A Wedding on the Range

The bride and groom chose to be married at a ranch 30 miles from Park City.  We piled onto buses, and drove into the mountains.

IMG_8737

I tried to take a picture of my hair to check it out, but I am the worst at taking photos of myself.

IMG_8741

When we arrived at the ranch, we hiked up to the site of their “natural altar”.

IMG_8743

It was easy to see why they chose this spot for their wedding…

IMG_8745

IMG_8747
The bridal party arrived, and the service was short and very sweet.

IMG_8754

After their “I Dos” and “I Wills”, the bride and groom went to the woods to take their first walk together as a married coupe.  (It was a short walk; they came right back!)

IMG_8764

We all went down to the ranch house for a champagne toast.

IMG_8800

The hors d’oeuvres were very tasty. This one, a stuffed endive leaf, was similar to one I made in Michigan a few weeks ago.  (The lighting was great inside, but the photos didn’t turn out so well.)

IMG_8779

The shrimp and goat cheese tartlettes were mighty fine.

IMG_8780

Caprese kabobs are a clever way to prepare an old favorite, don’t you think?

IMG_8786

The bride and groom hand selected all of the beverages.  The whiskey was local to Utah; it was very good, and tasted a little like honey. The beer was also a local brew…

IMG_8806

… I stuck to wine.

IMG_8784

Oakley Four Whites is a blend from Oakley, California.  I liked it quite a bit.

IMG_8813

IMG_8788

IMG_8792

The light was beautiful when dinner was served.  I think the house may have been an old barn!

IMG_8809

I was seated at a table with some of my Michigan friends (and some new friends as well).

IMG_8810

We started with a delicious salad: romaine with strawberries, tomatoes, blue cheese, and almonds. The roll was good, but I was saving room for dessert (:-D) and only had a bite.

IMG_8812

Dinner was served buffet-style, which was a great idea and a lot easier than trying to figure out each person’s  dietary needs.  I filled my plate with salmon topped with a corn/tomato/avocado salsa, orzo salad, and mixed veggies.  They were good, but I was hankering for salt and it was nowhere to be found.

IMG_8817

The cake was beautiful.  The top layer was chocolate, the bottom a vanilla rum with raspberries.

IMG_8807

This is a cell phone pick, but ain’t they the cutest?

5216_1028385445936_1714339237_60362_428206_n

I split a piece of vanilla cake, but the photo disappeared.  I also had a bite of a chocolate cupcake and a lemon square.  Mmm. And OOF!

IMG_8822

It was a beautiful wedding, made all the more so by just how darn happy everyone was.  Yep, Miss LVP is turning into a sap.

13 responses to “A Wedding on the Range

  1. Wow….unique wedding.
    I love the pictures. Thanks for sharing.
    Bridal Shower

  2. The wedding looked so beautiful and the cake did as well:) I love non-traditional wedding settings and would probably have mine somewhere in nature. Your hair looks great, by the way:)

  3. your hair is so cute! i miss you! being an adult is no fun.

  4. Beautiful ceremony; LOVE your ‘do; miss YOU!! 🙂

  5. It looks like it was a beautiful wedding. 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  6. Cute hair! Looks like a beautiful wedding.

  7. what a unique, awesome wedding! the site looks AMAZING and the food looks better than any wedding food i’ve had. also, i ADORE your haircut! too cute!

  8. What a gorgeous wedding! I LOVE your hair and your outfit – very cute! Sounds like it was a great event 🙂

    I turn into a huge sap at weddings too which is ironic because I’m the least romantic person I know.

  9. i love weddings!! i am so jealous!
    i’ve been dying to go!!

  10. Sally in Chicago

    I love the pictures and the reports. Thanks for making us feel like we were there. SR

    P.S. I love this blog.

  11. There is photographic evidence of the tequila shot, yikes. Love the blog.

  12. Pingback: Whole Wide World « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

