Working For a Buck

Good morning and happy humpday! The week goes so fast when you’ve had a long weekend.  I can’t believe Boston is in two days!  I still don’t know who all is going to be there, so if you’re reading this and are going, please drop me a line!

Yesterday, I started my morning with another awesome parfait.

IMG_9168

  • plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1 white peach
  • 1 plum
  • 2 cherries
  • cinnamon

Yum!

This didn’t hold me too well, sadly, and I had to break into one of my snacks on the way to my internship.   I’m running dangerously low on fig bars; a trip to TJ’s is greatly needed!

IMG_9170

I went to Starbucks on my lunch break.  Even though I brought lunch with me, I wanted a place to sit and get out of the sun.  It was almost 100 yesterday! I ordered a tall iced coffee (and added skim and sugar in the raw) to grant me a chair.

IMG_9171

I brought 1/2 serving of my leftover spinach fettucine con vongole:

IMG_9172

I still had some leftover dressing from my raw “peanut” noodles, so I brought that and dipped leftover steamed kale and romaine in it. Deliciously messy.

IMG_9173

With an apple, it made a pretty good for a lunch on the go!

IMG_9174

After a few more hours of work at the office, I headed across town to go to the restaurant.  I’d been craving a smoothie all day, so I stopped at Elixir.  Every day they have $5 specials, so I went with that and got the Smart Start: banana, apple cider, orange juice, strawberries, melon, gingko, and protein powder.

IMG_9175

A pretty hefty “snack”, but I thought I was going to have to power through another 8-hour shift.

Thinking I would have to wait until 11 to eat dinner, I split a Ginger Snap Larabar with my friend Cornelius around 7.

IMG_9176

Unfortunately, by 7:45 I’d only had one table (whose grand total came to $11.92), so I went home with a wrinkly dollar in my pocket. I should have only made $.65 after tip-out (we have to give back 35%), but the busboys, bartender and manager didn’t want the $.10.

I took a salad to go; new policy says that wait-staff can only have plain lettuce or plain pasta, so I took my dinner home and beefed it up.

IMG_9177

I added tomatoes, goat cheese, a chik’n patty, hummus, red pepper flakes and lemon vinaigrette.

I was craving chemicals for dessert and had a Skinny Cow vanilla-flavored Skinny Dipper.

IMG_9178

While watching Almost Famous for the 23rd time, I did some therapeutic laundry-folding and felt a little better.

Sorry for that little rant. Today will be better! Ho ho ho.

21 responses to “Working For a Buck

  1. Hang in there, girl!! Today will DEFINITELY be better, I can feel it 😀

  2. What, wait… by “plain lettuce or plain pasta,” you mean like… if you just walked into a supermarket and picked up a head of lettuce?? What’s the reasoning for that?? :/

    ❤ ❤

  3. Aw, sorry yesterday didn’t go so well. But today is a new day! I hope you have a wonderful, fantastic day!

  4. Dude – plain lettuce or plain pasta?! That’s not right! I like your beefed up version though 🙂

    I hope today is better for you!! I’m wishing you a wonderful Wednesday!

  5. I’m going to Boston! Glad to know you’re going to be there too!

  6. Plain lettuce or plain pasta is kinda weak :/ But you beefed it up nice 🙂

    Today will definitely be better! And you’re one day closer to your Boston trip!

  7. That smoothie sounds jammin and the color is so pretty! Bummer about work! That must be super frustrating. Almost famous is a fabulous movie. Love Kate

  8. southerngracesblog

    Your posts always make me smile!
    I am sorry to hear about your quick shift 😦 My sister is a waitress too and I know all about how you feel from her stories…frustrating, right?!
    I hope today is just fabulous, love.
    Oh, and quick question- I have never had a white peach. Is that weird? Well anyway I always contemplate them but end up with the regular ones. What’s the difference?!

  9. Oh man, that blows that they changed their food policy. You always had such amazing dinners at work! At least you still got some free veggies and got to watch Almost Famous – it’s such a great flick!

  10. Chris has never seen Almost Famous. I’m seriously considering just going and buying it today.

  11. breadandwithit

    The new food policy is outrageous.

  12. That’s so funny! I went to Elixir yesterday morning but I forgot to blog about it;) They have the best smoothies, so much better than Jamba Juice (though I wish they weren’t so expensive!)

    I cannot believe that new food policy at your restaurant, how terrible!

    I’ve never heard of the ice cream sandwich place you mentioned in your comment but it sounds INCREDIBLE! I love anything involving multiple types of cookies:)

  13. I hate when that happens! I have had more than 1 Saturday night when I literally have not had a single table in my section. Isn’t that pathetic?
    (And only plain salad or plain pasta? Boo. Well, we have to pay for anything that isn’t salad, so…)

    Feel better!

  14. i hope today is better! I wish I was going to Boston! I’m hoping there’s one next year 🙂

  15. Ugh sorry about your slow night. I remember getting sent home early from lululemon on super-slow nights. Only plain lettuce or plain pasta?! What the… looks like you made do pretty well.

    See you sooooon! 😉

  16. I recently found your blog – I love it! Hang in there…the days can only get better 🙂

  17. Yum! Chemicals or not, that skinny cow bar looks delicious. Perfect for a sweet tooth craving.

    I can commiserate with your waitressing woes…I’m a waitress, too! It sucks, but hey…it gives you some killer guns!! 😉

  18. Pingback: Gearing up… « Lilveggiepatch

  19. dang, they’re getting a bit stiff at work!! glad you were able to jazz up that salad 🙂

  20. almost famous must be the best movie ever….

    Really…”I want to go home…. YOU ARE HOME”

    “I love rocknroll….I’M ON DRUGGGGS”

    lol..yea…I watch that movie too much. Pair it with a nice Pamela Des Barre memoir and you are good to go!

  21. Pingback: Ready For Life To Start « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

