Healthy Living Summit Pt. 4- Over and Out

Good morning and happy Monday! By now, I’m sure you’ve all read numerous recaps of the 2009 Healthy Living Summit… I know I have! It’s interesting to see everyone’s take on it, because, like us bloggers, no two experiences are the same.

Yesterday morning, some of us met at 7:30 for a run. We hadn’t had coffee, but look at all those smiling faces! (Thanks to Caitlin for letting me bogart her pictrures πŸ™‚ )

IMG_0273[2]

I joined the 3 mile group, and enjoyed great conversation (pug or German Shepherd?) with like-minded ladies.

IMG_0274_thumb

We ended up going about 3.5 miles, and I know I could have gone on longer. Having someone (or 10 someones!) to run with makes all the difference.Β  Do I see a race in my future?

Total time: 33:36 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 192 (96%)
Average heart rate: 172 (86%)

Calories burned: 380

After the run we had over an hour until breakfast, and I needed something for my tum.Β  Coffee!Β  I spent an embarrassingly long time trying to find the filters…

IMG_9341

… only to discover they were “tea bag” style, and the filters were the coffee. Doh.

IMG_9343

The group reassembled and went to Finagle A Bagle for lunch.

IMG_9345

Talk about maximum efficiency! The bagels shoot out, assembly-line style…

IMG_9349

They are then sliced by a giant spinning blade.

IMG_9350

There were so many interesting bagel choices! French Toast, Honey Grain, Stuffed Vegetable…

IMG_9352

The line was long, but we were all in an out in no time.Β  That’s progress, baby, progress.

IMG_9353

We found a grassy knoll to sit on and enjoyed our breakfast outside, enjoying the last minutes of the Healthy Living Summit.

IMG_9355

It took me a little while to set up my breakfast (I can be a little high-maintenance about that, if you haven’t noticed ;-): On a toasted honey grain bagel, I spread light cream cheese on half, and Barney Butter with honey on the other half.

IMG_9356

I also made sure to get some fruit in.

IMG_9357

I was in a little bit of a rush to make the 12 PM checkout, but I managed to grab Heather to take a sunglass-twin photo. Why spend good money on fancy shades when you can get sexy ones like these at Target?

IMG_9358

I hustled back to the hotel, grabbed my stuff, and hobbled out.Β  When I got to the station, I surveyed all of the food choices.Β  Not great, but I did manage to find a Greek Salad at D’Angelo’s.

IMG_9361

IMG_9362

I wasn’t a fan of the creamy dressing it came with… a relief, because I knew it would also stink up the bus. (I removed the onions for that very reason!)

IMG_9365

There was an absurd amount of feta and olives, and I left a lot behind.

IMG_9370

I also munched on an apple while reading my copy of Body + Soul from the swag bag. There are some great recipes in there that I can’t wait to try!

IMG_9371

The ride from Boston –> New York is almost five hours, so I needed another snack. I went back to the swag bag for a Fruition bar, made by the makers of Pro Bar.

IMG_9373

IMG_9375

Here’s an idea of the size of the bar, using my camera case:

IMG_9377

IMG_9379

IMG_9380

Pros: There’s a definite strawberry flavor here.Β  It’s very soft and grainy, so you don’t have to work too hard to eat it like some other sports bars out there. It reminds me of something I ate as a kid during snack time at school (which is reinforced by the sticky fingers you will get upon eating this). I like its snack size; you don’t have to make the 400 calorie commitment that you do for a regular Pro Bar. It also has very pretty packaging!

Cons: It’s a little too soft for me. I wish it would either be firmer like a Larabar, or crunchier like a granola here. There are oats in here, after all, so it shouldn’t be so soggy!

Bottom line: Would I buy this? Maybe. I want to try the other flavors of Fruition; I’ve heard rumors of Blueberry, which sounds pretty good. I don’t know how widely available they are yet (I’ve never seen them in stores), but keep your eyes open!

I shlepped about 100 pounds home from Chinatown and just wanted a comforting meal.Β  I made my old standby comfort food:

IMG_9383

Gliding Calm tofu; a sweet potato with butter, cinnamon and brown sugar; steamed kale with rice wine vinegar; brown rice. This meal really feels like the equivalent of a big bear hug.

Do you have any comfort foods or meals you turn over and over?

I enjoyed dinner with a small glass of Villa Farnia di Farnese’s 2008 Montepulciano d’Abruzzo that my friend Howard gave me.

IMG_9387

Frank Bruni describes this as a “good, solid, dependable wine;”Β  a staple in Italian restaurants.Β  It is medium tannin, smooth, and has the taste of black fruit.

I enjoyed the wine while watching Revolutionary Road and munching on one of Jenna‘s chocolate chip biscotti.

IMG_9393

Er, make that two biscotti. I didn’t want the first one to be lonely!

IMG_9404

Another great day. The Summit was a blast.Β  I had so much fun meeting over one hundred women who love to do some of the same things I do! Who’d a thought, in high school, that that would be possible?

It’s back to the grind, unfortunately, and I have a lot of reading to do. Hope your week is off to a great start!

28 responses to “Healthy Living Summit Pt. 4- Over and Out

  1. Fun breakfast outing and GREAT run!! I do see a race in your future πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with work!!

  2. LOVE the GC tofu meal… reminds me I have to make that again, and soon! Love the pic with Hangry Heather too πŸ™‚

  3. Aww, it looks like you had such a blast at the summit! You should totally do a race, by the way, Road Runners has some pretty awesome ones:)

    Your meal at home looks so delish and perfectly balenced! My comfort foods would probably be ceral with milk, brown rice, milkshakes, and toasted bagels:)

  4. That looks like so much fun! I’m putting that bagel joint on my list of places to go. Aren’t hotel coffee makers just weird?! Love the shades πŸ™‚

    Your comfort meal sounds so delicious!

  5. southerngracesblog

    Sounds like a really great time, my dear! Love your comfort food meal πŸ™‚ Hope your Monday is fab!

  6. ah I am so jealous you went! looks like fun! I am glad ur travels were safe!

  7. I got a strawberry fruition bar too but haven’t tried it yet. Looking forward to it!

    Sad I couldn’t go to the run on sunday but I was injured… I really wanted to though!

  8. it was so nice chatting with you at the cocktail party! such a fun weekend.

    and btw – i am in complete love with your sense of style!

  9. It was great meeting you this weekend!

  10. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  11. Hey Katie!

    Carlye and I ate one of those Pro Bars… on top of a mountain! I thought it was tasty, in fact, I kinda liked its mushiness. I just started reading this blog, but I like, so I’ll be back, the summit sounds like lots o’ fun.

    -Joe

  12. It was great talking to you this weekend! Can’t wait for another NYC meet-up!

  13. It was great meeting you this weekend! Glad you made it home in one piece!!!!!!

  14. Man, I am so attractive with that lovely face! Haha! Love it! πŸ™‚

  15. Glad you made it home in one piece (or several–how did you manage to pack 100 lbs for 1 weekend? That’s more than I came back with from Study Abroad!)

    Happy reading-times. Happy tofu times. Happy being back home times.

    Comfort meal? When I feel tired and not up for an elaborate cooking extravaganza, I make pasta or a yogurt bowl. Not too fancy, but always comforting.

  16. so much fun…now we have to setup a date so i can get all the behind the scenes (non-blogged) deets πŸ™‚

    love the tarjay sunnies btw.

  17. I wanted to run so badly, but I’m glad I didn’t and went to the MD instead. What a gorgeous day for a run by the Charles. You and Heather are hot in your sunglasses!

  18. I’m so glad you went and had so much fun! I love the picture of you and Heather…I forgot how tall you are (I’m 5’11”), or how short Heather is. No wonder she’s hangry.

  19. great job with the running!!! how inspiring πŸ™‚ Maybe we could train for a race together…. I really want to improve my distance

    anyways you are the cows pajamas (i think thats better than the cats’)

  20. homegirlcaneat

    Ah just caught up on yo life in B-town and it looks like it twas AMAZE! I am jeal. The bagel looks off da CHAIN! Barney butter was boughten last week and already half way gone..HOLLA!

  21. killer day of eats – yum on the bagel, salad (minus the olives) and your comfort food is totes MY comfort food. the biscotti and wine…you are my kinda gal πŸ™‚

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  22. Also, when did you become lilveggiepatch.com?!?!

  23. I kept wanting to talk to you but I was too nervous! I’m glad you enjoyed the Summit! I like your break down of the the Fruition bars. I haven’t tried mine yet. Just wanted to tell you are beautiful! and I will definitely keep reading. πŸ™‚

  24. OMG. You MUST take me to Finagle a Bagel when I come visit you in NYC (as soon as money allows!). Also, love the pic of you gals running, because I recognized that cute butt from step aerobics. hehe.
    While I was home for a week in Iowa, mornings were my step time, since my mom’s got a whole setup in the basement. So fun! She showed me some new moves, and I even showed her some. I need to buy me a step sometime, if only they weren’t so ‘spensive!

  25. Looks like you enjoyed your time at the Summit! Finagle is definitely one of my favorite memories of living in Boston (during college). Love the slingshot slicer, haha!

  26. Pingback: Let’s try new things! « Lilveggiepatch

  27. Alright, just to clarify, I actually am tall enough to ride all the adult rides at an amusement park. Trajay rocks.

  28. PS I put my fruition bars in the fridge and they are more solid that way.

Leave a Reply

