Voodoo Children

Good evening! I hope your long weekends were restful and rejuvenating and just what you needed to get ready for Fall.  As I mentioned, Ari and I took a 24-hour trip to Woodstock, NY, to get out of the city and enjoy a little mini-vay.

Before we left, I went on a 4.5 run, which I fueled up for with 1/2 banana w/almond butter and coffee (the image has been lost!)

When I got back, I made a portable breakfast using my new Ambrosial granola, which I found on sale at Whole Foods.

Ambrosial Granola

I layered Greek yogurt, warmed frozen berries, and the granola in my cup for a great on-the-go meal.

Portable Parfait

We hustled over to the rental car agency, where we learned that somehow the rate we were getting was $50 more than what had been advertised online.  Well… we were still ready to have fun!

On The Road

We split a bottle of POMx Pomegranate Hibiscus Light Green Tea to keep us hydrated on our journey.

POMx Pomegranate Hibiscus Green Tea

I’d packed a yummy sandwich for the road: TJ’s Marsala Veggie Burger, hummus, mustard, and arugula on Ezekiel.

Yummus Sandwich

I also snacked on an apple. Ari thinks I’m a little crazy for packing so much food, but a girl’s gotta be prepared!

We stopped at Roy Rogers for Ari to get lunch (it’s the boy’s favorite… he’d been talking excitedly about it for days), and I picked us up some disguises.

Stachios

Finally, we got to the house.

Woodstock

IMG_0036

IMG_0038

Woodstock Windchime

Woodstock House #3

Woodstock Picnic Table

Woodstock Woods

I found a slug on my shoe…

Shoe Slug

We finally got our acts together and went into town to have dinner at Cucina.  I ordered a glass of Verdicchio, which I’d never tried.  Whenever there’s something new on the menu, I try to make a point of ordering it.

Cucina Wine

Bruschetta is one of Ari’s favorites, so we ordered the trio: basil-tomato-garlic, white beans-rosemary-sage, and (what was supposed to be free of) proscuitto and mozzarella.  I let Ari have that one.

Cucina Bruschetta Trio

I was in the mood for pasta, so I ordered the special: orecchiette with seared scallops, and mixed vegetables.

Cucina Scallop Pasta Special

Unfortunately, this wasn’t very good.  I picked up all of the scallops, ate all the vegetables, and had about half the pasta.

We split warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream for dessert.

IMG_0032

This was a crowd- pleaser 🙂

Crowd Pleaser

I’ve only heard good things about Cucina, so I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they were just having an off night.  However, we still had a wonderful time: we sat outside on a beautiful old porch, and it was very cozy and romantic.

We left the restaurant, popped Big Eden into the DVD player, and curled up with a bottle of 2008 1883 Pinot Grigio.

2008 1883 Pinot Grigio

Here’s what Howard says about the wine: A Wente Pinot Grigio from Monterey, CA; near maturity but can be down for 2-3 years; medium weight, moderately dry; have at 45 degrees F; as an apératif or with lobster or fish.

We didn’t exactly follow the instructions, but I had had fish earlier in the night… my uneducated palate also thought the wine had a bit of a smoky flavor.

In the morning, we got up, showered, and went to Bread Alone for breakfast.  I ordered a bowl of their multigrain oatmeal, made with flax and dried fruit.

Bread Alone Multigrain Oatmeal

I’m always hesitant to buy oatmeal at breakfast spots, because I know they make it in bulk and it usually isn’t as good as the way I make it at home.  Let’s face it, we food bloggers know our oatmeal! I was right: this was mushy, and I had to dump almost all of the brown sugar in it just to give it some flavor.  The woman who took my order gave me a strange look when I asked if there was any other fruit I could put in it, so…. I think I’ll stick to eating it at home from now on. Oh well!

Right around the corner from the bakery, the Woodstock Flea Market was in full swing. Woodstock Flea Market

We didn’t buy any fruit…

Flea Market Fruit Stand

… but we did get some good car music.

Flea Market Car Music

We had time for a little lounging…

Woodstock Chairs

We stopped at a sandwich stop to pick up some road food on the way back to the city.

IMG_0048

We both chose the Green Club

Mayo Veggie Sandwich

unfortunately, both sides of our sandwiches were slathered with mayo.  I managed to scrape the majority off of mine, but just the thought of “the white and creamy” ruined the whole thing for him. Poor guy.

We also snacked on Pumpkin Seed Cheddar Dr. Krackers.

Dr. Krackers

I also ate the Papa Bear portion of a Whole Foods Granola bar, that Elise successfully convinced me was heaven on earth.  Oh, sweet heaven.  I need to break that bad boy into pieces in the future… that thing is half a pound!

Whole Foods Granola Bar

Seriously, look at the size of these things! I need to figure out how to make these.  The coconut was perfectly integrated, and the sesame seeds gave the bar the perfect level of crunch.

WF Granola

When we finally got home, I made an important to-do list:

To-Do

The hours just got away from me.

I was still really full from my granola bar, so I just heated up a cup of TJ’s Low Sodium Minestrone, mixed it with sriracha, and ate it with an Ezekiel English Muffin.

IMG_0053

Dessert was Oikos Plain Greek 0% with frozen berries and bee pollen.

Yogurt with berries and bee pollen

For those of you who’ve asked what bee pollen tastes like: the texture is a bit chalky, but the flavor is pleasant and reminds me a lot of herbal tea.

I’m so sorry to be so behind on the blogs… it’s going to take me a bit of time catching up.  Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to!

12 responses to “Voodoo Children

  1. Thanks for the bee pollen info, I’ve been curious!
    That granola bar from Whole Foods looks absolutely divine. Must try!

  2. Looks like fun! I used to always think Woodstock was just a concert until my mom set me straight 😛 The cabin is so cute! I’ve only ordered oatmeal out once…put me off. Bloggers how to make killer oats- restaurants should do more blog-lurking 😉

    Granola bar looks awesome! The come in different sizes- I managed to find a tiny weird shaped one once… 🙂

    See you soon!

  3. I saw one of those WF bars on someone else’s blogs, maybe Elise Hungry Hippy’s? anyway that’s actually a stellar value for the size of that hunk! And no soy or gluten or dairy which for me is key. I will see if the Scottsdale WF (I just moved here 3 days ago from SoCal!) has them! The on-sale granola also a nice score!

  4. I always see those giant granola bars and always want one.

    Fun min-vay with Ari. I like his striped sweater. Sorry Cucina wasn’t very good. 😦

  5. Looks like one, relaxing mini-vaca!! Sorry about the pasta, oatmeal, and mayo! Those three are dangerous food offenses! Your TJs meals though!? Delish!!

    That’s not a granola bar – it’s a granola brick and I love it! It’s large and in charge 🙂

  6. Weekend getaways are definitely the best! I love being able to escape the hustle-bustle of the city for a bit and get some fresh air. Woodstock is the perfect place for a relaxing trip, I’m glad you guys had fun!

  7. Hahaha I love the picture of your disguises 😉

    Sorry about the sub-par dining experiences… makes you appreciate your own kitchen that much more, doesn’t it?!

    I had no idea you could eat bee pollen!!

    ❤ ❤

  8. that is one serious granola bar.

    glad you guys had a good weekend, even with the mayo filled sandwich.

  9. Oh my god, you bought a Hefner CD!!! I used to love Hefner so much! I’ve seen them live several times…back in the day. Very excited to see that CD in the pile!

    So many of your eats look damn good in this post – I need to go eat my lunch!!
    Your home-packed sandwich and the Green Club? Amazing looking.

  10. im so glad you loved the granola bars. they are MASSIVE and i dont have the moderation gene in me to stop…so umm yeah, i should probably figure out how to make them myself.

    bad bulk made oatmeal = bad news bears

  11. Yes for pasta! sorry it didn’t taste great, still it looked yummy. I love me some Dr. Krackers, I have that kind but haven’t opened them up.

  12. Ari is so rock and roll 🙂

Leave a Reply

