Year One

One year ago today, I posted my first entry as Lilveggiepatch.  The blog has come a long way, and moved from Blogspot, to WordPress, to my own self-hosted site.  I’ve made some great friends, some that I’ve been lucky enough to meet in person.  I’m no longer able to post thrice daily and don’t know if I’ll ever have that kind of time again, but, most importantly, I’m still having a ball.  Thanks to all of you, I’ve found a hobby I’m passionate about and have joined one of the best communities out there.  I love you all!

Yesterday I used up the last of my almond milk to make a deliciously nutty fruit bowl.

IMG_9716

In the bowl went:

  • raw almond milk
  • 1 small peach
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 apple
  • sprinkle of granola

This was so satisfying, and held me over all through the morning, letting me power through some cover letters and job applications.  Eventually, my brain started turning to mush so I broke for lunch.  The grocery situation is a little more dire than I’d thought, but I made do with a tasty -albeit strange- meal.  I topped an Ezekiel English muffin with hummus, Morningstar Farms Chik’n nuggets, and feta (followed by ketchup and lots of hot sauce). I also steamed up some broccoli to round out the meal.

IMG_9720

I felt guilty about not drinking the broccoli water last time, so, hot weather or not, it done got drunk 🙂

IMG_9723

After sending out a few more letters to potential employers, I headed into the city with one mission and one mission alone: to pick up my copy of “An American Stranger”!  I had a minor internal meltdown when they couldn’t find the copy I’d put on hold, and although it took three people to track it down (it was taped to the back of a DVD), I left the store a happy girl.

IMG_9726

I hopped back on the subway and rushed down to the restaurant, smiling like a fool the whole time and eager to show off the CD.  Work itself was fine… some minor internal drama, but c’est la vie.  I snacked on this Amazing Grass Chocolate Green SuperFood bar; it was okay, but I think I prefer the original flavor.

IMG_9725

I also had about half a pound of bufala mozzarella… it was delicious, but  I thought I was going to have a cheese baby!  Mario was just a teensy bit too generous 🙂  I had a salad for dinner with romaine, zucchini, beets, tomatoes, a few chunks of avocado and chili flakes in a lemon vinaigrette.

IMG_9728

Ari had texted me while I was working, saying he’d probably be home around 3 or 4 in the morning.  I’ve been going to bed on the early side, so I went out with a friend for a drink so I wouldn’t get so sleepy.  When I got home, it turned out that Ari had tricked me, and had gotten home hours earlier! Whoops.  It was such a nice surprise and I still can’t really believe he’s back.  It’s pretty fabulous 😀

Around the blogs: check out this cool flavored water giveaway over at Blue Sky World! Missy is giving away Dave’s Killer Bread… I want to try this so badly! And… WIN A VITAMIX!

Hope you’re having a lovely Thursday!

25 responses to “Year One

  1. congrats on the year of blogging! I’m so glad I found yours earlier this year 🙂

    and yay for finding the cd!!!

    totally random question: do you have any pictures you could send me of your hair cut? I really need my bangs cut and I like yours! super cute.

  2. congrats on one year! i’m excited to see where my blog goes in that amount of time. i agree being part of the community is the best part!

  3. Happy Blogiversary! It’s so strange to look back and see how our blogs have evolved and grown… 😀 I hope I get to meet you when I come!

    Random question- what kind of granola do you use? I have only tried Bare Naked (LOVE) and Kellogg’s low-fat (*shudders*- never again) and can only get it when I am in NY so need ideas for what to get 😀

  4. southerngracesblog

    Happy one year blog anniversary 🙂 I love your blog!!!! Have a wonderful, wonderful day!!

  5. HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY AND HELL YES FOR THE ALBUM!!

  6. breadandwithit

    WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE!

  7. Congrats on your blogiversary!!! It’s also the blogiversary of The Runner’s Kitchen, another NYC blog, how funny!

    That album cover is gorgeous, it must feel great to have it palpable within your hands!

    We must have a Grom date before the fall craziness ensues:)

  8. Happy Blogiversary!

  9. I am so in awe of Ari’s glory. I want to see if I can find a copy around here before I order off the internet. That way when the clerk rings it up, I can be like, “Yeah, I know them, and they are way cooler than Jack White.”

  10. Happy Blog Birthday!! Your breakfast looks like a truly wonderful fresh feast!

  11. Happy Blogiversary! your nutty fruit bowl looks great today!

  12. Congrats on one year!

    I had never considered drinking broccoli water. I may have to try it.

  13. Congrats on your Blogiversary!!

  14. Happy Blog Birthday!!! How exciting ❤ your blog. I agree- the regular super food bars are way better than the chocolate. I am actually a huge fan of the plain ones

  15. Happy one year blogiversary!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  16. Happy blog birthday! So glad you popped into this world. I love your blggy!

  17. Happy blogiversary! I wish I had discovered your fabulous blog sooner:)

  18. Happy Blogiversary! I am newish to reading your blog…but you drink the brock water? Wow girlfriend, you’re hardcore! And I truly love love love broccoli. Your peach almond milk creation looks heavenly…yummy!

  19. Happy blog anniversary!! : )

  20. happy blogiversary!! 😀

  21. Happy blogiversary! And here’s to many more. You rock.

  22. HAPPY ONE YEAR!!! I’m so glad that we’ve been able to become ‘blog friends’ and hopefully we’ll be able to meet up eventually 🙂

    Glad you’re reunited with your rock star!

  23. congrats on the first year! are you gong to this:
    http://nyblueprint.com/articles/view.aspx?id=555
    see you sat!

  24. happy first birthday to lil veggie patch!!!!!!!! here is to many more years! CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

