Train-Tracking

Good evening and happy Labor Day weekend! Please excuse the delayed post… I overslept a wee bit this morning and my whole day has been thrown out of whack! No matter… change is good 🙂

Yesterday flew by in a blur… I’m glad I document my moments with photos, or I’d never remember what happened from day-to-day! For breakfast, I had a giant fruit bowl with 1/2 mango, 1 peach, raw almond milk and a sprinkle of GoLean! Crunch.  Heaven!

Raw Almond Milk, Fruit, Kashi GoLean! Crunch

I love this breakfast because while it’s filling, it doesn’t leave me with that belly-busting-bloaded feeling.  It was substantial enough to power me through a 4.5 mile run… yep, you read that right! I took the same route as last time,  ran easily but didn’t stop, and listened to some of Beck’s covers of the Velvet Underground & Nico which my friend passed along to me.  I still can’t believe I can run long enough to listen to an album in its entirety… I am woman, hear me ROAR! But, again, I’m trying to be extra-careful with my legs this time around, and I don’t want to do too much too soon.  Learned that the hard way.

Total time: 45 minutes

Total distance: 4.5 miles

When I got back, I entered my data into my new training log.  I’m keeping track of sleep, miles (run), cross-training, strength training, yoga, ab work, and stretching.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to figure out what’s right for me this way.  I’m factoring in things like sleep and stretching to document how they affect my progress, and to make sure I don’t overstrain my body.

Picture 1

Sweaty beast that I was, I chugged the last of the carrot juice.

Post-Run Carrot Juice

Lunch was a massive salad that filled up an entire 9-inch Pyrex bowl.

Bowl-sized salad

Bowl-size salad: aerial view

In the mix:

Bowl-size salad: side view

While I was getting ready for work, I munched on an apple and dreamt about France…  I need to go back as soon as possible.

Julia & Apple

I brought a baggie of dried fruit to work… and so did my friend Alexandra! Great minds think alike.  Many of the staff at the restaurant are Muslim and observing Ramadan, so at 7:30, after having fasted all day, they break to feast.  On their dessert plate are all kinds of fantastic sweet treats, including… walnut-stuffed dates! Who knew?! Siyab let me eat one.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to turn into a date-head one of these days 🙂

Dried Fruit Snack Baggie

I also drank a packet of Greens Plus Original Superfood.  I mixed it with seltzer, and again drank half and re-filled the rest with club soda.  It has a very strong taste, but I like it… I just need a bigger glass!

Greens-Plus Original Superfood

Work was fine… not too much drama, which is always cause for celebration.  An exciting coincidence also happened last night… a few weeks ago, when Liz and I went to Bonobo’s, the owner and I were sure that we recognized each other from somewhere.  Well, turns out he and his girlfriend are regulars at the restaurant! I’ve waited on them oodles of times, but I guess we just didn’t recognize each other out of context.  I’m glad he reminded me! I explained my nori-wrapping woes (although I think I’m getting a little better), and he offered to give me some pointers the next time I go in there.  Small world!

Dinner was FABULOUS.  Ramon is on vacation for the next month, so Gregorio took his place.  I think he was trying to outdo Ramon, and made me a salad with mixed greens, apples, beets, avocado, walnuts, and GRILLED SHRIMP.  Mario also gave me a hefty slice of Bufala… I really couldn’t have requested a better meal.

End-of-Shift Salad

Ari was in the neighborhood when I got off work, so we met up for some fro-yo. I loaded my cup with nonfat cheesecake, tart, and green tea tart; I topped it all with strawberries, blueberries, a blackberry, mochi, and coconut.

Loaded Fro-Yo

We went home and I, unfortunately, subjected Ari to a pretty horrible movie that left us both feeling weird, even though we turned it off after it was half over. Blegh.  Better luck next time!

We are hopefully taking a day-trip tomorrow; we need to go somewhere we can get to by bus or by train.  I really hope it works out! We could both use a little fresh air.  What are your plans for the long-weekend?

11 responses to “Train-Tracking

  1. Small world with the Bonobos guy 😀 Loved chatting with ya today, girl!!

    Enjoy the long weekend!!

  2. i love dates with nuts!
    i just started running more often.. and have really started loving it ! 🙂
    your salad looks awesome too! haha i love the giant pirex bowl too 🙂
    How is the Julia Child cook book? I still havent seen the movie…argh.

    how do you make your blog successful?

  3. Love your breakfast and salad! They look perfect! That is smart to record your sleep and runs and everything. I should do that too because I am a beginner runner and don’t want to hurt my knees too soon! Have fun on your trip!

  4. Your dinner sounds delicious! What was the bad movie?.. Glad you are tracking runs, etc- safety first! Enjoy your day trip- getting out of the city is always refreshing… No 3 day weekend here 😦

  5. I agree keeping a blog is a great way to document your life–it’s come in handy quite a few times when I couldn’t remember what I did on a certain day.
    Mind if I steal a bit of that fro-yo?

  6. Awesome job on the run! You will definitely be ready for the 5K next weekend:)

    That’s so funny about the Bonobos owner, what a small world! I’m still super jealous that you were so close to 16 handles;)

    Have fun on your day trip! If your look for a fun, train-accessible town you could try Nyack. It’s a cute little town along that Hudson river that has nice cafes and parks.

  7. *work so close to 16 handles

  8. Way to go with the run!! Your computer’s background is so cute!

    That’s so cool about the Bonobos owner! He should hook you up with some sweet deals 😉

    Cheeeeeesecake! Yum!! Have a great weekend – hope you go on a fun trip!

  9. Great job on the run! Love that super sweaty feeling. I need to focus on getting enough sleep- I am TERRIBLE about it. Yummy eats- loving beets right now. We are going to get froyo at some point today or tomorrow and I cannot WAIT. Have a great labor day weekend

  10. I love the 9 in pyrex beast! Question for ya, are those beets you made or do you buy them? I am love/hate with beets. I either have to roast the crap outta them to not make them taste too earthy for my liking OR buy them which is usually gross and other things are added that I dont want/like. Anyway beet 411 appreciated 🙂

  11. yay, mixing bowl salad! I should get some beets. I got some dulse; seeing it in your post the other day reminded me how much I’ve missed it!

    I’m a total date head too. It’s not such a bad thing 🙂

    Have a great long weekend! No real plans here. The hubcap unexpectedly has to work, so I’m a little bummed. But I’ll get some me time, which good too!

Leave a Reply

