7.5

Good evening, friends! I don’t know about you, but this has been a very long day! Tuesdays seem harder to get through than Mondays. I did manage to get 7.5 hours of sleep, which set a nice tone for the day.  I’ve decided to start logging my sleep to make sure I get enough…

I decided on a hot breakfast this morning, and oats were just the thing. I incorporated some of my nut meat into the bowl, and it was terrific! It’s a little sweet, and went perfectly with the salty peanut butter.

IMG_9694

  • 1/2 cup oats (made w/ water)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 nectarine
  • cinnamon
  • 1 scoop almond nut meat
  • 1 scoop chunky peanut butter

I ran a lot of errands for my internship today, and on one of the four trips to the post office I picked up an iced coffee to keep me going through the humidity.

IMG_9697

My boss let me leave at lunchtime, so I took my food to the park and enjoyed a leisurely meal.  I’d made Heidi Swanson‘s Giant Black Bean Salad:

IMG_9692

Really delicious! I didn’t have time to blend the jalepeño dressing this morning, but it tasted just fine.

IMG_9699

I also had a Musselman’s Key Lime Cupaçao applesauce and a Banana Nut Vitatop:

IMG_9698

Deliciously filling lunch! I’m glad I brought it to work instead of spending money to eat out.

IMG_9700

I was right by the gym, but my tum wasn’t quite ready to work out.  I sat in the locker room and read my magazine for a while… probably looked a little odd, but that’s okay 🙂  I was pretty zonked and only did 20 minutes on the stairs and a few weight machines. Better than nothing!

I took advantage of my time in the locker room to do some Operation Beautiful work…

IMG_9701

… then rehydrated with some coconut water.

IMG_9702

Since I was in the neighborhood, I went straight to my mom’s office with good intentions of getting work done, but… she found me 45 minutes later, napping on the couch. Whoops.  When I woke up, I snacked on some Oh Nuts sunflower seeds:

IMG_9703

I never was a huge seed-girl, but these were pretty good.  I’ve noticed my taste buds changing recently… for example, I’ve been craving a lot of coconut, salty and fruity things. Normally, I’d have just gone straight for the chocolate.  Strange.

My mom and I met my dad for dinner at one of our favorite Vietnamese restaurants, Nam.  We split everything:

IMG_9705

Shrimp dumplings wrapped in banana leaves

Unwrapped, they look like this…

IMG_9707

Grilled prawns wrapped in rice paper with cucumber, basil & peanut sauce

Grilled prawns wrapped in rice paper with cucumber, basil & peanut sauce

Steamed mushroom ravioli

Steamed mushroom ravioli

Crispy red snapper in chili lime sauce

Crispy red snapper in chili lime sauce

Grilled shrimp and scallops with vegetables in a lime basil sauce

Grilled shrimp and scallops with vegetables in a lime basil sauce

Warm banana bread with Tahitian vanilla ice cream and taosted coconut

Warm banana bread with Tahitian vanilla ice cream and taosted coconut

We get that dessert every time… it’s amazing, like a mix between banana bread pudding and rum raisin ice cream. Mmm!  It was a lot of food, but it was so, so good.

When I got home, I was still feeling munchy, so I had one of the apples my dad brought me from the Farmer’s Market.

IMG_9714

*Upwelling update: Thanks to each and every lovely fan out there, the boys have sold out Amazon, Barnes & Noble and J&R in New York, and I still have not been able to pick up a copy! You can still order it on iTunes, reserve a copy on Amazon, or you can order the album directly from their label, which I just did to ensure the giveaway winners get their copies!  I’ll announce the winners of the contest tomorrow morning.

15 responses to “7.5

  1. That is so great to hear about Ari’s success! Congrats for ya boy!

  2. Vietnamese food is the besssssssssssssst. That looks sooo soo good! I love how they can make seafood so amazing!!

    I am so happy for Ari and the band!! WOOT WOOT!

  3. How amazing is that? CONGRATULATIONS, ARI!! That is absolutely fantastic.

    The dessert at the Vietnamese restaurant looks sensational! Toasted coconut and banana bread pudding all in one? Heck yes!

    Have a lovely Wednesday!

  4. I am so excited for the boys I literally can’t even stand it! That is AWESOME!

  5. The weirdest thing I’ve seen at the gym is someone on one of those seated inner / outer thigh machines, eating a fast food breakfast sandwich. Um… okay. Your magazine in the locker room is looking pretty good!!

    Love the OB note. 🙂

    Congrats for the band!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  6. OMG that’s sooo incredible! I downloaded a few of their songs off Itunes and am lovin them!

    I’ve never been to Nam, but it looks really great! I love red snapper and that banana bread pudding sounds heavenly:)

    Thanks again for the info on the 5k, I just signed up!!!

  7. what a great looking dinner – that dessert looks so, so good.

    and i love the nut meat in breakfast 🙂

  8. breadandwithit

    That’s FANTASTIC band news. To order it from their site, should we go to their Facebook page, or their The Upwelling.com site? Is there a limit on how many can be ordered?

  9. You really can’t beat a good night of sleep! I need to try bread pudding – mushy, warm carbs sounds amaze!!

    CONGRATS to Ari and the band – that’s awesome! I need to go buy my copy 😀

  10. Sold out already?! How’m I gonna get a copy?!

    Your lunch=yummy. I’d like to try the applesauce! I just haven’t found it yet 😦

  11. That’s AMAZING! Huge congrats to Ari!!!!!!! 😀

    I think I need to go to Nam…everything looks *exactly* like the way I like my food to be prepared/enjoyed.

    gotta love lunchtime power naps!

  12. southerngracesblog

    Congrats to Ari!!! That’s wonderful news 🙂
    Your dinner looks SO good…that banana bread pudding especially!

  13. WOW that’s awesome that they’re doing so well! I’ve been listening and I love it. Great stuff.

    Hit me with some of those rice paper wraps, please. YUMS.

  14. i might have to check out that CD regardless! woowoo – sooooo exciting!

    also, love that key lime applesauce and heidi swanson – that lady is a genius! happy thursday!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  15. you always happen to be consuming the best food EVER! lol. i agree with sleep. i’ve been keeping track lately. now that you’re keeping track do you notice you’re sleeping more?

Leave a Reply

