Crunch

We went to the diner for breakfast yesterday and I forgot the camera. Sorry! I got my usual, though (egg white omelet with spinach, tomato, mushroom & feta, with ketchup art & dry toast).

After sending Ari off to a bachelor’s life on the road, I met Caitlin for lunch at Bonobo’s. I’ve been dreaming about this place since I first went, and this trip did not disappoint.

To drink, I tried their gingeraid.  It was so refreshing, with just the right amount of kick-ya-in-the-throat ginger.

IMG_9189

Caitlin and I both got the nori wraps.

IMG_9191

I stuffed mine with carrots, beets, cukes, zucchini, and sprouts; glued them together with curried sunflower and sunflower dill pastes.

IMG_9200

For dessert, I got a sweet sesame ball.  It tasted like a combination of marzipan and sesame brittle… amazing. They also have a mesquite chocolate ball, which I’m going to have to try next time.

IMG_9198

After leaving Caitlin, I did some window shopping/lusting and found some killer things. Unfortunately, these things did not come home with me, and I headed to work empty-handed.

I brought some fresh figs to snack on.  I shared a couple with some of the other waiters, but ate most of the carton myself.  Great snack!

IMG_9203

I had two extra figs by the time dinner rolled around, so I smushed them on top of my arugula/tomato/apple/orange salad. Mmm!

IMG_9205

I stopped at the bodega on the way home for my usual 1 lb of belly-busting fruit.

IMG_9206

Now it really is crunch time for me… I have to take out the trash, run, shower, and PACK for Boston.

Have a great weekend, and see some of you in a few hours!!!

9 responses to “Crunch

  1. gina (fitnessista)

    i totally want to try that restaurant next time i’m in ny!
    have a happy friday 😀

  2. No toast picture?! What am I going to do with you?! 😀

    Those nori wraps look incredible! Good luck packing and have a safe trip!!

  3. I just had a “duh” moment involving homemade nori wraps.

    Have a great time! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  4. I can’t believe I haven’t tried Bonobos yet! It is definitely on my imminent “to-do” list. Have a safe trip:)

  5. southerngracesblog

    That sweet sesame ball looks very good! I am thinking I would love it 🙂
    Oh, window shopping. So fun, but not as fun as actually shopping haha. Oh, girl I know!

  6. You’re making me miss Bonobos (and you) too much!!

  7. Have fun in Beantown! I definitely want to try Bonobos Gingeraid….like right now.

    I bought some green figs at Whole Foods this week and there were some seriously underripe ones in there and they were nasty! The ripe ones were alright but I dunno, they did not live up to my expectations considering how much I love dried figs!

  8. breadandwithit

    Your photos keep getting better and better. Show us some good old Boston cod!

  9. Pingback: Stealing Beauty « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

