Look, Ma, I Can RUN!

Good morning and happy humpday! I’m so sorry: I forgot to wish you a HAPPY SEPTEMBER! It’s really starting to feel like Fall around here… a couple days ago I had to wear two sweaters to yoga! Luckily it’s not quite as brisk as it is in Michigan… lady, you keep that weather to yourself!

Yesterday, in honor of said Midwesterner, I had a PB2/VitaTop parfait, using a Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip VitaMuffin.

IMG_9878

IMG_9879

IMG_9880

I made chocolate honey peanut butter mousse with TJ’s Organic Nonfat Honey Greek yogurt,  then fancied it up with layers of peach and crumbled muffin.

IMG_9881

By the time I’d finished catching up on my morning things- what is your routine like in the morning between when you wake up, breakfast and lunch? –  I didn’t have enough time to go to the gym as originally planned.  I’d wanted to run on the treadmill so I could build some mileage, but decided to try it outside instead.  You may recall a certain killer run I went on with Ari’s brother (a four-time marathoner) a couple weeks ago… well, that was the run I set out on.  I laced up my shoes, bought some new headphones at the dollar store (my Clean & Clear ones were long dead), pressed play, and took off.

Since I was planning on a longer run than I’ve been doing,  I kept my pace slow, concentrating on breathing easily, listening to the music, and watching the scenery.  I made the trip to the park- which, in itself, is almost the 2-mile distance I’m used to running in our neighborhood- ran the length of the park, and ran home.  I didn’t rush, but I got a rush (hehe 🙂 ) because of how pleasant the run was.  Before I knew it, I was back home.  The funny thing is that for this distance- about 4 miles– the length of Ari’s CD is perfect! I started running during “American Girls”, and stretched during “New Streets”.  I have to remember to keep my playlists fresh; having music really makes such a difference to me in terms of the length and quality of my workout.  Luckily, I have these ladies to keep me on my toes!  I really want to start running longer distances.  The 5K is on September 13, and we’ll see where it goes from there.  It’s really important for me not to get too cocky about training, however, because I don’t want to end up with another injury. I’m going to try to keep going to yoga in between long runs, and make sure to cross-train and strength train throughout the week.  But, I have to say, I’m excited! I never thought I really had it in me to be a runner.

Total distance: 4(ish) miles

Total time: 44:40 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 192 (96%)

Average heart rate: 178 (89%)

Calories burned: 540

The distance is only an approximation… I really need a Garmin.

After a quick shower, I downed some carrot juice, my new recovery drink of choice.  For those of you who asked: I do not make this myself.  I wish I had a juicer, but I do not wish I was cleaning it every day!  I got a 32-oz jug of Organic Carrot Juice at Trader Joe’s for $3.99 (non-Organic is $2.99).

IMG_9882

Then I hustled into the city to meet my long-lost love and blogger, Miss Sarah, at the Candle Cafe.

IMG_9898

There were so many things that I wanted to try, so I gently forced the waitress to choose for me.  At restaurants, I usually try to stray from having things I can (and would) make at home, but going against my rule, I ended up ordering one of the daily specials, soba salad.

IMG_9886

It was very good! The dressing reminded me a lot of Woodstock Dressing, which I haven’t had in a while.

IMG_9887

Sarah ordered the Aztec salad: bi-colored quinoa, black beans, red onion and corn topped with spicy pumpkin seeds and barbeque grilled tempeh. Served over mixed field greens with a toasted cumin vinaigrette.

IMG_9890

I think she won that round… but it’s okay! I’ll just have to go back 😀  I will also have to go finish this girl in Russia… she’s leaving for Moscow in five days! What a life.

IMG_9892

We needed to end things on a sweet note, so we split the chocolate mousse pie.  Pure, chocolatey heaven at 2 PM.  Again, what a life 😀

IMG_9893

After Sarah and I figured out how to get her to the airport, we parted ways and I went home to run some errands (stencil-shopping at Home Depot!) with Ari.  On the way back, we stopped at Starbucks for a Pumpkin Spiced LatteJenna really talked this up this year!

IMG_9899

The last time I remembered ordering one was when I was college visiting, at Wellesley. I’d been out late at a Beastie Boys concert the night before, and thought the caffeine/pumpkin mix was just so very collegiate.  Yeah, big dork, I know.

I spent part of the evening doing work, then broke to make dinner.

IMG_9902

I used the George Foreman (which I should really be utilizing more, it’s fabulous) to grill us up two swordfish steaks.  I tossed each steak in a quick salmoriglio sauce that I whipped up; there are many variations of this, but the basic mixture is equal parts lemon juice (I used lime) and olive oil.  Then add herbs of your choosing (oregano), salt and pepper. It goes on just about anything, and can help quell that strong “fishy” flavor that’s prevalent in a lot of seafood.

IMG_9906

On the side, I braised some spinach and dried mushrooms (Ari’s choice) in vegetable stock, reduced the broth down, and drizzled the mixture with a little sesame oil.

IMG_9907

We also split a sweet potato with butter and agave.

IMG_9910

I got the swordfish steaks in the frozen section of Trader Joe’s; they were perfectly portioned out! One baby steak and one man steak 🙂 I added more salmoriglio sauce to the fish once it was plated, and drizzled a little on the spinach and mushrooms as well.  I wish I’d made more, because it’s such a versatile sauce.  Thanks for teaching me, Mom and Dad!

IMG_9912

I had some vino and a nectarine for dessert, and we settled back for a mini staycation with For Your Consideration (genius!) and In Treatment.  It was a lovely night.

IMG_9913

Well, off to pack my lunch, get my yoga on and go to work.

Before I go: if you’d like to sponsor me in the race 5K Race For the Cure, you can do so here. I appreciate the support!

Also, the lovely Lauryn, formerly of Making Moves, has started a new blog, Mastering Manhattan, about her tradition to NYC living. Woohoo! That’s right, she’ll now be a New Yorker, so expect some awesome collaborations 🙂

Have a great day!

31 responses to “Look, Ma, I Can RUN!

  1. the food at candle cafe looks good! I’d love to try the indian plate. The tofu-spinach saag caught my eye =p
    All the best for the 5K!! The first run of such a sort I’ll ever do will be one in support of a cure for (breast) cancer. NO ONE should ever have to go through the physical/emotional/mental/financial burden that comes along with cancer.

  2. I was taught to share as a kiddo so I’ll gladly spread this weather 😉

    I think your mindset for the 5k is great! No injuries are allowed!!

    Pumpkin spice lattes = Fall. What a fun bloggie/friend meet up – that meal looks delicious!

  3. Ah! I need a pumpkin spice latte!

  4. Wow, good run! I miss our side-by-side workouts while watching America’s Next Top Model in the LenCen, but this seems much better!

    Ooh, get the dirty chai+pumpkin. Even better, I think.

    I’m so glad I got to see you, dearie! (And sorry I am not so photogenic. I’ll work on that 😛 )

  5. ooh did you end up going to wellesley for college?

  6. Awesome run!

    So Candle Café is worthy, eh?? I’m still afraid to try it after my bad Candle 79 experiences, haha 😉

  7. YAY for meals made on the Foreman. I’m definitely going to have to try those swordfish steaks.

  8. Yay for bloggie meet ups! So exciting and fun. I tried that PB VitaTop for the first time today as well! Cake for breakfast? Don’t mind if I do!

  9. i want to go to the candle cafe!! the salads look out of this world good!

  10. great job on the run! and what a fun lunch 🙂

    give me peppermint mocha over pumpkin spice anyway! i love the seasonal ones.

  11. ah! Such a great day! Good job on the run and I am so jealous of your Candle meal! I want to try that place so bad. Yummy dinner- love swordfish. Morning routine? Get up, rush to get ready, go to work….blahh heheh. I got a pumpkin spiced misto today= the best thing ever!

  12. Sorry your Candle meal fell short of earth-shattering–that’s how I remember my first (and only) time there! But hey, there’s always next time, and there should always be a next time where Candle Cafe is concerned.

    Thanks for the sauce idea! Sounds like a great mixture for pretty much anything! But with a fancy name. 🙂

  13. Great run 😀 I really want to try Candle Cafe!

  14. Wow your candle food looks awesome!! So pretty, so healthy! And of course the choco goodie on the plate looked pretty rockin’ too!

    Thanks for entering my Zevia GiveAway that Ive got goin’ on, too!

  15. Yum, I love Candle Cafe! It’s sooo much better than Candle 79. Your soba salad looks delicious, I usually just order the Indian platter which is also great.

    I’m very impressed by your swordfish cooking skills! You sure know how to make a good looking sauce:)

  16. I am totally getting a pumpkin spice latte today for my walk home from work! YUMM

  17. Those salads look so pretty!! 🙂

    Morning routine involves waking up, shower, breakfast, gym, work, work, work, work! And some annoying commuting in between. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  18. JEALOUS!!!! Looks like you guys had such a wonderful lunchytime. Wish I could’ve been there. Dang, I just need to move to the East Coast, I think. That’s what’s up.

  19. Funny you mentioned morning routines, I’ve been thinking a lot about my own. I really should be doing a little yoga and thinking in the morning to wake me up gradually, I like the idea of the new routine Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point is starting up. I do take like 15 minutes to make my oatmeal to the sounds of NPR and eat breakfast leisurely while reading blogs, that’s kind of meditative, right?

    I totally agree about not ordering things I could make at restaurants! Makes the experience more fun.

  20. homegirlcaneat

    I NEEEED all this food!!! That salad with tofu looks insane. That perfectly baked sweet potato looks ridic. I ate yogurt and a z bar for dinner.. wudduhfuh?!!? I need veggieeeeeees veggiepatch!!

  21. thank you yet again for such a warm welcome 🙂 you’re my favorite and we haven’t even met yet! haha i see lots of fun things in the future, including but not limited to WF and froyo dates, happy hours, runs in central park… am i getting ahead of myself?!?! basically what it comes down to is… i’m pumped! 🙂

    have a fabulous evening!!

  22. fabby post. those salads at lunch of yours and sarah (love that girl!) look FAB. i assume you met in our good ol’ state of MN? 🙂

    please come cook for me. that dinner looks hella good. have a good night!!!

  23. You and Sarah together in New York?! I wish I was there.

  24. LOL I love the parfait in a beer stein!
    The soba salad and grilled tempeh both look amazing–definitely inspiring for my future meals…
    Sarah’s shirt is super cute!

  25. That Aztec salad looks amazing!! Would love to visit if I have the chance…
    And keep on with your training! I think you’re doing great, not being too”cocky” but amping it up nicely! 🙂

  26. woah, that pie!

    my morning= run; shower; breakfast; workworkwork; lunch/walk. I have a solid routine and I like that!

    Music is a key part of my runs too. I need to post more soon I think; it’s been a while.

    Hava great night!

  27. I’m working on getting back on track with my morning routine. I’m trying to get more sleep in order to exercise in the morning!

  28. Pingback: Eat Dessert First! « Lilveggiepatch

  29. THERE IS SO MUCH TOFU LOVIN IN THIS POST!! IT IS AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGG. If my family hadn’t just ordered copious amounts of thai food WITH TOFU, I’d be bout to go get me some asap.

    LOVE YOU K!

  30. its been way too long since ive been to candle cafe. must go soon. must must must.

  31. Pingback: NaCl + YOU: Salt & the Athlete’s Body « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

