Lilveggiehead

Good evening! Sorry for the delayed post… today has been veeeeery long but very productive!

This morning, Ari and I woke up and bounded over to the diner. Well, one of us bounded.  The other looked like this:

IMG_9003

I ordered my standard egg white omelet with spinach, feta, tomato, mushrooms and spinach.

IMG_9005

For some reason I wasn’t as hungry as usual, so although I wolfed down all of the omelet (ketchup and all), I had less than half of the dry toast.

IMG_9007

After doing a little work around the house, I went out for a quick jog.  I ran for a little over two miles and listened to Bon Iver.  I love this album, but I really need new music.

Total time: 22:56 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 198 (100%)

Average heart rate: 180 (90%)

Calories burned: 281

I stuffed some cash into the little pocket in my shorts so I wouldn’t have to go back home before I picked up my groceries. Yeah, I was a sweaty mess and probably really grossed out the clerk at the bodega, but this is New York, after all, and I’m sure she’s seen worse.

Remember Raw Wednesday? I’ve never been very good at keeping up with it, but today I was feeling feisty. I’ve been lusting after Gena’s Raw Peanut Noodles ever since she posted the recipe, and decided today was the day to do it. I’ve noticed several similar creations on some fabulous blogista’s pages, and now I see why!

Check out this mondo carrot I found at the store! (And check out the even hotter sweat-smeared grocery list on the back of my hand.)

IMG_9008

I subbed agave for maple syrup and added yellow peppers to the mix…

IMG_9009

Holy. Freaking. Yum.

IMG_9011

Unfortunately I don’t have a spiralizer (or even a vegetable peeler, for that matter) and had to chop everything by hand.  By the time it was all prepared, I had to hustle out the door and ended up eating it on the subway.  Yes, I’m that girl who eats messy foods in public places.  So sue me!

IMG_9013

I had an apple for dessert.

IMG_9014

Needless to say, my tummy was feeling that fiber burn. But it was a good burn.

I kept up with the veggies and had a big salad for dinner after my shift.  This one had mixed greens, avocado, beets, walnuts, and goat cheese.

IMG_9018

After work I went out for a drink with some friends, stayed for 10 minutes (not very nice of me, but I was taaaard), and went to bed.

That’s all, folks. Tomorrow will be more interesting, I promise.  Hope you had a great Thursday. Bonne nuit 🙂

8 responses to “Lilveggiehead

  1. Hey babe! Glad you enjoyed the recipe.

  2. Haha I always go to the bodega after running and I feel so awkward! Sometimes the store people give me weird looks when I’m all sweaty.

    Your noodles look delish! I’m impressed by your cutting skills, that would have taken me hours to do!

    Have a good Friday:)

  3. hahah thats a sweet picture of Ari. Great job on the run! I love running to the foodstore- it feels like a two-for-one. mmmm veggies in peanut sauce….one of my FAVORITE meals. Glad you enjoyed it too!

  4. Holy freaking yum, indeed!! And thank you for the linkage, haha 😉

  5. Geesh that is ONE huge carrot!!!!

    I was going to buy a julienne peeler the other day, but then I … didn’t. Methinks it would be a worthwhile investment, hmm??

    ❤ ❤

  6. my house has lots of misc. veg peelers, but i always end up chopping myself, because i find it a little theraputic!
    the sauce looks really good!

  7. TOAST!! 😀

    I love fiber food babies – they go away the quickest. That mondo carrot is GLORIOUS!!

  8. hahaha…awww..good morning ari?!

    i was rockin the fiber burn yesterday too…veggie baby in my belly 😉

    well done on the hand chopped salad…that takes serious serious patience. haha, ive been known to eat non-portable meals on the subway myself. i cant help it when im starving though!

Leave a Reply

