Let’s try new things!

For some reason this post didn’t go through this morning…

Good morning, everyone! Ready for Tuesday? I pressed snooze one too many times this morning, so I’m a little less prepared than I would have liked, but you can’t win ’em all.

Yesterday, first thing in the morning, I popped a square of Amadei’s 70% Toscano Black chocolate.

IMG_9412

This is apparently the way chocolate “should” be eaten, and I agree… having chocolate in the morning made me feel like a queen!

In terms of real “breakfast” food, I decided to break into my new stash of Amazing Grass. From the reviews I’ve read by other bloggers, the Grass can be a bit… strong, on its own, upon first taste.Β  I decided to play it safe and blended the Berry Green Superfood flavor with water and a banana.

IMG_9406

Upon first taste, it was a little thin, so I added a scoop of chunky peanut butter.

IMG_9414

It was perfect! I took my green smoothie outside, to enjoy it in its natural habitat πŸ™‚

IMG_9415

After breakfast, I hit the books for a few hours before work.Β  In the middle of my reading, I shared an apple with my interim boyfriend, Monster.

IMG_9418

When I work, I try to keep myself on track and away from distractions the same way I do when I run. “In fifty pages I can have a snack…. When I get to the next chapter I can check my email….” (“In two minutes I can walk for thirty seconds…”)Β  When I could stand my hunger no longer, I broke for lunch.

I’ve had this package of Fantastic World Foods Spicy Thai Vegetarian Soup for-EVAH.Β  I bought it when I was still in school and have seriously carted it all over the place, thinking it would make a good, quick meal.Β  I even brought it with me to the Summit! (Sounds like a security blanket, hmm?)

IMG_9425

I’m not a huge fan of packaged noodle soups, but these noodles are baked, not deep-fried, unlike conventional ramen soups. The nutritional profile is pretty good, too, and the ingredient list is short and comprehensive.

IMG_9426

I bulked up the meal, making it LVP-friendly.

IMG_9427

I took advantage of my leftover steamed kale and GC-tofu and stirred them into the soup.

IMG_9428

Not bad! It did need a little more flavor, however, so I added some miso paste, Bragg’s, and Sriracha. Noodle-slurping good πŸ™‚

IMG_9437

Dessert was something really special.Β  I’ve been meaning to make Gena’s Lemon Chiffon pudding for a week, and I thought I deserved to have it on a Monday.Β  It was so, so good. Who would have thought avocado would make a good dessert? The lady’s a genius.

IMG_9419

During work, I had an Amazing Grass Organic Green SuperFood Whole Food Energy Bar.

IMG_9443

I reviewed this bar way back when, and still enjoyed it. I liked it more with every bite! I was paranoid that it was getting stuck in my teeth, though, so it took me over an hour to eat so I wouldn’t humiliate myself in front of the customers!

RamΓ³n was in a ridiculously good mood yesterday, and said we could have whatever we wanted to eat! I went with the special salad (mixed greens, a sliver of avocado, apple, tomato, walnuts, and goat cheese), topped with…

IMG_9439

GRILLED SHRIMP! I was a happy girl.

IMG_9440

I stopped at a new frozen yogurt place, Yogurt Station (one of FOUR fro-yo places on St. Mark’s) and got a huge cup of nonfat peanut butter, chocolate, cake batter, and green tea. I went a little crazy with the toppings and added mango, mochi, Heath bar, and a chocolate-covered pretzel.

IMG_9441

All that for $3.73! A gal’s gotta treat herself sometimes.

Have a great day!

20 responses to “Let’s try new things!

  1. Just found your blog. Great recap of the HLS. I wish I could have gone. Your salad looks great!

  2. add that to my list of froyo places I have to hit up in NYC!

  3. seriously.amazing.food.post.
    yum.

    ps.
    love the teddy bear picture.

  4. southerngracesblog

    wow, the yogurt looks so good! i wish we had yogurt places like that in new orleans. and of course, i am looooving the grilled shrimp on the salad πŸ™‚
    have a great day!!

  5. I think I might have to do a walking tour in NY and just hit up the fro-yo places one day! πŸ˜€ Love how you jazzed up the ramen bowl…and impressed that you manage to have leftover vegetables. No matter how many I make, I inevitable eat them all!

  6. Gluten-free/soy-free chocolate!! Music to my ears πŸ™‚

  7. WOW that yogurt looks freaking awesome. What great toppings! Your din din from last night looks much like my din din from tonight!!!! Love that you had chocolate first thing in the am. I’m totally doing that tomorrow πŸ˜‰

  8. Awww, your monster buddy is so adorable! All of your eats look so fantastic, I love how you beefed up those noodles. That lemon chiffon pudding also looks divine:)

    I’m glad Ramon was in a good mood and made you that beautiful salad! That whole “pasta and plain lettuce” policy seemed pretty whack.

    Yogurt Station=Heaven You can never go wrong with a buffet of fro-yo and toppings:)

  9. Hooray! So glad you liked.

  10. I like your chocolate eating style, girl ;).

    I have yet to try any of the Amazing Grass products from the Summit swag bag, but your positive review has motivated me to dig in!

    The soup you “doctored up” ended up looking wonderful. A few homemade touches can make a packaged meal so much more exciting and tasty.

    I’m impressed by the price of your fro yo! J.P. Licks is delicious, yes… but also overpriced. It’s a good thing I have to walk about a mile to the closest location, or else I’d be blowing a bunch of cash every week!

  11. I have to add hot sauce to every soup! It’s a must! Thanks for the heads up on that soup – I have a feeling when I’m traveling it will come in handy πŸ™‚

    Your special salad sure does look special! I think one of those 4 fro places should come to Detroit – spread the love!!

  12. I love when Ramon is in a good mood. I wonder if he got some. πŸ˜‰

  13. Haha I love the “Amazing Grass in the fake plant” shot. Exotic!

    I totally do that too- buy something and carry it around for a long time, but never actually get around to eating it. I’ve got some unopened stuff that I brought home from school in May…

    There is not enough froyo in the Boston area. This must be remedied.

  14. ahhh I need a yogurt place like that where I live! We seriously have NONE. That sounds sooo good and refreshing!!! I’m also glad you enjoyed your amazing grass πŸ™‚ I always blend mine with banana and peaniut butter and it always turns out lovely!

  15. i’m glad to see you finally tried the AmazingGrass. you better enjoy the ones i gave you EXTRA! lol. i really wish i could have it because it really makes you feel amazing.

    also your meals always look so good. like anyone could make them. even me πŸ™‚ i’m still awaiting Anna’s sister’s “Microwave Blog!!” i’d be all over it!

  16. oh, and p.s.- your pics DEFINITELY came out better than mine lol. i think it really was the lighting though. i’m going to put it on the survey form πŸ™‚

  17. What a fro-yo combo!
    And I like the chocolate in the morning. And anytime else, too.

  18. nothing better than starting your day with chocolate πŸ™‚

    that noodle bowl does look good – I’ll have to look for it.

    love the froyo! we need a froyo place here. I want all the combinations I see on the blogs, but can’t ever get them!

  19. Amazing food! And yes, I second Brandi’s opinion…chocolate is the best way to start the day. And froyo is the best way to end it. πŸ™‚

  20. Pingback: Year One « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

