Spice Gets In Your Eyes

Good morning and happy Saturday! I hope you’ve had a fabulous Friday night, and your weekend is off to a great start.  I let myself sleep in again today, giving myself a whopping 9.5 hours of sleep! I could get used to this 🙂

Breakfast yesterday was mighty fine: an Ezekiel English muffin with almond butter, 1/2 banana, cinnamon and honey. I also had a carton of O.N.E. coconut water that I found on sale, and some wake-me-up-it’s-Friday! coffee.

IMG_9579

I must not have washed my hands well enough before putting in my contacts, because the cinnamon from my breakfast really burned me up!

eyes

I didn’t learn my lesson, though, and snacked on an apple with more cinnamon sprinkled on top a few hours later 😀

IMG_9582

I’d planned on spending a couple hours at the gym, but somehow the hours got away from me and it was already 2:00 by the time I suited up.  I really wasn’t in the mood for a run, and turned back around after five minutes.  I guess the Fates must have been telling me not to force myself to exercise, because it started pouring on my walk back home. Sometimes I just have to let myself not work our when I’m not feeling it.

Lunch was something I’ve been craving all week: Gina‘s Raw Pad Thai With Spicy Almond Butter Sauce. In place of the cucumber, I added some shredded carrots. It was delicious! Sweet, spicy, and filling.

IMG_9590

Speaking of Gina, she recently revamped the look of Fitnessista, and is having some problems with Google Reader.  Please re-subscribe to Gina’s site so you can keep up with her amazing recipes, cute puppers, and sweet husband!

I also had a container of Liquiteria’s Royal Flush:  Pineapple, pear, aloe & ginger juice with their liver-kidney detox blend. This was delicious! Lightly sweet, with that ginger kick that I love so much.

IMG_9593

The story behind this juice? A customer at the restaurant, after hearing me rave (a little longingly 😦 ) about Liquiteria, produced one from his tote bag and gave it to me! Who says New Yorkers are unfriendly?

After lunch, I did some housework then dodged raindrops as I hustled into the city to meet my little red-headed friend and our friend Danny for dinner.  We went to Lantern, a Thai restaurant I found when looking up BYOB restaurants in the Union Square area.  This ended up not being the case, but we still had a nice time.  (Clearly, I did not know this photo was being taken…)

IMG_9598

The three of us decided to split everything.  We started with an appetizer trio (L-R): Golden chive patties made with rice flour in a sweet black soy dipping sauce; summer rolls with baby spinach, rice noodles, carrot, celery and a peanut-plum dipping sauce; and Lantern’s Angel– shrimp wrapped with crispy rice noodles in a honey-chili sauce.  Kalle and I let Danny have the bear’s portion of all of these… growing boys need their nutrients!

IMG_9600

We split two entrées: Pad Thai with shrimp

IMG_9603

… and Massaman Curry (a peanut-y soup with chunks of potato and onion) with tofu.

IMG_9604

I enjoyed each dish with a little steamed rice, and it was just the right amount of food for me.

We left the restaurant and headed to Brooklyn to check out Kalle’s new apartment and drink the bottle of wine I’d brought. Notice the frame on the left by Danny’s arm… it’s a picture of Kalle and me on prom night. MAYBE, if I’m feeling feisty, I’ll post some of those pictures later.

IMG_9606

The wine we shared was a bottle of Orovales 2007 Rioja, a gift from my friend Howard. Here’s what Howard says about the wine: “The Orovales Rioja 2007 is pure Tempranillo, expertly crafted by Manuel Ruiz Pedreira. It was aged in American oak for 6 months. The 2007 vintage was a challenging one with difficult weather conditions; however, even though yields were down, quality was high with lovely concentrated fruit. The wine is a smooth, vanilla-scented, oak-aged red. The wine is near maturity but can be laid down for 1 to 2 years. It has medium tannin and should be had at 64 degrees Fahrenheit. It pairs well with beef, cheese and tomato-based pastas.”

IMG_9609

We enjoyed the wine “solo”, but quickly went out to Yogo Monster for some frozen yogurt.  Wine must be had with dessert! I had a cup of Original Tart and Raspberry (both fat free), topped with coconut and fresh raspberries.  Nom!

IMG_9611

Since Ari’s still away, I decided to spend the night at my parents’ house.  When I got there, even though it was after midnight and I was pretty full, I made myself a bowl of Puffins with a sprinkle of Mueslix, topped with blueberries.  I don’t know what it is, but in high school and college whenever I got home after a late night, I always had a bowl of cereal when I got home. I guess you just don’t mess with tradition.

IMG_9612

I watched a little TV and fell asleep in a pool of mail and magazines.  Yes, I am a sloth sometimes 🙂

15 responses to “Spice Gets In Your Eyes

  1. It looks like you had a very fun Friday night! I love the Liquiteria story, that’s so awesome (especially since their juices are SO expensive). I’ve never been to Yogo Monster but it looks really good. I’m super jealous that you work so close to 16 Handles;)

    I haven’t blogged about it yet but after reading your last post I went to Chelsea Market today and it was awesome! I love those free brownie samples:)

    Have a nice weekend!

  2. SO nice of that customer with the Liquiteria bottle!!

    Mmm, lovin’ Gina’s raw pad thai dish and the food at Lantern!!

  3. Your poor eyes!

    I love that your Puffins cereal looks just like the picture on their boxes, if not more delicious. How is everything you eat so beauuutiful?!

    hugs

  4. Thanks for telling me about the Fitnessista upgrade, I had no idea!

  5. So cool about the customer and the Liquiteria 😀 Lunch and dinner look incredible! I need to get round to trying one of Gena’s recipes…they all sound so good.

    Have a great weekend!

  6. Sorry the cin bit back! I never realized it would sting if it got in your eyes!

    That curry looks stupendous! I give you major props if you post your prom pictures – my prom pictures are a little….embarassing?! I’d post my homecoming pictures in a heartbeat though 🙂

  7. southerngracesblog

    Your dinner at Lantern looks SO good! As does your yogurt 🙂 Happy Saturday my love!

  8. Massaman curry and pad thai are hands down two of my favorite thai dishes! Holler!

  9. Cereal is my go-to food whenever I come home past 10 pm. I’m glad to hear someone else has the same obsession I do! It always makes you go to bed with a happy tummy 🙂

  10. I had no idea cinnamon could do that… scary!

    Some totally random guy in the Dominican Republic told me that he knows “New Yorkers are always so polite.” Okay, granted, he was trying to make a sale, but still… I just about cracked up. “New Yorker” is generally not synonymous with “polite”!! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  11. Oh man..your eyes look painful! Dang cinnamon! But it’s soooo so good…eh haha. That fro yo looks divine. I wish we had lots of places like that here in canada. Boo.

  12. Oh, that looks like it hurts…your poor eyes! All the eats look fantastic! YUM!

  13. Sounds so fun! Can you, me and Kalle do some BYOB too?

  14. this post had my name written all over it! first, that breakfast with loads of cinnamon is one of my faves. second, i envy your eyelashes – they are gorge. i have this weird obsession with eyelashes…i wish mine were long and full, but they are short and stubby 😦

    then you went out for thai and got one of my fave dishes ever – massaman curry. mmmmm! mentions of high school prom photos always make me laugh and topped it with frozen yog. LOVE IT.

    happy weekend dear 🙂

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  15. ummmmmmmm how are you so hot that you can make a grey tea look so BANGING?!

    that food looks damn good too.

    and sooooooooooooo SORRY about your cinnamon in the da EYES!! ouchie wuchie!! that is no fun at all mama!!!

Leave a Reply

