Healthy Living Summit Pt. 3- The After Party

Last night, the remaining Summit attendees walked through the Public Garden en route to the Fisherman’s Feast Italian Food Festival.

IMG_9306

IMG_9307

We walked through Quincy Market

IMG_9309

… and finally came upon the Festival in Boston’s North End.

IMG_9314

There was a lot of great city culture going on, like a 1 LB-pasta eating contest. I didn’t think I was quite up for the task…

IMG_9315

Most of the food was deep-fried, on a stick, or both. My best bet were the arancinis, or fried rice balls.

IMG_9316

I bought the spinach & cheese flavor- Meghann thinks it was feta- and covered it in marinara sauce.

IMG_9319

A few bites in, I knew it was going to leave me feeling sick, so I tried to just eat the inside rice part and left the fried shell.

IMG_9320

A little later, we happened upon a Barefoot wine tasting!

IMG_9328

Caitlin negotiated a special “blogette” deal: 3 tastes/ $3.

IMG_9323

I really liked the Sauvignon Blanc

IMG_9325

I spent two of my tickets on two little SB “shots.”

IMG_9326

I also tried the Pinot Noir.

IMG_9329

It was good, but I think I should have gone with the Zinfandel instead.

IMG_9330

After the tasting, we took off in search of Mike’s Pastry, a famed Bostonian bakery.

IMG_9331

The line was out the door… a sure way to know if a place is good!

IMG_9332

Although Mike’s is known for their cannoli, I decided to go for gelato.

IMG_9333

Almost every time I eat gelato I order hazelnut- or nocciola, in this case- and today was no different.

IMG_9334

I convinced Tina, Heather, and Heather’s sister Nadine to jump on the nutty bandwagon, too… it was so creamy and delicious, I could have eaten two! We walked back to the hotel- 4 miles, there and back- and crashed into bed.

It was a great night, and the day is gearing up to be a good one.ย  I’m off to join the rest of the ladies for a park-side brunch. But first… Lindsay is giving away a copy of Fit Soul, Fit Body!ย  Check it out.

Have a great Sunday!

10 responses to “Healthy Living Summit Pt. 3- The After Party

  1. Great fare!!

    Enjoy your day today!!

  2. looks like a great day! Those rice balls look amazing lol.. have a great last summit day ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yum, hazelnut gelato totally rocks! I love Grom’s chocolate/hazel nut flavor, it tastes like eating frozen nutella!

    I just read your post from yesterday and it looks like the summit was such a blast. You guys got pretty sweet goody bags as well:)

    Have a safe trip home!!!

  4. I LOVE gelato!! It looks like a fun night!

  5. Excellent choice with the hazelnut gelato!! Glad you had a great time at the summit – I’ve loved your recaps ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I LOVED that gelato! Thanks for the recommendation! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. hey there stranger! i’m glad we met at the summit. it’s so overwhelming smiling, shaking hands and getting to know new people. i was EXHAUSTED by the time i got home. how was the run this morning? lol.

    keep in touch! ‘cuz i’ll be there again next year.

  8. I loved the gelato. Thanks for introducing me to it!

  9. all you bloggies look like you had so much fun in Boston! can’t wait to hopefully go next year – loved all your summit posts! happy day to you!

  10. Looks like everyone had SO much fun! I’m totally jealous ๐Ÿ˜‰ mmm Gelato!!!!! Hope Monday treats ya well!

Leave a Reply

