End It With a POP!

Top ‘o the mornin’ to ya, lads and lassies! Another week has flown by… this is going to be a very exciting weekend here at the Lilveggiepatch/ Upwelling headquarters.ย  The CD release show and after-party are back-to-back tomorrow night, and there will be a slew of family, friends and good people staying with us. I love a full house! It feels kind of like camp ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday, we celebrated the boy’s homecoming with a trip to the diner.

IMG_9729

While Ari was gone, the diner added a few new items to their menu and switched to using all organic eggs and dairy.ย  I decided to forgo my usual omelet (which I’ve gotten more than a little tired of) and got the Organic Low Fat [Greek] Yogurt Parfait.

IMG_9748

The mango syrup was amazing.

IMG_9730

I’m so used to eating nonfat yogurt that the lowfat tasted really rich to me.

IMG_9732

Overall, I really liked the parfait.ย  There were about two cups of granola in the bowl, at least half of which I left.ย  Next time I think I’ll ask for more yogurt and less granola.

IMG_9734

I spent the rest of the morning puttering around and watching Taxi Driver.ย  By the time I was showered and ready for work I only had five minutes to make and eat lunch, which explains the horribly blurry photos.ย  Sorry!

I packed a bottle of Berry Superfood Amazing Grass, shaken withย  water.ย  This flavor reminds me a lot of chewable vitamins.

IMG_9736

I whipped up a quick tuna salad to eat on the go:

IMG_9740

I used one can of tuna, 1/3 of a bag of shredded carrots, and hummus.

IMG_9741

This was tastier in theory than execution.ย  I think it needed a little vinegar or something, because the flavors were really washed out.ย  I was, once again, that gross girl eating stinky and messy food on the subway.ย  A busy girl’s gotta eat!

I ate an apple on the way, and brought a nectarine with me to eat after work.

IMG_9742

At the restaurant I snacked on a PB&J Larabar.ย  I’d eaten enough bufala to last me a week the day before, so I let Mario keep his cheese ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_9737

I wanted to get home and see my boy, so I took dinner to go and ate it on the way to the train.ย  Ramon made me a salad with romaine, tomatoes, apples, broccoli, beets, green beans, avocado and roquefort cheese.

IMG_9743

In addition to the nectarine, I had a dessert plate when I got home.ย  It’s been a long time since I’ve eaten one! This one had Israeli pop rocks chocolate and dates, a dried apricot and prune smeared with almond butter.

IMG_9745

This chocolate really is like crack to me.ย  I don’t know if it’s the taste or the snap, crackle and POP! it makes, but my tastebuds were literally screaming for joy.ย  They begged me to go back for more, so I obliged ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, I’m off to get my bangies trimmed and run some errands.ย  Have a great weekend! And please enjoy this PSA from your favorite childhood friend…

20 responses to “End It With a POP!

  1. I envy your diet. Also, that pop rocks chocolate looks delicious.

  2. Yum, that Greek yogurt looks delish, especially the mango syrup part! I’m glad that Ramon started making you your salads again:)

    I hope you have a great weekend celebrating the album release!!!! I bet it will be a ton of fun:)

  3. That yogur looks amazing!!!!!! SO YUMMY! I can’t wait for my PB&J Larabar to get here!!!!!! Did you like it?

  4. Shouldn’t subway cars have tables like planes?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    โค โค

  5. woah, that is a lot of granola!

    i love that you eat tuna salad in public transportation. love it.

    that chocolate sounds so cool!

  6. southerngracesblog

    The parfait looks SO good!!! I wanted to make a greek yogurt parfait today, but I forgot and ate oatmeal. Haha. Happy Friday!!

  7. Gotta love NY diner portions ๐Ÿ˜› Looks delish! I have a slight obsession with the Starbucks granola parfaits… I swear they put something in it.

    You eat tuna on the subway? LOL. Sure way to get a whole row of seats to yourself = eat something very messy/smelly. Hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

    Meant to ask you about the Starbucks Wifi- I think I was the one who told you about it, but I had seen it advertised though never used it- is it completely free? Yes, already worried about internet during my visit!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  8. hahahahaha barney reference i love it…my mom did daycare and this was a staple in the house.

    mmmm i want to find a diner with greek yog, for reals. have fun with all the CD stuff!

    much love!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  9. I wish I could come to NY this weekend!!! Have a BLAST! I can’t wait to hear about all of your shenanies ๐Ÿ™‚

    That diner breakfast looks great and all but….where’s the toast!? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I kid! I wish diners around here offered dishes like that!

    Pop Rocks chocolate sounds like a party in the mouth!

  10. Ah, so I was there yesterday, and will be there in a few days, but I STILL miss the CD release stuff. BOO HISS!
    When I went to my fave local record store, they had had the CD in stock, but it already sold out! In lil old NH!

  11. I’m trying to imagine what pop rocks chocolate would be like. Hm.

    That is an impressive diner parfait! I feel like dishes like that are sort of an afterthought at diners, but that looks pretty fancy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a fabulous weekend!!

  12. That chocolate sounds so cool! I was the biggest fan of Barney when I was little, I used to carry a stuffed Barney with me everywhere.

  13. I love that the diner you went to served giant bowls of yogurt and granola! Awesome! Looks like the better choice to me over an omelet…
    Glad you have your boy back with you ๐Ÿ™‚ exciting.
    Oh! And I always feel really bad eating tuna at work since the boy always tells me it smells like cat food! Nice!

    Hope you’re having an awesome weekend so far!

  14. Mango syrup?! I bet I could drink that straight.
    I am with you on the yogurt thing–I am so accustomed to nonfat that 2% Fage tastes indulgent!

  15. i could see how that carrot dish would sound very good in theory….sorry it didn’t taste as good as you wanted (maybe some raisins?!)

  16. I just inhaled a few medjools with PB. Your dessert is after my own heart, fa sure. And the mango syrup? Dear lord, mangos made into a sweet syrup? Divine, I’m sure. Thanks for stopping by my bloggie today! The Ani Dessert Book is great and since you were saying you wanted one I will make you feel better…if you don’t have a dehydrator or a fair amount of time on your hands, there is lots that isn’t practical stuff in there. I have neither ample time nor a dehydrator so find that til I get the dehydrator lots of stuff is off limits…because I don’t count smoothies and shakes as desserts.

  17. homegirlcaneat

    Israeli pop chocolate?!?! First off, it’s JEW which excites me. Secondly, it POPS… AMAZING! And third, chocolate!! AHHHH GIRL NEEDS SOME!!

    That greek yog bowl looks divine! Except I totally agree about the lowfat yogurt.. especially greek lowfat.. so thick and kind of too heavy and rich! My stomach can only handle it in very small portions..but tis delish! ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. haha your chocolate’s like crack lol i love it!

  19. THAT PARFAIT SOUNDS AWESOME!

    Love what you did to the tuna too! I’m guna hafta try that!! Too bad I don’t buy hummus since I have NO CONTROL with it around.

    HAPPY WEEKEND LOVEEEEEEE

  20. Pingback: Key Ingredients « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

