Eat Dessert First!

Because life is short.  More on that later 🙂

How is your Thursday going so far? Mine is going pretty well, and I am determined to stay positive throughout the day.  Yesterday, however, was all over the place, but the morning started perfectly with a freshly made batch of Gena’s raw almond milk.  Second time in one week! I’m definitely addicted.  We don’t have anything that looks even remotely like a strainer here, so I just left it chunky. It’s a lot more rich, but it’s even more delicious! I think I added a little more agave than last time, and it tastes like a creamy dessert.

IMG_9915

The rapidly changing weather has given me the sniffles, so I wanted a comforting bowl of oatmeal for breakfast.  But wait! This wasn’t just any bowl of oats.

Oats & Raw Almond Milk

I cooked equal parts oats and raw almond milk (1/2 cup each), and added a splash of water.   I topped the mixture with 1 banana, warmed frozen berries, and a small scoop of almond butter for good measure.  It was definitely a decadent breakfast, but it powered me through the morning and into my hour-long yoga practice.

Banana-Berry Almond Oats

Yoga was excellent. I took a 60-minute Vinyasa Flow class, and although I felt the burn of my run in my legs (and quads, in particular), it was just what I needed.  My instructor began the class by asking us to leave behind anything that we’d already done that morning, and ignore thoughts about what we had to do later in the day.  Stay in the moment, and allow ourselves to reap the benefits of our practice without invasion from the outside world.  I need to remember these words.  My mind is always whirling around, thinking about what I have to do or what I could have done better, and I never really let myself relax and accept things as they come.  Hopefully, weekly yoga and meditation will help me work on this.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t hang on to that calm yogic feeling long enough.  When I got to my locker, I discovered that I had forgotten my work skirt.  My alternate pair of pants, which I keep at the restaurant, had been stolen. So, I would either have to get home, pick up my skirt, and get back to work in under two hours; or I would have to go buy a pair of pants.  New pants are not, unfortunately, in my budget right now.   The gym showers’ hot water wasn’t working, so mine was C-O-L-D. Stay positive.

Ari was in the neighborhood, so I decided to just eat my lunch on-the-go and buy a new pair of pants.  I’d made another mack-daddy sandwich:

Killer Sandwich

I’d packed it with two apples; I ate one before yoga and one as “dessert”.

IMG_9924

Even when eaten in a rush, while walking down the street, this was awesome.  I’m done with flimsy sandwiches!

Sandwich On-The-Run

As soon as I got to work, I had an Orange Greensicle Greens Plus drink.  I got some samples of this at the Summit, but this was my first time trying it.  I shook it up in a cocktail shaker with club soda, and the result was a dark green fizzy drink.  I really wish I’d been able to take a picture of it because it looked just like something out of Frankenstein’s lab!  In terms of taste, it was very sweet and had a distinct “orange creamsicle” flavor, and the “green” taste was not very strong.  I drank about half of it down, refilled it with seltzer, and it was perfect.

Work Snacks

I also snacked on a blueberry bar… it was good, but a little too sweet and not as good as my beloved fig bars.  I didn’t want to get sick of the fig, but I’ve learned my lesson and after I finish up this box I’ll be replenishing my stash with the good stuff.

I got out of work just in time to make it to Stogo before they closed.

Stogo Sign

Ever since Heather visited this vegan treatery, I’ve been dying to go.  I tried to go before work (I didn’t have enough cash), and by the time I got there it was dark outside and the flash didn’t agree with the gelato.  The ice creams come in soy, coconut and hemp bases, so most dietary needs and/or restrictions can be adhered to.

Stogo Gelato Case

Every single flavor, however, looked heavenly, and I tried four before settling on a cup with half coconut banana, half chocolate hazelnut.  I’d told myself before going in that I wasn’t going to let myself order chocolate hazelnut… whenever it’s on the menu, I order it! But… it looked good.  It was a lot more chocolate-y than I’d expected, but it was delicious.  The coconut banana was amazing as well, and took me right back to the homemade banana ice cream I used to order every summer at our favorite diner in Long Island.

Banana-Coconut & Chocolate Hazelnut Gelato

Stogo also sells cupcakes from Babycakes, raw chocolate truffles and bars, and decadent ice cream sauces. I can’t wait to go back! However, it’s very pricey (this cup cost me $6.25) and I think it’ll have to be a very special treat.

I ate my ice cream while walking to meet up with Ari and get a ride home.  In the car, I ate my dinner: mixed greens with apple, beets, tomatoes, walnuts, goat cheese, pesto, and hidden Italian tuna.

IMG_9932

Yep, dessert came after dinner.  Sometimes it’s better that way! Live it up and have a great day 🙂

30 responses to “Eat Dessert First!

  1. Definitely think dessert should come first! My uncle keeps Kosher so can’t eat dairy after meat- his solution is to have a bowl of ice cream as an appetiser 😀

    I want to start meditating…staying in the moment helps with so many things. Hope the yoga helps you!

    Stogo sounds awesome!

  2. It reminds me of those “topsy turvy” days we used to have in summer camp… 😉

    I know this sounds crazy, but if you stretch a pair of pantyhose over the top of a glass jar, it actually makes for quite an adequate strainer. :p That’s what I do when I’m making sprouts!

    ❤ ❤

  3. what a delicious day. i am totally inspired by your nom nom eats!

  4. dessert first was my grandfather’s motto 🙂

    that green drink mix sounds interesting!

    good job getting through the day with a positive attitude! having those random strange out-of-whack days can totally throw a wrench in my attitude, but it’s just life!

  5. Oh man, I have been absolutely dying to try Stogo since sampling it at BeamGreen — glad to hear another glowing review 🙂

    This ginger tofu salad sounds amazing!

  6. I’m so jealous that you got to go to Stogo, that place totally rocks! I don’t blame you for ordering chocolate hazelnut, it’s one of the best flavors ever! Now I am totally craving Grom:)

    I’m sorry about you forgetting your work skirt at home, I guess we all have days like that….

  7. love the motto. it’s all about flexibility. 🙂

    i have got to go to stogo – after sampling it at beam green, i am fully convinced it is worth all 6 dollars.

  8. love the motto. it’s all about flexibility. 🙂

    i have got to go to stogo – after sampling it at beam green, i am fully convinced it is worth all 6 dollars.

  9. I love Stogo! I tried the coconut chocolate and vanilla at Beam Greem. I need to go there!

  10. I often love to leave the almond milk unstrained! Glad you’re enjoying it 🙂

  11. southerngracesblog

    Yay for a great yoga class!! Stogo sounds SO good…wish we had places like that down here!! Hope you have a wonderful day, lovie.

  12. Everything looks great, and super yummy, as always! I love yoga for helping you to focus on being in the moment! It is so amazing when you actually can do it. I just wish I could find time and ways to do that without being instructed to…

  13. You had so many great eats today. I really want to try making my own almond milk. I’m not a fan of the store bought kind…so I’m hoping homemade will be better! Glad you enjoyed yoga- it helps me relax SO much. I wish I could do it every day. Great take along sammy- I bet that combo of flavors was heaven! Have a good night

  14. I just read Green Dog Wine, so your apples remind me of boobs. How do like dem apples?!

  15. Wow Stogo looks amazing!!

  16. First time commenting, but homemade almond milk is even better with a date in it!

  17. i feel like dessert is appropriate at any old time of day, and need not have a specific relation to any meal… yeah…

  18. Love the fact that they have soy free bases and no artificial ingredients unlike my beloved frozen yogurt! However that pirce is a little step, but worth a once in a while treat. Love your sandwiches!

  19. Dang! I want some of that ice cream! it sounds amazinggggggggggg!!!

    almond milk sounds bizzomb too! I’ve never even tried it out of a carton though, believe it or not!!!

  20. I get a lot of thinking done when I do my yoga, clears my mind of all stress! Provides me with a better work day also.

  21. Life goal=visiting STOGO.

  22. Wow that’s so cool–I didn’t realize there were places like that to get ice cream! I just looked one up and found something similar by me!
    Ugh I’m so the same way when it comes to “trying” to relax…my mind is constantly in ever direction, but yoga is definitely something that quiets my mind a bit!

  23. I find it hard not to think about things I need to do that day during yoga – it’s hard to stay in the moment when your mind won’t stop racing around!

    Yoga helps but… I guess I haven’t quite reached the “true yogi” level! haha.

  24. ahhhhhhhhhhhhh…stogo and babycakes = drool!

    that sammie also is rocking my world. for reals, hummus tofu dulse and yum bread all in one savory bite. ok, i need it now.

  25. I definitely have trouble turning the thoughts off too. another reason why I need to bring yoga back into my life!

    wow, stogo looks amazing! love that they have soy-free vegan options.

  26. that ice cream looks amazing! i am definitely bad at leaving negative thoughts/things behind too but yoga does help, which is one of the mayjuh reasons i do so!

    have a fabby labor day weekend me lady!

  27. ahhh i love love love all your food combo’s and creations! I totally just checked out your beet and sprout sushi roll and am MAJORLY impressed with your creativity! It also looks super yummy!!!

    Stogo looks like a gelato shop! hehehee

  28. Pingback: Whole Foods Heaven « Lilveggiepatch

  29. Um katie….LOOK AT ALL THIS DELICIOUS FOOD!!! 🙂

    Are the pictures bigger? I love it! And that oatmeal breakfast does not seem decadent at allllll, it’s totally healthy! I love how us food bloggas know how to make something so healthy seem like such a sweet treat. it’s a talent, i tell ya! 😉

    And that sandwich sounds insane! Ah, just obsessed! Hope you’re having a great day!

  30. Pingback: Long Runs & Last Days « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

