Rock ‘n’ Roll Can Save The World

THE UPWELLING’S FULL-LENGTH DEBUT, AN AMERICAN STRANGER, IS

IN STORES NOW!!! Click here to buy it on Amazon; it’s also available on iTunes, at Best Buy… the works!

Don’t forget: you still have until 10 PM EST tonight to enter my giveaway.  You’ll score an album and some LVP treats… I’m a proud girl, if ya can’t tell 😀  What a great way to start the day!!!

Yesterday started out with a great breakfast: Puffins, Smart Start, and a banana, covered in my homemade raw almond milk.  This milk is incredible!  I think I’m going to make cashew milk next.  Has anyone ever made peanut milk?

IMG_9664

A couple hours later, while I was getting some reading for work done, I snacked on an apple.  Right after the photo was taken, I sprinkled cinnamon on top, making sure not to touch my eyes!

IMG_9665

Lunch was a Lilveggiepatch-approved “meatball sub”: an Ezekiel English muffin topped with tomato sauce, TJ’s meatless meatballs, and low-fat munster cheese. (It needed a little boost, so I went back and topped it with more sauce, a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese, and hot sauce. Mmmm!)

IMG_9668

On the side, I had a salad with romaine, shredded carrots, tomato, hummus, and Bragg’s.

IMG_9669

Pure belly-busting goodness.

IMG_9670

For some reason I was hungry all day! A couple hours after lunch, I grabbed a fig bar on my way out the door.

IMG_9675

I met a friend downtown for iced coffee at Joe. I always forget how much I like this place!

IMG_9676

Now, here comes the funny part.  I pretty much planned my entire day around going to a 90-minute yoga class at 7 PM.  But, when the time for class rolled around, I really just wanted to go home.  I was feeling the pressure of work, and didn’t want to stay up until midnight getting it done.  Still, I popped into a deli and picked up a banana to fuel up for class…

IMG_9677

I even checked in at the gym, wrote my name down on the list to reserve a spot for class, and went down to the locker room… but it was completely packed, people were waiting in line to use the shower, and it just wasn’t for me.  Instead, I went home, threw on my running shoes, and ran back out the door before I had a chance to talk myself out of that, too.  I ran a good 2 miles.

I’m going to have to start working on speed soon, because I registered for my first 5K!  It’s two weeks from Sunday.  It’s really important to me because, almost the same time last year, I was signed up for a 5K and then promptly broke my femur. I’m going to be smarter about racing this time; if it goes well, this will hopefully be the first of many 🙂

When I came home, I made an old favorite: a sweet potato topped with cottage cheese and black beans.

IMG_9679

I also steamed up some broccoli. It was too hot to drink the broc wat!

IMG_9682

Sweet potatoes are starting to get some love again… not that I ever stopped liking them, but I ate them SO MUCH at school that I wanted to give myself a little break.  Consider the hiatus over!

IMG_9684

I finished off the Ashley Brooke Pinot Grigio.  Happy Monday!

IMG_9685

For dessert, I had two of Jenna‘s chocolate-chip biscotti.  I wanted more, but I restrained myself.

IMG_9689

Off to work I go! I’ll announce the giveaway winners tomorrow morning.  Have a great day 🙂

15 responses to “Rock ‘n’ Roll Can Save The World

  1. Congrats on the CD release today, how exciting!

    Your “meatball” sub looks very delicious, as does your stuffed sweet potato. I love how good sweet potatoes taste despite their inexpensive cost. A great, economical meal;)

    I was just curious, are you running the 5K in New York? I’ve been looking at the Roadrunner site for races, but did not see the 5K listed.

    Have a nice Tuesday:)

  2. Again, all your food looks great.

    I listened to the clips on iTunes and the album sounds great. I’d have bought it, but I’m still holding out to see if I win one. : )

  3. Peanut milk sounds incredibly interesting… then again, why not? I guess you can make “milk” out of any nut!

    I am not a queasy person, but reading about a broken femur? That made me wince. Must have been painful! Good luck with the 5K!

    ❤ ❤

  4. breadandwithit

    Maybe peanuts are “different”–ground vs. tree nuts, legumes vs. whatever the others are? Let us know what happens.

  5. i want to make my own almond milk, too, but I’m going to wait until I finish the box already in my fridge 🙂

    congrats on signing up for the 5K! that’s exciting! and tell Ari congrats!!!!

  6. I have given sweet potatoes a break for some reason too. Thanks for reminder to show them some love!
    Tell Ari congrats!!! What an exciting day for The Upwelling 🙂
    Have a great Tuesday, my love!

  7. YAY for The Upwelling!! Congrats to them! How exciting 🙂

    TJs balls, English muffins, and muenster cheese? That’s genius! I think I’ll have to try that myself!

    Congrats on the 5k registration AND your almond milk success! I’d love to do a 5k eventually but I’m still on a running hiatus.

    The sweet ‘tater/CC combo has been MIA from the blogs for a while so I’m glad you’re bringing it back! Delish!!

  8. Congrats to The Upwelling!

    Your sweet potato/cc/beans combo looks like a page right out of my own book. Imma have to bring it on back pretty soon here! Esp. once the weather turns cold!

  9. black beans + cottage cheese + sweet potato – love that combo! yayyy for the 5k…mucho exciting my dear!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  10. Just bought the album on iTunes! It will make good plane music. I want to make some homemade nut milk tooooo!

  11. Yay for your first 5K! Super exciting!
    Your breakfast looks crazy good and is it wrong that a glass of wine sounds amazing right now? It IS the afternoon already…

  12. Yay congrats to Ari!!!!!! 😀

    I have never seen peanut milk, but sounds awesome. I tried oat milk for the first time today which was kind of ‘meh’…nut milks are the way to go. I bet walnut milk would be awesome!

  13. Yay, Ari! Congratulations, and good luck! (But don’t let fame and touring take him away for too long!)

    Alas, we were thinking about marathons and 5ks a mere year ago… I can’t believe how much time has flown!

  14. Congrats on signing up for your first 5K! You’re gonna rock it.
    Your dinner looks utterly perfect to me–it has all my favorite foods!

  15. Pingback: Year One « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

