Dirrrty

Happy Humpday, bloginas and bloginos! I hope your day is going fabulously so far.  We’re scheduled to have thunderstorms today, but so far it’s beautiful out.

Yesterday I started my morning with a big ole mug ‘o yogurt.

IMG_8971

I used Fage 0% and Chocolate PB2 to make a chocolate peanut butter mousse, then layered bananas, apricots, and cherries to make a bombdiggity parfait.

I spent the rest of the morning reading and writing furiously, and broke around 2 for lunch. I heated up a pouch of Trader Joe’s Indian Fare Carrot, Lentil & Onion Soup.

IMG_8974

IMG_8977

IMG_8978

I’ve had this once before, and I really like it.  The ingredient list is simple, it’s not calorically dense for the amount of soup you get, and the flavor is awesome! The only thing that would have made it better is a little shredded coconut or chopped peanuts, like I used to do at school.

IMG_8983

I also made a melty wrap with TJ’s meatless meatballs, light munster cheese, and roasted red pepper hummus.  Our hummus stash is running dangerously low… I think I need to hit up Elise‘s fridge.

IMG_8980

This was my second cup of coffee for the day, and I was WIRED.

IMG_8984

A couple hours later, I had an apple to fuel me through the last of my work.  I had a minor freakout when my computer froze and wouldn’t turn back on… but all is well.

IMG_8985

I finally got my booty to the gym around 6. Note to self: never go to the gym at 6 on a weekday AGAIN.  It was unbelievably crowded; all the machines were taken, I couldn’t get a locker, and it was sheer pandemonium.  There was a DJ spinning by the weight machines, which was cool, but I’d rather be able to work out.  Instead, I did arms, abs, and five minutes on the treadmill… I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked. I did one-minute intervals at a range of 5.8 and 6.8 MPH, which keeps me from getting bored.

After a quick shower (which I don’t usually had to wait for… another reason not to go at this time), I ran over to Whole Foods for some dinner.

IMG_8986

In my box, I got:

  • spinach
  • bok choi
  • seaweed salad
  • farro with apricots and almonds (!)
  • broccoli
  • sesame-glazed rainbow carrots
  • BBQ tofu
  • baked tofu

I wolfed down my meal on the subway and rushed over to the B. B. King Blues Club to meet Leslie, Stewart, and my mom for the Lovin’ Spoonful concert.

Leslie snuck her cup of Coldstone into the club…

IMG_8988

It got a little messy! This was a tasty coffee ice cream with cheesecake combination.

IMG_8989

We hid it by some equipment under the table…

IMG_8990

Very stealthy.

IMG_8991

The show was a lot of fun.  I think my mom, Stewart and Leslie were a little startled by the band’s appearance… a lot has changed since the above video was made.  They still had a great energy, however, and everyone had a great time.

IMG_8993

When I got home I remembered it was “trash night”, so I took  all the recycling and household garbage outside.  One of the main garbage cans didn’t have a bag, so I tried to tip the can into a giant garbage bag.  Unfortunately the can was chained to the fence, so it snapped back, spilling foul-smelling liquid all over me.  And what was this liquid? Rained-on doggy poo.  I did my best to clean it up, and in doing so, covered the already-bagged garbage in the poo.  I went back inside to get some new bags, but forgot to bring my keys with me.  So I was locked out of the house, covered in poo, for about half an hour. Luckily the problem resolved itself and I got in about half an hour later, and took my third shower of the day.  P-U!

I figured that ordeal deserved a special treat, so I went for one of the fancy chocolate squares we got at Tony Caputo’s.  According to “the chocolate guy”, Amadei chocolate is the best on the planet right now.  Tony Caputo’s is the only store in Utah that is licensed to sell it.  Amadei has one all kinds of awards, and in 2006 Food & Wine magazine named it “The World’s Best Chocolate”.

The Chuao variety combines notes of plums, red fruits, and conserves.

IMG_8994

“The chocolate guy” said the only way to really taste all of the flavors in a chocolate is to eat it first thing in the morning, before you’ve even had a glass of water.  I’ll have to do that next time.

I ate it along with a big plate of dried figs, prunes, apricots, and dates (which were smeared with almond butter).

IMG_8996

I washed it all down with some Trader Joe’s Bedtime Tea.

IMG_8997

The combination of tea + a long day wiped me out! I couldn’t even get through Strictly Ballroom, a 90s Australian spoof that’s a cross between Dirty Dancing and Best In Show.  It was really good, so I’m going to finish it before I go to work!

Have a splendid day 🙂

15 responses to “Dirrrty

  1. I try to work out in the mornings before lunch because as the day goes on, it’s less and less likely that I’ll work out.

  2. mmmmmmmmm I want to get some WFs salad bar! Its sooo good! Maybe I can convince Josh into that this weekend. Your breakfast mug of yogurt sounds fabulous. I haven’t tried stirring PB2 into yogurt- putting it on the to try list 😉 Glad you had such a fab day (minus the computer melt down-dumb computers!) Have a good afternoon

  3. Great show recap!!

    That movie sounds interesting.

  4. Thank you for reminding me why I go to the gym in the morning! 😉

    Sorry about the garbage … incident… that sounds rather unappetizing, to say the least! =O

    ❤ ❤

  5. Dog poo?! Oh noooo – that deserves at least TWO chocolates, good grief.

    Yeah Strictly Ballroom was not so good. 😛

  6. Mmm…soup and crack wrap. That was so February 2009 😉

  7. breadandwithit

    Yesterday sounds like one for the record books. Do you believe in magic?

  8. I LOVE THAT DESSERT!!

    Plus WF ! weeeeeeeeeee

    coffee and cheesecake sounds amazing!!!

    that mug of yogurt made me laugh!! I am totally jealous of your greek yog action!! I haven’t had it in SOOO LONG, because it is SOO expensive. I have got to find some sales or coupons or something.

  9. True facts: I remembered seeing that soup on your blog WAY back when you were still in school and I ended up buying it. Well, it’s still sitting in my cupboard 😉

    A DJ by the weights?! That’s crazy!

    That wrap + WFs + cheesecake/coffee combo = yum!

    Dirty Dancing is one of my favorite movies and I liked Best in Show so….I think we know what this means!

  10. Sorry about the doggy-poo incident, and getting locked out, that’s such a Sex in the City type event:)

    Your Whole Foods salad bar selection looks delicious, as does your dried fruit platter, dried figs are awesome!

    Just curious, did you attend Columbia Buisness School? I always study in the buisness school because it has the best food selection:)

  11. I looove that TJ’s soup, but have never thought of putting coconut or peanuts in it! Genius.

    That poop incident sounds horrifying, yet so thoroughly NYC. Hah.

  12. Ewww… I hate a crowded gym! I used to go after work and run into the same problems. Good for you for still going!

    I agree, that is the bombdiggity parfait! Yum!

  13. rained on doggy poo? my heart aches for you from here!

    yay for TJ’s indian…yogurt parfait goodness…LOVIN SPOONFUL CONCERT (insanely jealous…i only listened to motown growing up) and coldstone ice cream!

  14. you KNOW id hook it up in the hummus dept.

    thats pretty cool that they were still rocking out. im guessing the sideburns werent as intense as in the vid?

  15. Pingback: Healthy Living Summit Pt. 1 « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

