Clam on!

Good morning, lovebugs! I hope you had a fabulous weekend and are settling beautifully into this week (which is, looking at the huge calendar plopped on the table right in front of me, one of the last weeks of summer).  I’m sorry for disappearing on you for a few days, but life got busy, as it so often does.  I hope you enjoyed my re-cap; although it was light on the food and higher on the brew. To make up for it, I’d like to share a delicious, quick and easy recipe for fettuccine con vongole that I enjoyed for dinner last night.

IMG_9158

Makes 1.5 servings

  • 3 oz spinach fettuccine
  • 1/2 of a 5 oz can whole clams in clam juice
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 lemon
  • grape tomatoes, as many as desired
  • 1 tsp (or to taste) crushed red pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring a large, salted & oiled pot of water to boil and cook pasta according to package directions.  Meanwhile, prepare the sauce: heat pan, add a splash of oil, and cook garlic for 1-2 minutes until fragrant.  Add a little clam juice and all of the lemon juice.  And clams and red pepper and raise heat, stirring constantly once bubbles begin to form.  Add tomatoes and reduce heat to medium low. Clams should be heated through and the tomato skins should be starting to shrivel. Remove from heat. Drain pasta and add directly to pan with reserved sauce.  Toss with salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

I also had a few leaves of steamed kale:

IMG_9160

Some GIANT carrots and cukes:

IMG_9161

It was a very green dinner. A little too green, actually; I didn’t end up finishing the cucumbers.  Just too much!

IMG_9162

I washed everything down with a little kale water

IMG_9163

… and ate, at the foot of the [unmade] bed, while I got some work done.

IMG_9165

For dessert, I had my usual plate: dried fruit, almond butter, and two squares of Israeli chocolate.

IMG_9167

The chocolate was made with Pop Rocks, and left my mouth pop!-ing all night! I loved it.

During one of my shifts last week, I shared the new Tropical Fruit Tart Larabar with some of the waiters.

IMG_9015

Philip’s take: Mmm! Tastes like a Piña Colada.

IMG_9016

Cornelius’ take: Not extremely sweet, and I like that.

IMG_9017

Blerta’s take: Sour. It’s got a weird taste.

My Pros: Definite coconut taste, which I’ve been loving recently.

My Cons: It has 7g of saturated fat, which I don’t love.  The orange flavor is also a little too strong for me, and reminded me a bit of cleaning products.

Would I buy this again? Probably not. I prefer the more subtle Lara flavors.

Thanks again, Larabar!

Have a great Tuesday, guys.  And in case I don’t see you: good afternoon, good evening and good night 🙂

8 responses to “Clam on!

  1. Hey! I just stumbled across your blog; all of your eats look lovely! Thanks for sharing the pasta recipe, it sounds wonderful. Have a good one! 🙂

  2. The 7 grams of saturated fat are probably healthy fats from the coconut, so the stats shouldn’t be too bad.

  3. Yum, that pasta dish looks incredible! Too bad I’m deathly allergic to clams haha.

    I just read your recap and it looks like you had a blast! You guys look so cute together on the boat:) I have serisously had the song Wonderwoman stuck in my head for like a week now!

    P.S- We should totally have sushi AND Grom date- they are located within a two block radius:)

  4. I always admire your dessert plates. I may start copying you 🙂

    Giant carrots are so much better than baby carrots!

  5. btw, i forgot to mention in your last post how ridic jealous i am that you found the pb&j lara. how come im STILL unable to track it down…im making it my mission to get it tomorrow at WFs

  6. This looks really yummy!! Can’t wait to plan a dinner (hopefully super soon)

  7. “light on the food and higher on the brew” everyone is allowed that from time to time! Sometimes I tell my friends that I just want to drink my dinner and call it a day 😉

    The tropical Lara is the only flavor I can find at the moment but I was scared it would taste like Lysol – I’m glad I passed!!

  8. Pingback: Working For a Buck « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

