… whimsically.  Ari’s brother, Josh, has been threatening to disturb Jim‘s face for more than six months, but I was so surprised when I opened the door and saw him and laughed for a good minute.

IMG_8600

Poor Jim! I’m sure he kept his sense of humor about it, though ;-).  This cookie had:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 T skim milk
  • 1 t chunky pb
  • toppings: cinnamon, 1 prune (split), dried cherries

Ari had already left for the deli to work by the time I got around to eating breakfast, so I met him there and guzzled down an iced coffee with 1% milk.

IMG_8601

I went back home, blogged while watching some great tv, and went out for a quick run.  I went about 2 miles, then came back, showered quickly, and went into the city to meet Liz for lunch.  She’d suggested we go to Bonobo’s Vegetarian, a new place we’d both never tried and thought sounded very interesting.

IMG_8602

As soon as we walked in, our eyes feasted on the packaged beverages they had: ginger lemonade, coconut water, coconut chai (a recommendation from Diana).

IMG_8603

Their “salad bar”, which was thankfully behind glass, had all kinds of organic veggies and spreads.

IMG_8604

The staff at Bonobo’s is very attentive and willing to give out samples of everything.  I tasted six different things!

IMG_8605

We both (er, more like I copied) ordered the Nori rolls.

IMG_8607

For the rolls, you pick five veggies and a nut meat spread. I chose beets, zucchini, carrots, cucumbers, and sprouts; I couldn’t decide on one spread and went with two: macadamia nut and sesame tahini.

IMG_8608

Again, indecisive girl that I am, I couldn’t just pick one dressing so I had them mix up two! The end result was spicy sweet: a combination of their Diablo (spicy mustard) and agave mustard. Delish!

dressing

The meal was fabulous, and the company was even better.  Luckily, we both admitted our gracelessness when it comes to consuming messy food, and didn’t try to eat with poise. In other words, sprouts were a-flyin’!

Unfortunately, on the way back to Liz’s hotel, we got caught in a torrential downpour.  This girl has no luck when it comes to weather! The last time she was here, the weather was also terrible.  Her poor tights were soaked, but she still looked fabulous!

IMG_8611

After I dropped Liz off at her hotel (and said a very rushed hello to Diana), I dodged more raindrops and went to work.  On my walk, I drank my bottle of Bonobo’s Coconut Chai.

IMG_8610

This. Is. Amazing. It’s sweet and really thick, and, as I described to Liz, almost like a rice pudding. She suggested I freeze it and eat it like ice cream… unfortunately I’d already drank it all! I can’t wait to go back and get more of this.

At work, I was so munchy! I think it was because of the weather.  We were very slow, which made it both boring and tiring.  I nibbled on desserts, went into Black Hound for samples, and ate a Toasted Nuts ‘n Cranberry Luna bar (image recycled).

toasted

I sold enough specials to get the special saladfor dinner: mixed greens with shrimp, avocado, apples, tomatoes, walnuts, and goat cheese with lemon vinaigrette.  So good!

IMG_8612

Ari surprised me by picking me up from work with the car.  We went to 16 Handles to fuel up for the ride (ha), and I loaded my cup with peanut butter, pistachio, and Eurotart yogurts topped with mochi, blueberries, Reese’s cups and a chocolate-covered pretzel.

IMG_8613

It was a pretty great day, I’d say.  Now I’m off to go meet Greg for lunch before work, and tomorrow morning I’m off to Utah! Have a great day 🙂

16 responses to “Breakfast Break-in & Bonobo’s

  1. i LOVE arthur. i used to watch it all the time. no joke.

    have a super awesome vacay in Utah, and yay for meeting up with VeggieGirl!

  2. Arthur = best show when I was a kid. Loved it!! 😀

    This recap made me laugh out loud – you’re totally right with me having the worst luck with weather, hahaha 😀 But hooray for a great lunch with great company.

    Please email that photo to me (with the umbrella) when you get a chance!! And call me before you leave for Utah.

  3. this weather sucks! i have to hit up bonobos, ive heard such good things about it!

  4. Katie 16 Handles is deeeelish and I can’t wait to go there with ya! P.S. Next week lunch during your break at work.

  5. 16 Handles and Bonobos all in one day??? I am a very jealous person right now haha. I haven’t tried Bonobos yet, but I’ve read about it and it looks fantastic, definitely on my must-do list.

    Your band is SO talented, I loved that song that was synced to the Wonder Woman video!!!!

  6. wow 16 handles sounds amazing! I have never heard of that place before. Loving the breakfast cookie too 🙂

  7. I’ll have to check out that restaurant when I’m in new York it looks great!

  8. Oh! What a fun day…how fun to hang out with fabulous Veggie Girl 🙂
    And, your salad looks delicious, but that yogurt concoction. I must have some of that haha. Yum!
    I hope you have a wonderful day, dearest

  9. I’m walked by Bonobos a couple of times and wondered about it…I’ll remember to at least stop by for a beverage next time.

  10. Oh poor Jim! haha, promise i’m making one of his face’s up soon! promise!

    And you and liz have good taste! 😉 That agave mustard must have been delish! i’m on such a sweet mustard kick! you know i’ll always love my spicy dijon though…

    ps, sorry i’ve been MIA! my mac is getting fixed up at the apple store!

  11. That chai looks amazing! I’m loving coconut lately.

    Safe travels!

  12. I am so with you on the indecisiveness. I’m going to follow your lead and just mix everything together from now on!

  13. 1. Aren’t bonobos those very sexy monkeys??
    2. We will be westward-ho together! I’ll be in Cali this weekend. Have fun!
    3. Luke says hi.

  14. Um, and by “sexy monkeys” I mean that they have a lot of sex. Not that they are sexy.

    Just to clarify.

  15. I’ve heard so many great things about Bonobo’s. Have fun in Utah!

  16. Pingback: Crunch « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

