Back On The Good Foot!

Achooooo! Good morning, ladies and gentlemen.  I don’t know about you, but my allergies have been horrible lately! I’m mostly allergic to dust and plant life (although I used to get a rash every time I ate mango… glad that one’s over!), and it’s always the worst this time of year.  When I was younger I visited my family in Minnesota every summer, and my sneezing and coughing would get so bad that it turned into summer asthma!  Luckily it doesn’t get that bad anymore, I just feel a lot like Sneezy.

Yesterday, Ari and I staggered out of bed to meet his family for breakfast at the diner.  We all seemed to be a little sleepier than usual- his father asked if his caffeine could be injected intravenously- and we downed cup after cup of coffee.  I decided to order another menu newbie: the Breakfast Wrap!

IMG_9752

This had eggs (I asked for whites), avocado, tomato, peppers, onion and gruyère cheese, all rolled up in a whole wheat wrap.   Très bien! However, does anyone else find that store-bought wraps have way too much of the “wrap” part? There were a few folds of bread that I just nipped off.  I also had a few bites of homefries, but the sandwich and coffee really filled me up.

I spent the rest of the morning catching up on blogs and e-mail, then hustled to get ready to run some errands in the city.  I grabbed an apple on the way out the door:

IMG_9756

Somewhere between one errand and the other, I pulled out the Koka Moka Pro Bar from the Summit swag bag.

Koka Moka Pro Bar

Koka Moka Pro Bar Nutrition Facts

IMG_9759

IMG_9760

IMG_9761

Pros: I was immediately excited about the ENORMOUS chunks of chocolate chips. I love the mix of textures: soft oats and dried fruit, hard chunks of whole nuts. It has a definite espresso taste without being bitter, which is a result of a lot of mocha-flavored things (like Starbucks’ espresso brownie).  My last bite tasted a little spicy, which I identified as the nutmeg and orange elements. It was a nice surprise, and didn’t overpower the bar.  I wasn’t left with a “protein” aftertaste, because there is zero protein powder in the bar. This was also developed in Park City, Utah, for skiers, hikers and mountain climbers. Cool!

Cons: It was smaller than I’d thought, given that the bar is intended to be a “meal.” I’d like something like this to be a little bigger, and take me a while to eat.

Would I buy this again? I’m not a huge fan of meal replacement bars. However, in theory, they work on busy days when there’s not another option.  I ate this bar two hours before heavy exercise, and I was able to power through my workout quite easily.  It didn’t taste artificial, so I would definitely keep these on hands for busy days when I don’t have time to prepare a full meal.

It was a very grim and rainy day, and I really, really didn’t want to work out.  Even though I’d carried my heavy gym bag all over town, I was ready to just go home and soak in the tub.  However, I forced myself to lace up, get on the stairmaster, and ended up having the best workout I’ve had in a long time. I warmed up with 20 minutes on the stairs, then headed over to the treadmill and ran 3.1 miles (without stopping!) in just under 31 minutes.  The 5K is in two weeks, and since I now know I can do the distance, I’m going to try to work on my speed a little bit. Nothing crazy, but we’ll see what happens!  After my run, I did some strength training and ab work, and let me tell you: I was a whole lot sweatier than some of the muscle men in there 🙂

Total time: 1 hour 25 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 186 (93%)

Average heart rate: 149 (75%)

Calories burned: 758

I was a hungry beast when I got back to the locker room, and had bar #2. This obviously wasn’t ideal, but it was better than eating my gym shorts.

IMG_9772

I left the gym and went straight to Trader Joe’s to do an all-out grocery shop.  I’d thought the line would be atrocious on a Friday night- their wine cellar queue stretched out the door- but apparently this is the best time to go, and I was in and out in under forty minutes.

I spotted these on the shelf and had to try them.  We serve lobster ravioli at my restaurant; sometimes I ask Ramon to make an extra piece for me.  Anywho, I was in the mood for a whole serving, so I picked these up.

IMG_9773

While I cooked the pasta, I heated garlic and oil in a skillet. I added some arugula until just wilted, then tossed in the ravioli.

IMG_9774

I sprinkled some feta on top, and served it with steamed broccoli.  My plate looked like Fall!

Lobster Ravioli with feta and arugula

Ari and I coordinated to meet outside and go to Coldstone.  I usually get a “sinless” flavor, but today I was in the mood for something different: coffee ice cream with chocolate shavings.

IMG_9780

Ari got something chocolate-peanutbuttery, which he ate with zeal.

IMG_9784

We were both feeling a little gross after the ice cream… it was a little too rich.  We plopped down for some In Treatment to settle our tums… nothing like a little talk therapy to make everything better 🙂

Well, it may be Saturday, but it’s time for me to get off my bum and ready for the day.  Ari‘s show is tonight, and I have to go track down some of my beautiful girlies.

IMG_9751

Around the blogs…

Ada is hosting a fabulous back-to-school giveaway.  Even if you’re only a member of the “school of life” like a certain post-grad  you may know, you can still win some pretty sweet goodies.

Jenny is also giving away some nice gluten-free sweet and savory treats, so you should head over there, too.

Have a great weekend!

18 responses to “Back On The Good Foot!

  1. traveleatlove

    Love the summit swag bag snacks! I will have to try those TJ’s ravioli,, they look like an easy but decadent dinner!

  2. Holy yum rich ice cream 😉

    Love “In Treatment”!! More guilty-pleasure t.v.

    HAVE A BLAST TONIGHT!!

  3. I always joke with my coworkers that when I have to go in early (start work at 7AM) that I’m just going to roll in with an IV drip of coffee 🙂

    The flavor of that probar sounds fantastic but they’re SO SMALL!! Your Coldstone creation is delicious 🙂

    Ahhh I wish I had a teleporter so I could just zap my way to NYC! Have a BLAST tonight – I can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  4. Too bad that Pro Bar is too small but the chunks of goodness does look amazing!

  5. Woah, I didn’t know Trader Joes sold lobster ravioli, that sounds delicious! I’m soooo excited for the Trader Joe’s to open on 72nd St!!! That will make saving money a whole lot easier:)

    I hope you have a great time at the CD release party tonight and thanks for the giveaway shoutout!

  6. I just stumbled across your blog and wow you are one busy girl!! I to live in the city and have found that the best time to shop at TJ’s is first thing in the morning, even on a Saturday morning. They open at 9am and if you get there at 9:15 or so, you can be in an out in under 20 minutes. Insane I know, but there is literally NO LINE. It’s amazing considering the other day I walked by and there was a line a couple blocks long just to get INSIDE the doors. Craziness!

    Hope you have a great time at the concert tonight..sounds like fun!

  7. That bar looks good. I however, actually like the fake taste of brown rice protein (dont do whey or soy protein) so it looks good. But the nutrition stats are definitely those of a meal and not really a snack. And it looks pretty darn small to be a meal. But the choco chunks may make up for that 🙂 Thx for the review!

  8. i hate how those bars are sooo small too – size does matter (TWSS).

    yay for MN – are you from MN or just your family? gotta love those connections!

    have sooooo much fun at the show tonight – cannot wait hear a recap!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  9. That pro bar looks great but sooo small!

  10. have so much fun tonight!!! i hope everything goes well and the show is awesome!

    and i hope your allergies get better – that is never fun.

  11. Great wrap, I do believe some places give you too much wrap or not enough in it!! Only place that really gives you a lot o the inside is Chipotle; sometimes it’s too much.

  12. Have you ever even tried to eat your gym shorts?! It would probably do an adequate job of replacing the sodium lost through sweat… 😉

    Okay, that was gross. I’ll shut up now. 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  13. Totally agree that restaurant wraps are too much wrap. It’s like a present that has way too much wrapping paper–just gimme the goods!
    I still have yet to try my PRO Bar…that flavor sounds fab!

  14. ommmmnomnomnomnom! Coldstone and Pro Bars!
    I absolutely loved the only kind of Pro Bar I’ve tried (strawberryish?), and that one there with all the chocolate looks de-LISH-us. Although I don’t think I could replace a meal with one. Sure it’d make me full, but I’d still feel like I needed a “real” meal, ya know?

  15. Have you tried quercetin for your allergies? It’s good stuff!

    That pro bar has got some amazing texture going on! I would prefer a smaller snack-size though.

    Hope you had a fun night!

  16. Diner wraps make me so happy. Seriously, I could eat them every day. And did for an entire summer 😀

    I love the look of the pro-bar but for some reason, they really don’t appeal to me? Maybe it’s the size/nutritional ratio thing they have going on.

    Your dinner is so pretty! I almost picked up some pumpkin ravioli today. Summer is over 😦

    Are you up for a blogger meet-up when I come? A few people have expressed interest…if so, restaurants you would recommend?

    Hope Ari’s gig went well 😀

  17. I feel icky after Coldstone sometimes, but it’s totally worth it. 😀

    Allergies suck! I don’t have them bad, but even I’ve been bothered a lot lately.

  18. Good luck on your first 5K! Races are so fun and exciting and it’s fun having something to work towards. You’ll do awesome I bet!

    I have that same probar from the summit but haven’t tried it yet. I think I’m going to split it into two snacks because it’s so hefty.

Leave a Reply

